We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One person can make an experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #14 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“One person can make an experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Last weekend my BF and I stayed at the W. What an amazing place. The pool was spectacular and drinks were great! We stayed at the pool area for a while and what choice do we have? It is so welcoming and so serene. We decided to go try the beach and as we were taking the path to the beach we came upon a hut which looked like a bar.

As we approached we stood there not really knowing where to go to obtain some chairs and some drinks. The people in hut seemed so engaged in the conversation that we were afraid to interrupt. The moment became awkward and we decided to go back to the pool. As we are turning to leave and gentlemen passed us by in an orange shirt and with a great smile said "Great Afternoon Folks!". His smile made me smile and made my husband smile and we decided to ask for his assistance. We felt terrible because here we had a group of people standing and laughing in the hut and this poor soul is holding a bucket and a jar of water and a table and we are asking him for help. We asked him if it would be possible for a menu and some drinks and possibly a beach chair? He replied "absolutely" he placed the items he was holding in the hut, had to constantly say excuse me to the people in the hut because they would not move out of his way. I felt terrible for him. He grabbed a menu and escorted us to the hut on the right side of the path and in less than a minute he had someone sit us down in a perfect spot. He later came over and brought my husband and I some lemonade and apologized profusely for what had occurred at the bar/hut.

When he left I turned to my husband and said " What was his name?" "My husband replied " I forgot, I know he mentioned it but I feel terrible asking him." We left that place not knowing who this person was but I will say that his customer service skills are impeccable. I do know he was wearing an orange shirt and if I am not mistaken there were only two people wearing that type color shirt and the other person wearing it was a female. Thank you mister in the orange shirt, you did a phenomenal job! You made an awkward situation instantly better. We are sorry we do not remember your name but you left a great impression on my husband and myself and wanted it to be known on this reputable website. So if anyone is staying in the W in south beach and you have an issue on the beach look for the gentlemen in the orange shirt and white hat he is spectacular!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed WET - truly the best pool area in Miami Beach - and are on the hunt to find "the gentleman in the orange shirt" so that we may pass along your kind words.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    341
    167
    88
    98
See reviews for
244
658
75
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
thejerseygourmand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were really disappointed to find our stay in our luxury suite (and it was lovely, genuinely), was ruined by the noise of building sites either side of us.
A previous reviewer had mentioned this, so I actually contacted the hotel to ask for a quite room. They implied we would have one.
In the end we left early and went down to Key West.
Such a shame, because the staff are excellent and we really liked the hotel.
If we're back in Miami and if the construction work has finished we may give it another go.
For now, though, I'd give it a miss if you want to spend any time sunbathing on the otherwise great balcony of a megasuite.
At $669 per night, it didn't seem great value to us.
The on site purchases are quite pricey, too. If you stay there - there's a Walgreens almost opposite!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would like to apologize for the noise levels you experienced as a result of our neighbors' construction. We are keeping a close eye on the progress, and are making every effort to minimize the noise as much as possible for our guests' comfort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property itself, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I chose the W sight unseen for a romantic get-away while I Florida's east coast.
Wow! Smaller, intimate, attentive with unexpected features and dining. The pool is accessed, from the lobby, THRU THE WATER! Once there; great views and beautiful people.
Our room was meant for couples and romance. The room service was superb. And you can't beat the perfect quieter South Beach location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed a romantic getaway at our property, and look forward to welcoming you back for many more to come!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The W is the place to stay in South Beach. Most rooms feature amazing ocean views. Guests are generally adult couples, and the pool area and adjacent beach feature full bar and food service. Most importantly, the staff really is wiling to do whatever, whenever to make the most out of your stay. To get the best value for your trip, book a VIP trip. The car service from the airport and your concierge is worth it, not to mention the VIP suites are incredible!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your VIP experience. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Whatever/Whenever service, and look forward to 'wow'ing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The W hotel is an amazing property with even more amazing staff. This is my 4th stay at the W and I can honestly say that the experience improves with each year. The staff is extremely accommodating and a pleasure to work with. Our company has held our corporate event at this location for the past 4 years and each year our expectations have been blown away. We feel like 1 big family ad are treated as such. We have never felt like a bother, and have always been treated with respect.

The banquets team is comparable to non. They have set the bar so high and each year have outdone themselves. Isaac and Aldo have never made me feel like anything other than family and a friend. Luis and Antonio have made all of our guests feel like VIP's, whether it was creating a fun cocktail for them, or simply welcoming them with a whole hearted smile.

Ashley has done tremendous things for our group. We consider her as a friend and honorary member of our team. She always has a smile on her face, even with our crazy requests.

Thank you to all of the staff thy helped make this event, and all past events, a tremendous success!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for once again returning to W South Beach - you truly are part of the Starwood family. We can't wait to host you and your company next year for a fifth year in a row!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Shared a 2 bedroom suite between 3 friends - an excellent set up for a weekend. The hotel is a bit further north from the main strip which makes it better value and also quieter, but still has beach access. The pool is absolutely excellent and the way they manage the beds democratically means you dont have to get up at the crack of dawn! Lovely bar and good restaurant also. We had a great time. A couple of issues with the service (one day our room wasnt cleaned, we were asked to come back to the bar later to pay a bill as the machine wasnt working), but contrasted with very helpful concierge and pool staff. Overall a lovely hotel and a marvellous time had by all.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the hotel next door which is being renovated - so we had a partial view of beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing W South Beach as the destination for your weekend getaway! We're so glad you enjoyed our property and the many amenities it has to offer.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect hotel. I went there with my husband as a first destination on our honeymoon and it was literally the time of our life. First of all, we had an upgrade to a high level floor 1720 :) Breathtaking ocean view... wonderful pool... Excellent whenever whatever service.... great beach... good location.... BEST HOTEL IN SOUTH BEACH...We can't wait to go back to this hotel with the same room one day! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We couldn't be happier that you chose to spend this special time at our property. Congratulations on your recent nuptials - we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.