We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at W South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #26 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Recent stay at W South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I had a wonderful stay at the W South Beach in Miami. I travel to Miami on business fairly often and have stayed at a number of hotels both in the city and on the beach. My room at the W was beautiful, immaculate, quite large and well equipped with a coffee maker, small refrigerator and microwave. My room had a large, private balcony which was a nice bonus after being in meetings all day. The location is convenient, with many shops and restaurants nearby. This will be my “go to” hotel on all future visits to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    810
    313
    160
    85
    96
See reviews for
225
585
63
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The hotel service from the bellman Alex and Deivis was exceptional! I will come back to stay at W South Beach just to see them! They went above and beyond and were the best part of our stay! I would really recommend these two individuals for great and friendly service!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Lecco, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dinamic, cool and beyond expectations. ''The" right hotel in Miami Beach.
We stayed there different times and we simply love it!
Very friendly staff everywhere from reception to the pool.
Rooms and suites have a great view and particular style.
Great buffet for breakfast at the Dutch.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I came with my friends for a bachelorette/girl's weekend and was very excited about staying at the W. It is in a central location downtown, comfortable beds, and Bliss products, but that's where the perks end.
1) I arrived at the hotel at 11am and tried to check in. I was told that it would "be a little while." We did not get into our rooms until almost 5pm.
2) The only suggestions concierge can make are to eat at their overpriced cafe and restaurant that are not very good. I know hotel food is pricy, but a $10 latte is ridiculous. 6 chicken skewers (2 orders) totalled around $45.
3) There was a large (and terrifying) possum running around the pool grounds. One staff member said Oh yea, he does that sometimes. Another asked us what we suggested the hotel do about it.
4) We had to ask for an extra blanket 4 times before it was delivered
5) In general the staff is rude, unhelpful and acts like you are a nuisance any time you ask for assistance. Ironic because their motto is "we will accommodate your every need" (or some similar untruth)
6) We returned one night after dinner to find the street blocked off and a slew of cop cars parked at either end of our hotel. The valet told us "not to worry, everything was fine" Fortunately a Miami-Dade police officer was able to verify that we were NOT in danger and they had handled the situation (an argument broke out)
7) WiFi is not free (except for a specified 2 hour window in their overpriced cafe)
8) The in room entertainment consists of a Bose speaker with an iphone 4 jack (converters are not provided) and a mix CD. Why not just give out walkmans and cassette tapes?

Needless to say, I will never return to this location's W and am hesitant to try any other W hotels based upon this experience

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the night club and wall of generators and your room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Great pool. Great access to beach. Phenomenal vibe. I've been to the W many times, both business and pleasure. It's always hopping. The street noise can be tough when you're finally looking to get some rest, but this place is great for SoBe action.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
We're so glad you've been able to stay with us for both business and pleasure - we're sure you found that they are two entirely different experiences! It sounds like you enjoyed a high-energy escape with us this time, and we can't wait to have you back in the future.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been to the W South Beach a couple of time over the past few years. And they've always exceeded my expectations. The service, the atmosphere and especially the design.
This time it was summer vacation time and a lot of European families were there and it still was just great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
Fabulous! We love our loyal guests, and are always happy to treat you like a part of the family every time you visit. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us, we look forward to many more.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've stayed at a few W properties worldwide and this is without a doubt one of the best. The entire hotel has an incredibly hip but unpretentious vibe -- save for a lot of trashy clientele...but it's Miami. To that end I will say we found a small ziploc with white powder in a bathroom drawer about which we informed the staff and flushed down the toilet. Would've thought we'd get something for the uncomfortableness of the situation but oh well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, yesterday
We're truly sorry to hear this. This is an issue we take very seriously, and would like to discuss with you in further detail. Please contact me at stephanie.dunn@whotels.com at your earliest convenience.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Stephanie Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.