We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - if you like the noise of building sites!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #26 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
thejerseygourmand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel - if you like the noise of building sites!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were really disappointed to find our stay in our luxury suite (and it was lovely, genuinely), was ruined by the noise of building sites either side of us.
A previous reviewer had mentioned this, so I actually contacted the hotel to ask for a quite room. They implied we would have one.
In the end we left early and went down to Key West.
Such a shame, because the staff are excellent and we really liked the hotel.
If we're back in Miami and if the construction work has finished we may give it another go.
For now, though, I'd give it a miss if you want to spend any time sunbathing on the otherwise great balcony of a megasuite.
At $669 per night, it didn't seem great value to us.
The on site purchases are quite pricey, too. If you stay there - there's a Walgreens almost opposite!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We would like to apologize for the noise levels you experienced as a result of our neighbors' construction. We are keeping a close eye on the progress, and are making every effort to minimize the noise as much as possible for our guests' comfort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the property itself, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    811
    313
    160
    85
    96
See reviews for
225
586
63
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My wife and I chose the W sight unseen for a romantic get-away while I Florida's east coast.
Wow! Smaller, intimate, attentive with unexpected features and dining. The pool is accessed, from the lobby, THRU THE WATER! Once there; great views and beautiful people.
Our room was meant for couples and romance. The room service was superb. And you can't beat the perfect quieter South Beach location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed a romantic getaway at our property, and look forward to welcoming you back for many more to come!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The W is the place to stay in South Beach. Most rooms feature amazing ocean views. Guests are generally adult couples, and the pool area and adjacent beach feature full bar and food service. Most importantly, the staff really is wiling to do whatever, whenever to make the most out of your stay. To get the best value for your trip, book a VIP trip. The car service from the airport and your concierge is worth it, not to mention the VIP suites are incredible!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your VIP experience. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our signature Whatever/Whenever service, and look forward to 'wow'ing you again soon!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The W hotel is an amazing property with even more amazing staff. This is my 4th stay at the W and I can honestly say that the experience improves with each year. The staff is extremely accommodating and a pleasure to work with. Our company has held our corporate event at this location for the past 4 years and each year our expectations have been blown away. We feel like 1 big family ad are treated as such. We have never felt like a bother, and have always been treated with respect.

The banquets team is comparable to non. They have set the bar so high and each year have outdone themselves. Isaac and Aldo have never made me feel like anything other than family and a friend. Luis and Antonio have made all of our guests feel like VIP's, whether it was creating a fun cocktail for them, or simply welcoming them with a whole hearted smile.

Ashley has done tremendous things for our group. We consider her as a friend and honorary member of our team. She always has a smile on her face, even with our crazy requests.

Thank you to all of the staff thy helped make this event, and all past events, a tremendous success!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for once again returning to W South Beach - you truly are part of the Starwood family. We can't wait to host you and your company next year for a fifth year in a row!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Shared a 2 bedroom suite between 3 friends - an excellent set up for a weekend. The hotel is a bit further north from the main strip which makes it better value and also quieter, but still has beach access. The pool is absolutely excellent and the way they manage the beds democratically means you dont have to get up at the crack of dawn! Lovely bar and good restaurant also. We had a great time. A couple of issues with the service (one day our room wasnt cleaned, we were asked to come back to the bar later to pay a bill as the machine wasnt working), but contrasted with very helpful concierge and pool staff. Overall a lovely hotel and a marvellous time had by all.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the hotel next door which is being renovated - so we had a partial view of beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing W South Beach as the destination for your weekend getaway! We're so glad you enjoyed our property and the many amenities it has to offer.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect hotel. I went there with my husband as a first destination on our honeymoon and it was literally the time of our life. First of all, we had an upgrade to a high level floor 1720 :) Breathtaking ocean view... wonderful pool... Excellent whenever whatever service.... great beach... good location.... BEST HOTEL IN SOUTH BEACH...We can't wait to go back to this hotel with the same room one day! :)

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We couldn't be happier that you chose to spend this special time at our property. Congratulations on your recent nuptials - we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

When we went there as a family, there were always many pool parties with loads of drunk people everywhere. This was not a good atmosphere for children. However, the food was excellent ( but way too pricey) and the waiters at The Dutch were all lovely. I would recommend only for young people/couples without children.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.