We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We for a few nights during our honeymoon and this hotel is the best I have been to. Not only modern and beautiful surroundings right on the beach but the staff were so helpful, could not have done enough. Beach and pool beds so so comfortable. Would 100% go back. Think any other hotel will be disappointing compared with this!! Sheer luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: We had view of South Beach was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,461
    408
    194
    92
    111
See reviews for
364
863
105
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you want a luxurious hotel stay and to feel pampered, this is the hotel for you. Everyone that we met, from the gentlemen opening the doors to the woman at the front desk who helped with check-in, were all so friendly and kind. The bed was beyond comfortable. And the shower had three shower-heads! So fancy! The beach there is one of the nicest beaches I've been to, which is a nice plus if you can ever pull yourself away from the amazing hotel room. My husband and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted to let you know how much we appreciated the superb customer service we received from Ralph Chaoul during our recent stay at the W South Beach. From the moment we arrived, Ralph made every attempt to meet our requests. Although he was unable to accommodate our request for a room upgrade, he went above & beyond to ensure that our stay was an amazing experience. Ralph's exemplary customer service truly exemplifies the W's "Whatever-Whenever" motto.

Regards,

Mr. Tim Carter

Room Tip: Make sure you are not staying anywhere near they have construction taking place on one of the W Resi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The "W" Hotel in Miami Beach was a happy, relaxing and comfortable getaway for a 5-day respite!
We were 2 adults and an 8-year old in an 1150 SQ FT "Wonderful" suite with an additional 200 SqFt balcony, ultra modern kitchen, washer/dryer, wrap around large windows throughout with direct ocean and infinity pool sweeping views.
The lack of closet hanging space was, however, dissapointing considering the room/suite size - they need to bring in an armois!

The breakfast spot by the infinity pool (with another spot inside the hotel , just as good and offering a buffet breakfast daily) was ideal and the food and service excellent.

The entire hotel property staff was cordial and helpful without being sappy-mouthed and eyes all over you.
The beach access is right at foot with terrific amenities both at and on the beach.
Gotta love it ! !

We booked again for October 2013 - a different corner south-facing suite with the same square footage and sweeping views -more closet space.

Security is good.

Submitted by:
David Gold

Room Tip: A corner suite facing south is worth the dough .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the Miami W
This is our 4th trip in 3 years and its always great but this trip was extra special thanks to your entire team from front of the house to housekeeping.

Special thanks to Ashley Tobon for making us feel at home and relaxed once we arrived until we checked out. It's the atmosphere that we enjoy and the customer service is what brings us back.

Rooms are modern clean and inspiring. The gardens are fun to walk through. The main pool is fun but the private pool is better. The music is always on point throughout the hotel. The food is good. The service is quick. People are nice and get what you need when you ask for it. There's some eye candy being Miami so there's good looking people to check out. Always a plus. The ocean is beautiful and right there outside off an amazing beachwalk. Ill shut up now

See you in December

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was my second stay at the W South beach.
Here are my views on the following items in this hotel:
Rooms: fair sized, typically W vibe, some corners starting to show a bit of wear but overall not bad.
Pool: quite crowded on the weekend. There is another smaller more quiet pool.
Food: did not bother since the pool side food and the breakfast were not that good on the previous stay.

While most of the staff were courteous and polite overall, there were a number of issues.

Firstly, the duvets were quite worn out. The material inside had become hard and gritty. It took two different groups of people to come up before they understood and changed my duvet.
I've stayed at a lot of hotels and never had felt anything so bad!

I stayed at a fabulous suite and on the first day I opened up the window but somehow it could not close. Because it was a saturday night, it was quite noisy. I asked for someone to come up and close the window but no one came. After awhile I gave up and called back to tell them not to send anyone tonight because it was getting late. So the first night sleep did not go well and next morning required more coffee to wake up.

On the second day we went out in the morning and afternoon but returned by around 3:30 for some rest. I was quite surprised to find that our room was not cleaned yet. I called whatever/whenever and was told that housekeeping service could be anytime between 9am to 6pm but they would send someone now. After almost an hour still no one came and another call was made to reception.

On the third night something strange happened. At around 1030pm, someone knocked on our door. We were a little concerned since we had not called for any services. Because I was at the other end of the room, by the time I walked to the door, the person from the outside had already started to open the door. Fortunately, I arrived at the door right in time to flip the security latch over. Through the gap there were two people looked like they were from housekeeping. I asked them what did they want and their reply was "just checking if you are good". The only thing I can think of was that at night they were supposed to put bottled water and chocolate on the night table and they did not do that on that particular night. Still, I find it somewhat bizarre to get a knock on my door at 1030 pm.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel staff and management works tirelessly to satisfy all your wishes. Obviously the customer service training has paid off. The room attendant Paulette D. And her co worker Juan Martinez learned that it was our 30th wedding anniversary. They surprised us with a cake and a bottle of champagne delivered to the room! They were really happy for us. This was an amazing surprise. We will definately be back. Great weekend getaway spot.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#10 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia and getaroom.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.