We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
W South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #22 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Key spot for fun, proximity, amenities, and overall south beach experience. The staff were all very friendly, the on site food is great, rooms with great views, beach and pool is in your backyard. Would stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We have one of the most desirable addresses in South Beach, and are so pleased you feel the same. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    320
    162
    86
    96
See reviews for
234
603
64
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fantastic hotel. Great views, wonderful pool area.
The food on premises was excellent.

I did not like how the lobby was so crowded all weekend and using the key card for the elevator was bit of an annoyance, but overall this has to be one of the best hotels on Miami Beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

A perfect experience in a wonderful place: glamour, art, spectacular swimming pool and very spacious rooms. I personally reccomend the Ocean view rooms over the 20th floor. We had a marvellous time, thanks expecially to Gabriella Di Falco, Lead Insider @ W South Beach and all the staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view, over 20th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your five-star review! We're happy to say that all of our rooms boast ocean views, and are especially thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your view from the top.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Maybe this property was trying to make my trip scary in honor of October and Halloween.

Let me say I WAITED for a response to my complaint BEFORE I decided to leave this poor review. REALLY how company's RESOLVE issues is VERY IMPORTANT. If there are hiccups and you go out of your way to make it nice then you tend to forget about the bad things and are just grateful they went above and beyond to resolve it.

I go to South beach and every time I am there I stare at the W and say NEXT time I'm staying there. They are ALWAYS sold out when I make plans to go. This time I made reservations MONTHS in advance to BE SURE and got my wish.

At the end of all the confusion, I was told we apologize for your experience and will work on making it better. So Basically I'm gone and the miserable construction noise and bad billing situation will forever be my memory of this place. No offers to make me WANT to come back or anything.

Let me start with the GOOD stuff first. The property is nice and in the RIGHT spot!
The staff is pleasant, the Concierge is WONDERFUL. The food was yummy. Pool is great, the beach access is easy to reach. The bathrooms are on glam status. Multiple shower heads in the shower and extra large bathtub. Lovely towels, comfy beds. Nice balcony's (although you can see down to guests private pools hee hee hee the things you see) PLENTY of room for your luggage (even though one closet was locked with no entry. made me wonder WHAT is in that closet) There were cool drawers under the bed, so accidentally losing anything under the bed is almost impossible. Our room had a kitchen so we were able to have snacks and other comforts in the fridge as well as cook a quick snack.

Now for why the "W" stands for Whack.

The room service is SLOW, and the front desk staff seem to not have great communication. When housekeeping came to cleanup they seem to forget to take the trash out under the kitchen sink. (happened twice) and once in the hallway when I saw housekeeping in the hallway after calling for them, I was asked are you in this room. Yes I replied...and the housekeeper seemed to be annoyed that I called for cleaning. The couch was UNCOMFORTABLE as well as it looked OLD and OVER USED. Really a little reupholster is in DEFINITE need. I've attached a picture so you can see what type of couch you get for all the money you pay.

I get it, it's LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION...but for the money I think the iPod deck should be upgraded and other SMALL things that would tip off the level of LUXURY.
In addition to the PRICE plus the resort tax I think if you are going to provide beach chairs then the umbrellas SHOULD be included. When compared to OTHER Starwood properties, this is SUPPOSED to be a category 7, I've stayed in NICER category 5 and 6 properties.

When I made the reservation I got a cool deal, 4th night Free. I made the reservation on the phone and the reservation agent told me the TOTAL cost for the 2 bedroom sanctuary suite. BEWARE at checkout this is NOT the total. Within the total they give you it does not include 13% for resort fee and taxes. I've stayed at MANY posh hotels including Starwood properties and the FINAL price given has ALWAYS been the final price.

Reading other reviews I KNEW about the construction of the hotel NEXT door and I inquired about it. I was told oh no worries you will be on the OTHER side. FORTUNATELY for me, Sat and Sunday there isn't any construction but SURELY Monday morning we were awaken with the construction sound BRIGHT and EARLY.

KNOWING, I myself would not be checking in on the first night I EXPLAINED and called back 4 times on different days just to CONFIRM that my friends coming in on Friday WITHOUT me would have no problems checking in and WHAT did they need. I was told JUST a credit card to hold an amount for incidentals being that MY card was on file and they would initiate a hold for the stay on mine. OF course when my guests get there they have to pay for the FIRST night in order to stay. When I checked in the next day they told me everything would be switched to my card and apologized for the misunderstanding. Ha! the apology was for NOTHING because the FOLLOWING day they not ONLY charged MY card but my friends card as well. I go back down and ask to be charged for the ENTIRE stay to make it easy and they said yeah SURE. So now my friends credit card has been charged and not only did mine get charged for the stay but an ADDITIONAL night hold. So NOW there's incidental holds on my card, and my friends card.

Everyday I'd get a call from the front desk asking who was coming to pay for the room. After ALL The confusion for our last night the nice lady at the desk gave us late checkout at 3pm. well at 1pm I get a call asking Who will be paying for the additional night since we were still occupying the room. ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!?!? there are no NOTES anywhere to say this room has guests with LATE checkout.

How frustrating and badgered I felt. I've NEVER been on a pay as I stay status for a hotel before.

REALLY without the bad service I would lean toward a very good and excellent. It's just TOUGH to rate Excellent when I've stayed at other properties with more frills and thrills for the same price or LESS. ie: remote panel to control curtains, radio system and lights for the entire room.

In all I REALLY wanted this to be my NEW South Beach go to hotel BUT I would need and want to feel like a GUEST and NOT a pest.

Room Tip: Not sure...I inquired about the construction side and was told the room I was getting WOULD NOT be o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed at the W South Beach on numerous occasions but yesterday was the best service experience ever! Ashley at the Front Desk and her Manager went above and beyond the call of duty! Incredible property with even better people!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear our team was able to exceed your expectations! Ashley is a fantastic asset to our Welcome Desk . Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for our birthday from the 20-24 of October . Starting from the check in , everything was amazing. The hotel ,pool, and bar are very good. Thanks to the W Hotel staff , especially the maid who cleaned our room. She was very professional and an amazing lady. Thank you to everyone .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing W South Beach as your escape. It's our pleasure to have hosted you, and we very much look forward to 'wow''ing you again in the future!

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the W South Beach for a business trip. The service and staff where great. Very helpful whenever asked a question or need anything. The room have great views and I would stay here again for a vacation.

Room Tip: If you want to wake up to the sun, get a room on the South side. Not a morning person, get a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your view from the top! It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to do so again in the near future.

Best regards,

Amaury Piedra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — W South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Prestigia and Otel so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.