We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel, but you have to know how to play their game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #17 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love this hotel, but you have to know how to play their game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I love this hotel, but there are several lessons that we have learned over the years in staying at this property that make it more enjoyable.

First off, the location can't be beat. You are in the center of South Beach and in walking distance to everything. The beach is public, but there is a W beach club with chairs and umbrellas (no charge except tip) that make this property more enjoyable.

If you are traveling with the kids, they have thought of everything. You can borrow a Quinny stroller from the property with a small deposit. They have baby toiletries in the rooms, and beach toys setup at the beach.

In terms of rooms, it is important to know that this property is a hotel / residence property. Your hotel room is likely a timeshare that someone else owns.

There are a TON of room categories at this property and if you are looking for something specific, you need to read the descriptions carefully. We have only been at this property with kids, so have a specific type of suite (w/ a door and separate bedroom) was important to us. We have tried out several options, but have landed on the Oasis suite as our favorite. It is officially a 1 bedroom suite, but there is a separate media room which doubles as a second bedroom for our young kids. We put the crib in the room and it worked really well. Additionally, it is less than a 2 bedroom suite as the hotel classifies it as a 1 bedroom suite. The suite has a nice sized bathroom (plus another 1/2 bath), 2 balconies, a washer/dryer, full kitchen and eating area and living room. I would definitely recommend a higher floor at this property. The noise on the lower floors is a challenge. I would suggest floors 12 or above. Additionally, make sure that you are NOT on the side of the parking lot, which is where you hear the club noise and valet noise during the night.

I am a SPG platinum member and while this hotel does honor many benefits, they don't honor all of them. Check with the hotel before arriving, as it changes regularly. I do know that they are quite stingy with late checkouts. Upgrades are offered, but you often have to ask for them. They are not given automatically. If you are looking for a specific suite, there is the option to book on points and then pay an upgrade fee (e.g.: 250/night) for the suite. This can only be done with the in house hotel reservations department. Depending on the time of year, this can be a great deal. With respect to upgrades, be careful. The hotel may upgrade your room to what they consider a higher category, but the room may not be as nice, which I know sounds counterintuitive. There are some suites in particular where the higher you go, the less space you get, but the view is better. Just know this going into your stay.

The pool is one of my favorites. It is a basic rectangular pool, but has that old luxury feel. The chairs are nice and plush. Definitely come down early to get seats as they go quick. If you tip well, your pool attendants will always remember you and set everything up. We have attendants that are so good they remember us from trip to trip. The pool food is good, but expensive. The people watching is perhaps some of the best I have seen anywhere. You will see a mix of celebrities, those that are trying to be celebrities, bachelor parties and families. It is an interesting mix. If you are looking for a nice quite pool, this is not the place for you.

For breakfast, we take the platinum breakfast amenity and it is one of the best breakfasts at any starwood. It is served in the dutch and for a small up charge you can get the full buffet. The location and quality are great.

Dinners are nice, but there are not many family friendly options. We were the crazy people who took a 15 month old to Mr. Chow and since there is no kids menu served him a piece of $40 sea bass. The good news was he loved it and the staff was great with him, but I'm sure the rest of the patrons were not so happy to be dining next to a kid. There are some great options just outside of the hotel on Lincoln Rd.

Be prepared when arriving at this hotel that it will be expensive, but well worth it. Tipping is expected all around.

Service at the front desk is OK; it depends on who you get. There is a SPG platinum ambassador available and who usually reached out prior to the stay so this makes things much easier.

The hotel does get a little rowdy during certain times (e.g.: music festivals), so be sure to know what is going on during the time of stay as that makes a huge difference.

