We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing all around, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #17 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing all around, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our stay was all around great. We worked with Christina at concierge to book a few reservations ahead of time and she was very helpful in planning our long weekend. the pool is beautiful and the beach was equally nice. I stayed with a group of 4 girls celebrating a birthday party and the Oasis suite was the perfect size. The look and design of the hotel was AMAZING, and very posh and it had a nice flow.

The location was great, its a bit north of the main strip, but all within walking distance. You can either walk along beach into town or walk on the road, both were safe and easy. W provides a complimentary car service you can book ahead of time, but don't be late they will not wait for you for more then 15 minutes.

There are a few reason I wouldn't give a 5 star review...

With the exception of a few really great interactions, we were a bit disappointed with the service once at the hotel. It was maybe 1 in 3 people we interacted with were pleasant. Everyone else seemed like they were either very rushed/stressed/ or unhappy. For the price it would have been nice to feel a bit less like an annoyance.

We were staying in a suite that slept 4 people and we were only reserved 3 beach or pool chairs. At the pool we had to share and at the beach we had to pay to rent a chair. Why would the room be approved for 4 and not allow 4 chairs - especially for the price tag? On the slower Monday we were there they did allow us to use 4 pool chairs.

The pool area was beautiful, but it was also VERY loud. We are 4 late 20s girls on vacation to have a blast, but it was even loud for us. And the pool was filled with kids running around and yelling and throwing things. It kept us from using the pools because we didnt want to get hit with a football.

Also the food was fairly expensive as well, not in comparison to South Beach, but in general. $20 omlettes and 9$ smoothies. It was all very tasty though and the South Beach area is expensive.

Room Tip: The pool area is a bit loud, so you may ask to not overlook it. We were in an Oasis suite, which was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It sounds like you had an amazing girls' weekend in your Oasis suite! Thank you for sharing the reasons you hesitated to give our property a five-star review. Regarding the service you mentioned, we offer our sincere apologies. Interacting with our guests and creating unforgettable memories is one of the most enjoyable aspects of our profession, and we assure you we are obsessed with outstanding customer service. We take your comments seriously, and can't wait to welcome you back so that you can witness your feedback in full effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    328
    164
    86
    97
See reviews for
236
621
67
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

the hotel was very busy and rooms nice although we did not have good views. the staff was very nice particularly at the pool restaurant. the pool was for me massively overcrowded but people didn't seem to mind so i have to suppose that is the idea for some. beach is beautiful but was also very crowded. Bar drinks nice. Pool restaurant food quite good. in my view great for fashionistas, less so for families which is consistent with W brand.

Room Tip: go front facing, not north, and if on the south side close to the beach/ east otherwise you view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Our WET deck is definitely a hotel hot spot, especially during the warm spring months, so we do apologize that you found it during a busy weekend. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to having you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I cannot over estimate the excellent service and personal attention we received at the W South Beach. The hotel was at 100% occupancy but each and every staff member went out of their way to welcome you to their hotel- they made you feel very welcome. The food in the restaurants was fresh and well presented and served with a smile. We had a suite on the 18th floor on the south side with sun on the balcony in the afternoon. The room was clean,nicely furnished and well maintained. Loved the multi head shower.... We will definitely be returning to the W South Beach.

Room Tip: higher floor, south side ( no construction)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your five-star review! We're so glad to hear that your experience went above and beyond your expectations. We can't wait to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 4 days in the W hotel in Miami southbeach. The hotel is great, pool is great and the beach access simple. The food in the restaurant the Dutch is good as is the breakfast. We had a great room (Oasis suite) which came with B'fast for 2.
Less good experience was the restaurant Mr Chow. It looks great but the food was mediocre, and not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. We're so glad you were able to enjoy all the facets of the property, including your luxurious Oasis Suite. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The W South Beach does not disappoint. A perfect hotel for both business and pleasure...I will definitely return to this property when next visiting Miami. P.s. The Starwood affiliation is an added bonus. Why stay elsewhere?!?

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your getaway with us! Thank you for choosing W South Beach. We can't wait to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

On reviewing my invoice at checkout they had managed to add a $91 bottle of vodka (that I didn't have from the minibar) to my bill. Thought I had that all straightened out on departure but then reviewed my credit card statement on returning home....

- charged incorrectly for "no-show" night $670
- the checkout receipt I had didn't match the second charge taken from my card. On investigation, they had added yet another minibar item of $7.50 that I didn't have. Is it even legal to do that after we have checked out?

Sorted it out after a couple of days emailing back and forth with their finance team but it's still shocking.

Scrutinise your bill in detail and keep every receipt. They automatically add 20% service too so don't fall for the additional gratuity line when you're signing off your tab in the bar/restaurant.

Thoroughly unimpressed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We do apologize wholeheartedly for the inconvenience the charges caused you. We are happy to hear that our team was able to sort everything out for you, and do hope you will consider us in the future. Once again, our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Check-in takes a long time - be prepared if you have jetlag! Room (926) was beautiful - the lady who came to clean it every day was lovely, and to have a view of the ocean without even getting up was fantastic, with big cruise ships coming in and out to watch. We had a comfy balcony with seats and a table. Pool was a bit on the small side for such a large hotel, but the beach is 2 minutes walk away. Bed was enormous and very comfortable, but our sleep was a bit disturbed as the sound insulation isn't great at the hotel - we were conscious of all the drilling, banging, etc going on around us. Lovely big bathroom, lots of storage space in room for clothes and shopping.
Went to The Dutch, but it wasn't our thing, and we left after one drink - moving on to Mr Chow, where we had a spectacular dinner. Pricey but worth it.
Breakfast was good - lovely chicken sausages, lots of choice of everything.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to have you, and it sounds like you had a wonderful time - complete with ocean views from bed.

Until next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Prestigia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.