We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot in Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hot in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The W really has it all if you want that hip high end Miami experience. Good location, classic cool W feel, several restaurants and super rooms. This is one of the nicer W that I have stayed at, and if you can snag a room with an ocean view you're golden. There is a bar right on the beach that plays loud music but I don't recall it going on too late. You'll probably be out partying anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    801
    309
    159
    84
    95
See reviews for
222
580
63
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i have just come back from the most wonderful stay at this excellent hotel..the attention to detail from the lady that seems to be able to fix anything , Gaby DiFalco was , as we say in england, most extraordinary. quite how this very cool ,and big hotel can make you feel like its a boutique hotel, is down to gaby and her team.
my group was quite a challenge, my 78 year old mum, and my 23 year old son,and my daughter of 18 , along with their girlfreind/boyfreind , all wanting something different ,but the W ,and gaby delivered .
everything about this hotel , from the rooms to the pool/beach is top class, but the staff really make it special. ive stayed at a few south beach hotels over the years, i dont need to go anywhere else now, and i should know, i own a few boutique hotels in the uk myself !! see you very soon Miami W

Room Tip: all the rooms are exellent, but try and get one in the higher floor numbers as they are closer the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Matt has been at the front desk for several years
His expertise and willingness to make each of our stays extra special is much appreciated
He is a great asset to your hotel chain
Thank you Matt for taking good care of us

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the sensational suite for three nights with our three daughters and had a lovely time. My only big quibble is the check in. We were picked up from the airport by the hotel as that was included in our room rate but on arrival, we were left waiting for too long till our rooms were allocated. 8:00am to 2:00pm
it would be good procedure to give an empty room for freshening up instead of putting us in a common room where anyone could walk in! We wanted to make the most of our time there and we could have been sunbathing three hours earlier if that had been offered initially rather than later! Also a welcome drink and breakfast on arrival would have helped as the rate we paid was astonomical for our room.
We also had the use of an insider with our room rate who never made an effort to come and introduce himself to us in our four day stay! On the last day, my daughter lost her diamond bracelate and she rang him for help which straight went to his voicemail.
I must say that Gabby made an effort to redeem her colleague by helping us on the last day. She offered us a very little compensation but her attitude was good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for your feedback. While we're certainly happy you enjoyed your stay with us in your Sensational Suite, we take the points you listed for areas of improvement seriously and will be sharing with our team to improve the guest experience. Thank you for joining us here in South Beach, we can't wait to see you again!

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I recently spent a weekend at the W South Beach with my beautiful girlfriend and friends. We had two standard rooms on the 4th floor. This was not one of my favorite W hotel stays and there is definitely room for improvement. As a SPG Platinum I will stay at the W South Beach on my next trip to Miami. If you are used to St.Regis, Mandarin Oriental, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton type treatment and service this hotel may not be the best option for you.

Location: The W is located on Collins Avenue and 22nd Street in MIami Beach. It is walking distance from Lincoln Road and the other trendy hotels such as Delano, Setai, SLS, Loews and the Raleigh. It is a $32 flat fare plus $1 surcharge taxi ride from the airport to the hotel. The hotel is also on the beach. I would rate the hotels location as excellent.

Service: This is where I have the biggest qualms with this hotel. I think the staff could smile more and be more welcoming. I feel this gets lost with the W trying to be trendy. If the W can combine St. Regis like service with the trendy atmosphere this could be a winning combination for young professionals with disposable income. While asking for assistance I tended to feel like i was bothering the staff which I didn't like. Housekeeping also was unable to clean my room by the time I returned from the pool at 5:45pm. There are some other minor things that occurred which while not huge in themselves did leave an impact. I believe the manager on duty, Logan made great strides to try and improve the service and improve our experience. I thought he had the right attitude and I will return due to him.

Room: The standard room we had, while on a low floor was very spacious with a balcony. The bathroom is large as well. The bed is very comfortable. Overall, the room is definitely a strong selling point for this hotel. I was very happy with this room.

Food: Mr. Chow is a chain and the other restaurant is the Dutch. I thought the food to be good at Dutch and they have an impressive breakfast. The service at the Dutch would be one of the worst places I have been to and they automatically add 20% gratuity which is extremely tacky.

Gym: They gym at this hotel is very large and well stocked. There are cold bottles of water, towels and apples. The weights go up to 50 lbs and there is a SMITH machine with 45 lb plates as well. Overall, another strong point for this hotel.

Overall, due to Logan's efforts I will stay here again. Just a note, for Starwood Platinum members, this hotel is considered a resort so they are not required to honor YOUR24 requests, early check in or late check outs. We couldn't do any of them which would have been very helpful. They also are not required to upgrade you even with availability ( They seem to run at high occupancy rates anyway). This hotel has a good pool, is on the beach and has great rooms. With some service improvements this could be a great hotel on SOBE....if you can afford it . It is an expensive hotel by most standards with rates of $500 plus per night or 35,000 star points ( Category 7).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate your thorough feedback, especially as one of our valued platinum members. We're happy to hear that Logan's can-do attitude will be bringing you back, and are confident that, when you return, you will see many of your suggestions in action.

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for 6 nights with 2 teenagers 17 and 13 . We all loved it, beautiful building and great spot on the beach. Our first suite 'oasis' just wasn't big enough so we upgraded ,more money but a much better option for us which gave the kids their own room and bathroom , the suite had a kitchen , 2 bed and 2 bath with 2 balconies and a partial view of the ocean. Staff were all very helpful and efficient, Chris in 'the Dutch' restaurant gave us some great suggestions and fabulous service on our first night, lovely food.
Pool service at "wet" pool and bar was brilliant! All staff great and eager to help, carafes of ice water for nothing were replaced frequently, and great food supplied at sun beds. This hotel is not cheap but is in a fabulous location and gave us what we needed for our Miami beach break.

Room Tip: Check what is available in your room when you book to save confusion .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 4 days ago
So glad your whole family was able to enjoy a South Beach escape in one of our spacious suites! Thanks for making us your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was supposed to be a once in a lifetime vacation for our family. Unfortunately, we encountered many disappointments along the way. As a family of 5 I requested rooms close to one another and while they were on the same floor, they couldn't have been further apart. We only had a queen size bed, so my son had to sleep on the couch which wasn't comfortable. No one offered a roll away bed until I requested one the next day. I also requested to have my kids' room moved closer which I was informed would happen in the early afternoon, but didn't actually happen until around 3pm. Went up to our room several times throughout the day but no one ever cleaned it until I complained around 4:30. Room wasn't finished until after 6pm. At which time I was still waiting for a roll away bed they assured me would be brought up. Seems as though they charge you for everything (except house cleanings). Beach chairs, which I think I should receive one for all of my family members were $20. You are only able to get 2 per room and is not unreasonable to include an umbrella which is a must have if you plan on staying on beach was an extra $15. And by the way if you leave for more than an hour they will allow others to sit in your chairs even if you tell them you'll be back. Over all we will not be back. For the amount of money we spent for two rooms we shouldn't have wanted for anything!!! As a positive the staff was extremely friendly.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are truly sorry for the challenges you faced. Please email me directly at stephanie.dunn@whotels.com so that we can discuss the issue further. Once again, our sincere apologies.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.