Overall, I love this hotel and will definitely be back. It is not a great value as the price is so high, but you do feel like a million bucks when staying here.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room that is NOT on the side of the parking lot and valet services. Chose a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thorough feedback - it sounds like you have stayed with us quite a few times! While our high volume does sometimes prevent us from honoring every late checkout or room upgrade request, we assure you that we try our very best to honor them whenever possible. We thank you for your continued loyalty to W South Beach, and can't wait to see you and your family again soon.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    336
    165
    86
    98
See reviews for
242
638
70
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the W South Beach for a week and as it was my first time in Miami visited most of the other big hotels whilst we were there. The W stands out above the rest in terms of decor and style with their perfect balance of contemporary elegance. They also have the best pool by far with awesome music, just get there early on weekends.. The best part about our trip however was the service at the W. The first night we were greeted by Joseph J, who took care of our every need for the rest of the trip.. I highly recommend this hotel and will definately be staying there on all future trips! Make sure you ask for Joseph J on reception when you get there.. It will make your trip a completely different experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
At W South Beach, we're obsessed with top-notch service - so we're thrilled that Joseph was able to make your stay memorable by going the extra mile. We hope you'll visit us again very soon.

Until then,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's the W, and it lives up to the standard you'd expect, and maybe then some. Beautiful newer hotel, rooms are stunning with a great view and very modern but comfortable, great pool, excellent staff, and the bars/restaurants are all really solid. Expensive, but it's a W, and it's South Beach, so nothing out of the ordinary. If you want a really relaxing, worry about nothing, luxurious vacation in Miami Beach, then this is your spot. Recommend Bliss Spa (Elizabeth's deep tissue massage was fantastic) and lots of time at the beach. They have a food truck on the beach, so service for food/drinks is pretty fast. Also, the quinoa salad at the Living Room bar is absolutely a must have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It sounds like you had a lovely getaway! We're so happy you were able to experience a higher state of happy at Bliss Spa. If you visit us again before September, be sure to check out their incredible Miami Spa Month treatments for just $99 (plus gift cards!).

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I've always known the W to be a superb hotel but the W on South Beach exceeded my expectations with their customer service alone! From stepping foot into the hotel, Mark made sure everything was taken care of before I could even ask, to the professionalism and attentiveness of Carl assisting us on the beach! I frequent South Beach often and by far this hotel is the BEST!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for you wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you, and we can't wait to take extra good care of you again next time you visit South Beach.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

To be honest, there is not much negative to be said. The room (even if we did not have a beach view) was spacious, clean and quiet. We were 2 adults and 2 kids.
The pools are just great and very relaxing (even when there are a lot of people.
One great thing was the service. The staff is very friendly and very helpful without being invasive.
The food is not bad, but there are so many places that you never get bored.
The beach is also very nice and can be accessed directly from the hotel
I would definitively return there

Room Tip: As usual the higher you go the better you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
It's great to hear that we wowed you! Do let us know next time you'll be visiting. We have a chair poolside at WET with your name on it...

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you are looking for a hotel that is chic & extremely accommodating to your every need. As well as giving you all the luxuries of a very comfortable bed & spacious rooms that are well designed & furnished, with great views, & balconies. This is it!!! And how about a staff that is first class in every way!!! Have to mention John Evans, who can & will make whatever you need or want to happen for you. He is "the man"! And Quentin from the welcome office, Angel at the welcome desk, & Johnson helping with our luggage are equally appreciated as well as so many more. They all make you feel valued. I cannot give a higher recommendation. We travel a lot & the W Southbeach is definitely my hotel of choice & will be yours as well!

Room Tip: We have stayed in every room that they offer & you are a winner in every room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend of luxury, and are honored to be considered your hotel of choice here on South Beach! We can't wait to have you back in the near future for another amazing getaway.

Best,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed just one night and day and found the hotel to be quite lovely. Wish we could have stayed longer! Interesting artistic and design details abound and the service is top notch. Bed was amazingly comfortable. Gym had new, top of the line equipment. As others have noted, food and drinks here are expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for visiting us! We can't wait to have you back. In the meantime, our signature bedding is available on our W South Beach store website (just in case you want to recreate your dreamy sleep experience).

Until next time,

Stephanie Dunn
stephanie.dunn@whotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.