We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient and detail oriented” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #46 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
NY, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Efficient and detail oriented”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Excellent stay. We booked a studio and as a Starwood Gold Guest were upgraded to a one bedroom. Room was fantasic. 2 Bose systems, flat screens, views, high end full and efficient kitchen, marble bathrooms, comfortable and stylish. Pool was high end replete with service and a relaxing atmosphere, same for the beach club. We set up everyday at the beach with cushioned chairs and umbrellas and ventured back and forth to the pool and for lunch etc...in town. We didn't bring our kids and wouldn't recommend it. There were a few kids there but I wouldn't call it a family oriented hotel. We did not eat at the restaurants at night because after staying at the hotel all day we wanted to experience the town and nightlife which was excellent. Mixed drinks at the pool are the typical resort $15, beer $10 so it pays to stock your room with the basics including bottled water. Otherwise service and experience were upbeat, helpful and added to a relaxing stay....The hotel matches up nicely to other comparable properties. It`s also newer and has better amenities than some of the trendy but older Hotels and we like that it's a bit off the strip ( 22nd St.) but a short walk to everything....Great gym too...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    269
    147
    80
    92
See reviews for
168
514
59
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

The W South Beach hotel is ultra hip and modern. The decor was amazing and the staff is super friendly. Location on the beach can't be beat. A truly luxurious stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Or
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

I stayed in the fabulous studio which has a large balcony with a table, sun chairs and a shower all out on patio. It seems all the fabulous studios are in the short building to the right of the tall hotel building (see photo) that is shown on the website, because of this:
- you are right above the night club which is very loud till 4am (loud bass)
- you can't see the beach - just the top of palm trees and the water
- makes for a long walk to and from hotel room (not that bad just thought I'd mention it)

The biggest disappointments were: mouse poop found in our room (see photo), automatic 20% gratuity to all hotel services, prices were pretty steep on everything (2 glasses club soda, chicken caesar salad, side of bread = $38 @ pool) (pina colada @ pool = $15) No free internet in the room, no cell service in the room if you have AT&T (my travel partner was actually happy about the no cell service- but I was not)

Best things about the hotel: it's a hot spot, lobby is nice, pool is nice, beach area is nice, kitchenette, double sinks in bathroom - AWESOME SHOWER HEADS!!

Customer Service was overall TERRIBLE! We witnessed bartenders and other staff arguing loudly in living room bar - very tacky! In room phone became broken and never got fixed, which made it difficult since I had no cell service either. I specifically called ahead to see if I could pay with cashiers check for a portion of the bill and was told yes - but when I got there of coarse it was a big ol' problem - they ended up taking it in the end. Was told we would be surprised with something special by a "designer" after reporting the mouse poop and that promise was unfulfilled. Upon check out I was asked how the stay was - told the clerk of our issues and she promised to give me 1000 extra starwood points - another promise that, as of now, is still unfulfilled. Even calling back to find out about the extra points was a fiasco - it just seems service needs FAR BETTER training.

The hotel was pretty and the room nice- but the other issues kind of overshadow it - when you pay that kind of $ for a room - you expect a bit more class.

Be ready to spend alot of $$$$ in Miami in general, but especially if you eat or drink at the W.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSouthBeach, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2009
Thank you for your review. We wanted you to know that we took the items you found on the floor to an independent lab for testing. It turns out they were wood shavings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

The W opened just recently.....was concerned about the room size because I had stayed at the Shore Club last December and the room was small for the price! Everyone at the W was so accommodating. I booked thru Expedia and got the last room that was available for the weekend....there are 5 different room choices....I got the Spectacular Room which was the 2nd from bottom choices. Was concerned it would be too small. When I got to the W, I asked for other room options but the hotel was full. I was reassured by the front desk that i would be happy with the room. Guess what? Oh my...the room was beautiful and spacious. The room and view were SPECTACULAR! I will never stay at the Shore Club again! Can't wait to go to Miami and stay at the W again. Bring ur swimsuit.....the pool is a dream!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

First time at a "W" hotel, just opened beginning of summer. Art deco decor..stunning!
Tropical paradise ambience with beautiful music filtered throughout the hotel.
Picture perfect view of Miami beach from balcony.
Food not equal to price,restaurant staff and bar staff slow in serving

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Just got back from an evening away at the new W South Beach. Being South Florida residents, it's a really nice treat to an evening out on South Beach if you are able to stay the night. The biggest pain and expense is parking. You could valet at the W for $35 plus tip overnight. There are a few mumicipal lots around the hotel that charge 1.25 an hour and are free from midnight to 9am. We luckily found a spot right in front of the hotel, put the maximum 8 hours on the meter for $10 and were covered until 9am. The hotel is magnificent. The pool area was gorgeous, featuring a huge infinity pool and big comfortable lounge chairs with many pool valets anxious to put clean smelling soft towels down for you. The W for wonderful goes to the rooms. We had a basic room and it was almost breathtaking when you opened the door. Really large and beautifully decorated, our room featured a great almost all glass bathroom, a living area, two flat screen t.v.'s, a full size microwave and small refrigerator. We also had this beautiful balcony with two comfy chairs and a WONDERFUL ocean view. Service from the staff was great. Reading prior reviews on trip advisor about the very high prices for food/drinks, we brought our own nice bottle of champagne and took a pretty long walk to Lincoln Road for dinner. Although, if you wanted to spend the big bucks, Mr. Chows restaurant looked like a happening place to be. My only issue besides the parking (typical for South Beach) is the fact that it is a pretty long walk to restaurants, etc. as the hotel is about 10 blocks away from most of the happening places to be down there. Anyway, definitely worth a splurge to just hang out at the W.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

All pretentiousness aside, I made the mistake of inviting a friend for breakfast. The idea was, we could talk some business and then he would go to his office on time.

I had "Eggs Benedict" (between quotation marks because they weren't) and coffee. He had a croissant and coffee. The tab, gratuity and taxes included, was $95.00 Now, I'm OK with spending that money if they had provided me with a more-or-less sumptious buffet. But $45 for a "muffin" the size of a quarter with a half-strip of overfried bacon and an egg on top is overdoing it in the ripping department.

Then my friend went to pick up his car at the valet. $25 for an hour's worth of parking. And that's OK too, if the car had been brought immediately. But it arrived 35 minutes later and paying $25 plus tip to cool your heels on the hotel entrance is WAY too much.

So, goodbye W, you'll never see me again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSouthBeach, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2009
Hello,
We now offer Valet Parking at $15 with validation from Solea with a maximum of 3 hours. We are also happy to let our guests know that we have completely revamped the menu at Solea with a pure spanish theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w South Beach Hotel
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.