We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and Glamourous, the perfect place to stay in Southbeach :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
WGC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool and Glamourous, the perfect place to stay in Southbeach :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I'm sure there are some fantastic hotels in Miami and I haven't stayed in them, but when I come back to Miami I will be heading straight back to the W on Southbeach. I cant understand why this hotel is rated 46th in trip advisor - its just gorgeous and exceeded all my expectations. Everything about our stay here was amazing. It was better than that - it was perfect. Laid back and cool but incredibly glamorous too. The views from our room were just amazing ( I think we were on the 18th floor) as was the decor, the food - breakfast, on the beach through to dinner, right through to the bars, the swimming pools, the shop, the staff. The staff were just lovely - I have to give Douglass Hilaire a mention - he was so charming and polite and went above and beyond being helpful :) I had such a lovely time here - I've stayed in many lovely hotels but I think that this has to be in my top 5 :) Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were on 18th floor and had a view of the beach and the intercostal water ways - The views were gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure. Thank you for sharing your incredible experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable stay.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    781
    298
    157
    83
    94
See reviews for
209
574
63
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel was everything we expected and then some. We would definitely return. Family spent a week at the resort, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Both house valet, Darko, and engineer, Reynold Mathieu, were extremely helpful and accommodating. Overall our experience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at the w south beach from march 12-15 in the Oasis suite. Paid 1000$ per night for terrible service. To sum up Do Not Stay Here.

Negatives and complaints:
1.Our room which was supposed to have an early check in was ready at 4:30pm. 2.They promised us an upgrade to no avail.
3. Obnoxious desk staff.
4.There was no hot water I tried showering the kids at 5 no hot water then tried again at 8 none again. Then again at 10.
5. No room at pool. I understand thas not a staff issue thats an architectural issue but non the less very annoying.
6. At the beach they wanted to charge us additional for chairs.
7. Additional charge for water in room.

Positives
1.Security staff professional
2. Bed in master is awesome [kids bed terrible )

To sum we will Never stay at the w south beach I rather spend 1500/night elsewhere and get better service than stay in this waste of money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Please know that out guests' total satisfaction is our foremost priority, and we will be taking every measure necessary to address the points outlined in your review. Once again, our sincere apologies.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Fantastic stay at the W. Here are the things you need to know to decide if this is the right place for you:

1. There is construction at the property to the north right now. Our room was on the south side of the building and the noise was not a problem in our room at all. The noise was unfortunate background "music" at the pool and beach. If this is a dealbreaker for you, you may want to consider another property.

2. We stayed in a suite that was both highly comfortable and incredibly stylish. The bed was perfection! The bathroom was perfectly appointed and the water pressure- also perfection. Giant bath towels, Bliss products. Lovely views of both the ocean and city from our room and balcony. All of the furnishings were both stylish and comfortable. Our room even had a microwave and electric cook top! The room was fantastic and we hated to leave it!

3. The pool, beach, lobby, restaurants, gardens all styled to perfection and comfortable/fun/relaxing. The lounges at the pool and beach are super comfortable- cushions on all of the loungers! There is even a basketball and tennis court!

4. Location: out of the SOBE craziness by a touch, but a quick walk to most of the sights.

5. Restaurants: we ate at Wet (poolside spot) and the Dutch. Seems like they share a kitchen. I became addicted to the lobster roll and the mahi sandwich is big enough to share. The Dutch has a daily handmade pie! $$ but delicious.

6. Staff: almost everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful.

Overall, the W is not cheap but the rates are comparable to other hotels on the beach. I think the level of comfort, size and amenities, stylish design, and location make this worth the price. The other hotels in this price range are claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Due to construction immediately to the north, book a south facing room. We had both an ocean and ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thorough review. It was a pleasure to have you, and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed the many facets of our property, from delicious poolside bites at WET to unwinding in your spacious suite.

Until next time,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

It's 4:39am, loud Club music is pulsating through my room. That's really not a complaint as much as I want it to be ADVICE. Simply, DO NOT stay in a studio on the 3RD FLOOR. We paid for the "ocean view"... Technically, you can kinda-sorta see the oceanic blue waters if you stand on the balcony table. You really want to be on a higher floor, preferably on the southern side of the hotel. Poolside, we enjoyed the daily $250 bar tabs, just be sure to grab chairs early! Also the movement of the sun is a big factor. So pay attention. Like warfare, "strategic positioning" for the eastern side of the pool begins around 2pm, it's fun to watch if you are positioned correctly. A $20 bill will get stuff done at the pool too. You'll need a few, but that's not exclusive to the W. The W has a super nice staff. Try the beach for at least half of your sunshine intoxication. The pool menu is excellent. The fish tacos, gauc and chips are a circus in your mouth. The tuna tartare is so good! A short walk to Nobu (sushi) for dinner is also a suggestion. Try Yardbird if you wanna mix it with some southern style dishes. The News Cafe for breakfast is good with a great atmosphere. Overall, we liked the W South Beach. Super disappointed about our "kinda" ocean view, but we will get over it. Just request something on a higher floor. You'll like your view and probably avoid the "Daft Punk" lullaby's. We'll keep the light... Not exactly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is without a doubt the worst excuse for a luxury hotel that it has ever been my misfortune at which to stay. It seems they take perverted pleasure in messing up at every opportunity. Service is almost comically bad. We are still waiting for our early check in room at 17:00. The restaurant was bringing us our drinks order at a rate of one drink every 10 mins and no food after 40 minutes. Under no circumstances order the Bloody Mary - it will haunt me forever. This place belongs in the twilight zone! Stay here at your peril!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We express our sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received from our staff. Please know this is not the way we service our guests. With the helpful feedback you provided, we can utilize this experience as a training tool for future guest experiences.

Once again, we truly apologize for the lack of "wow" factor on your visit.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Recently we stayed for a week. Even if the hotel is very modern and I don't like modern style however the staff made me feel home and they were extremely nice and caring. Especially a big thank you to Casey who satisfied all accommodation requirements. All my evenings were planned by the amazing Gabriella Di Falco that reserved for us to the best restaurants in Miami even when it was all booked. Everybody knows and love her in Miami. Thank you GABRY!!! And a special thank you to the brazilian valet who dropped us to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to have been your home away from home. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to Casey and Gaby, who are both wonderful members of our team. Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.