We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about how you are treated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's all about how you are treated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stay clear of this hotel. I will start with positives - the valet's were very kind as was the wait staff in the restaurant. The cleaning personnel were helpful and the room was clean.
Now the reality and what makes a stay comfortable. We travel quite a bit - approximately once a month for a week. We have never, I repeat never, been treated so poorly as we were by the front desk clerks at the W. They were slow, uncaring and cold. The pool area smelled of cigarette smoke. The area around the pool for chairs was cramped so that children were running into chairs and stubbing toes. Not enough room to move. The beach staff were packing up cushions and towels before the closing time, hurrying guests. All in all the staff at the front desk though set the tone. It is very surprising that the training is obviously not focused on customer service. If forced to stay at this hotel - one side faces a noisy construction site. The other side faces an old hotel. The rooms to have sight of the ocean but stay clear of the construction side and the other side is quite noisy with street noise. We were greeted to sirens and car alarms making sitting on the balcony less than relaxing.

Room Tip: If forced to stay at this hotel - one side faces a noisy construction site. The other side faces an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We offer our sincere apologies for the lack of 'wow' factor on your recent visit. Our staff sets the tone for the guest experience, and we are truly sorry if any aspect of your stay fell short of your expectations. We have shared your helpful feedback with the team to prevent this from happening in the future.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    329
    164
    86
    97
See reviews for
238
624
68
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Great hotel, very stylish - as all W hotels are- directly situated on Collins Avenue. South Beach is only a food step away where private beach beds are waiting for you. The breakfast is the best I ever had (besides Ibiza Gran Hotel), a wide range of choices, fresh squeezed juices, healthy food and execellent service. Good recommendation!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It sounds as thought you had an incredible stay. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm sure there are some fantastic hotels in Miami and I haven't stayed in them, but when I come back to Miami I will be heading straight back to the W on Southbeach. I cant understand why this hotel is rated 46th in trip advisor - its just gorgeous and exceeded all my expectations. Everything about our stay here was amazing. It was better than that - it was perfect. Laid back and cool but incredibly glamorous too. The views from our room were just amazing ( I think we were on the 18th floor) as was the decor, the food - breakfast, on the beach through to dinner, right through to the bars, the swimming pools, the shop, the staff. The staff were just lovely - I have to give Douglass Hilaire a mention - he was so charming and polite and went above and beyond being helpful :) I had such a lovely time here - I've stayed in many lovely hotels but I think that this has to be in my top 5 :) Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were on 18th floor and had a view of the beach and the intercostal water ways - The views were gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable stay.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel was everything we expected and then some. We would definitely return. Family spent a week at the resort, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Both house valet, Darko, and engineer, Reynold Mathieu, were extremely helpful and accommodating. Overall our experience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at the w south beach from march 12-15 in the Oasis suite. Paid 1000$ per night for terrible service. To sum up Do Not Stay Here.

Negatives and complaints:
1.Our room which was supposed to have an early check in was ready at 4:30pm. 2.They promised us an upgrade to no avail.
3. Obnoxious desk staff.
4.There was no hot water I tried showering the kids at 5 no hot water then tried again at 8 none again. Then again at 10.
5. No room at pool. I understand thas not a staff issue thats an architectural issue but non the less very annoying.
6. At the beach they wanted to charge us additional for chairs.
7. Additional charge for water in room.

Positives
1.Security staff professional
2. Bed in master is awesome [kids bed terrible )

To sum we will Never stay at the w south beach I rather spend 1500/night elsewhere and get better service than stay in this waste of money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Please know that out guests' total satisfaction is our foremost priority, and we will be taking every measure necessary to address the points outlined in your review. Once again, our sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Fantastic stay at the W. Here are the things you need to know to decide if this is the right place for you:

1. There is construction at the property to the north right now. Our room was on the south side of the building and the noise was not a problem in our room at all. The noise was unfortunate background "music" at the pool and beach. If this is a dealbreaker for you, you may want to consider another property.

2. We stayed in a suite that was both highly comfortable and incredibly stylish. The bed was perfection! The bathroom was perfectly appointed and the water pressure- also perfection. Giant bath towels, Bliss products. Lovely views of both the ocean and city from our room and balcony. All of the furnishings were both stylish and comfortable. Our room even had a microwave and electric cook top! The room was fantastic and we hated to leave it!

3. The pool, beach, lobby, restaurants, gardens all styled to perfection and comfortable/fun/relaxing. The lounges at the pool and beach are super comfortable- cushions on all of the loungers! There is even a basketball and tennis court!

4. Location: out of the SOBE craziness by a touch, but a quick walk to most of the sights.

5. Restaurants: we ate at Wet (poolside spot) and the Dutch. Seems like they share a kitchen. I became addicted to the lobster roll and the mahi sandwich is big enough to share. The Dutch has a daily handmade pie! $$ but delicious.

6. Staff: almost everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Overall, the W is not cheap but the rates are comparable to other hotels on the beach. I think the level of comfort, size and amenities, stylish design, and location make this worth the price. The other hotels in this price range are claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Due to construction immediately to the north, book a south facing room. We had both an ocean and ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thorough review. It was a pleasure to have you, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the many facets of our property, from delicious poolside bites at WET to unwinding in your spacious suite.

Until next time,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's 4:39am, loud Club music is pulsating through my room. That's really not a complaint as much as I want it to be ADVICE. Simply, DO NOT stay in a studio on the 3RD FLOOR. We paid for the "ocean view"... Technically, you can kinda-sorta see the oceanic blue waters if you stand on the balcony table. You really want to be on a higher floor, preferably on the southern side of the hotel. Poolside, we enjoyed the daily $250 bar tabs, just be sure to grab chairs early! Also the movement of the sun is a big factor. So pay attention. Like warfare, "strategic positioning" for the eastern side of the pool begins around 2pm, it's fun to watch if you are positioned correctly. A $20 bill will get stuff done at the pool too. You'll need a few, but that's not exclusive to the W. The W has a super nice staff. Try the beach for at least half of your sunshine intoxication. The pool menu is excellent. The fish tacos, gauc and chips are a circus in your mouth. The tuna tartare is so good! A short walk to Nobu (sushi) for dinner is also a suggestion. Try Yardbird if you wanna mix it with some southern style dishes. The News Cafe for breakfast is good with a great atmosphere. Overall, we liked the W South Beach. Super disappointed about our "kinda" ocean view, but we will get over it. Just request something on a higher floor. You'll like your view and probably avoid the "Daft Punk" lullaby's. We'll keep the light... Not exactly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.