We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I always like staying here...business or pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #17 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I always like staying here...business or pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great location. Great pool. Great access to beach. Phenomenal vibe. I've been to the W many times, both business and pleasure. It's always hopping. The street noise can be tough when you're finally looking to get some rest, but this place is great for SoBe action.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We're so glad you've been able to stay with us for both business and pleasure - we're sure you found that they are two entirely different experiences! It sounds like you enjoyed a high-energy escape with us this time, and we can't wait to have you back in the future.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    893
    328
    164
    86
    97
See reviews for
236
622
67
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I've been to the W South Beach a couple of time over the past few years. And they've always exceeded my expectations. The service, the atmosphere and especially the design.
This time it was summer vacation time and a lot of European families were there and it still was just great!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Fabulous! We love our loyal guests, and are always happy to treat you like a part of the family every time you visit. Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us, we look forward to many more.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I've stayed at a few W properties worldwide and this is without a doubt one of the best. The entire hotel has an incredibly hip but unpretentious vibe -- save for a lot of trashy clientele...but it's Miami. To that end I will say we found a small ziploc with white powder in a bathroom drawer about which we informed the staff and flushed down the toilet. Would've thought we'd get something for the uncomfortableness of the situation but oh well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We're truly sorry to hear this. This is an issue we take very seriously, and would like to discuss with you in further detail. Please contact me at stephanie.dunn@whotels.com at your earliest convenience.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Stephanie Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Paying 6 "benjis" per night for a "wonderful room" is worthy...great service... (Except for Madeleine Kelly "the concierge manager" she booked me another Starwood hotel in Orlando...when the invoice came it was almost 40% more expensive than she sayid it would be)
Maddy you ow me 200 bucks...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, close to everything. High quality design and materials in the lobby and rooms. Top notch service. My room service came right away and was delicious. Great hotel overall. Highly recommended and I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation! We're pleased that you found your stay to be top-notch, and will definitely look forward to seeing you again.

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We spent 18 nights at W. Very fashion hotel nice rooms but very unpleasant experience. Very dirty rooms, we had several discussions with the manager and the housekeepers too. Do you think it is normal that you have to say this people how they should clean the room??? No vacuum no water cleaning for one week? And this is a 5 star hotel?
Another point is the service on the beach: very unpleasent and lazy lady manager, everything you request is done only under payment of a tip.... beach ready around 10 am....the Setai beside was ready at 8.30.... they also hire umbrellas and chairs to external people, the result is that if you leave your plece unattended (leaving something on the chair)the stuff and the chairs are occupied by other people. 5 stars???? Not even in the sky!!! We don't suggest this hotel to people who want to spend (a lot of)money for a serious 5 stars.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are genuinely sorry to hear about your experience, and would like to discuss with you in more detail. Rest assured we take your feedback very seriously, and will be using it to improve our guest experience.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The W really has it all if you want that hip high end Miami experience. Good location, classic cool W feel, several restaurants and super rooms. This is one of the nicer W that I have stayed at, and if you can snag a room with an ocean view you're golden. There is a bar right on the beach that plays loud music but I don't recall it going on too late. You'll probably be out partying anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
It sounds like you enjoyed a fantastic vacation with us here in South Beach. Thanks for letting us know about your visit, and don't hesitate to drop us a line next time you decide to join us.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.