We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibe and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Vibe and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I usually stay at the Ritz but this time we decided to stay at the W. I thought the hotel had a great vibe and very cool interior. The rooms were big and even had 1 1/2 bathrooms and a kitchen. Great tub and the furniture was sophisticated and the view was great. In the bedroom there is this great hanging chandelier that when you bump it it sounds like a wind chime which at night when the air was on you could here it which at first I thought would bug me but it was not bad at all. Just FYI. The service was nice and one day the big pool was full so we were seated at the side pool which was great bc it was like having a private pool. The only down side to that pool (and the big pool) was the noise from the construction next door. It was pretty loud. We ate breakfast at the Dutch which was good. The black and white cake we had for snack was great! It is pricey ($10 for one iced coffee??) but it is the W and was a nice change from the Ritz. We will be staying here again. We also got massages at Bliss which was a nice massage but the waiting area for woman and the facilities were just average and it was really bright. After being in a dark nice room for an hour you come out to bright bright light. The showers were out of soap and if there is more then 1-2 people trying to get ready its tight with only one hair dryer. The Ritz definitely has a better spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a treat for you to stay with us instead of the Ritz this visit! It's great that we captured your heart! So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. We get great feedback from our guests about the VIP Pool with your same sentiments, as it is quaint and "private."

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we thank you for your patronage.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    341
    167
    88
    98
See reviews for
244
657
75
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here over 4th of July w/e and was very disappointed with the quality of the SPG check-in staff. We were given wrong information about which room & when it would be ready, waited up by the pool for 3 hours waiting for front desk to call only to be given the same room offered to us at the start? Lost our luggage x 2 even with tags. Room was not up to W quality, very worn out & tired looking. We cut short our stay & moved up to the W Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Tower 1 seem to have nicer suites than Tower 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent W South Beach Experience. I am very sorry to hear that you encounters with the Welcome Desk staff as well as the confusion on your room type and finding your luggage. The Arrival experience is what sets the tone for any hotel visit, and I am disappointed we failed,and I apologize.

If you decide to visit us in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me and I will ensure your next visit is flawless.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were well-overdue for a vacation, so we decided to book one to Miami. I booked the hotel through Magellan Vacations online as they seemed to be providing us some good deals. We were debating between several hotels, but landed on the W.

Overall our stay at the W was great. Our Suite was awesome, huge (compared to most hotel rooms) and a beautiful view from the balcony. The service at the hotel was great overall. Especially liked the turnover service at night. Got to love coming back to your room with a bottle of water and chocolate at bedside after dinner and drinks. We spent most of our time at the pool, but did check out the beach for half a day. The staff sets you up with chairs, umbrella, and towels, etc and staff is around to order drinks and food from.

Word to the wise: I had read online about the W offering a car to transport you around South Beach, but if you plan on using it, you must reserve it well in advance. We didnt end up using it since it was already booked.

We did breakfast at the hotel one day. Not bad, but be prepared for the bill. Obviously the W is not cheap by any means, but breakfast for $80 is a bit excessive and we didnt even drink mimosas or anything!

Now the negative: When booking, the agent failed to tell us that Memorial Day weekend has become known as 'Urban Beach Festival/Weekend'. Luckily the W was not filled to capactiy, and if you never left the hotel, you may have not known other than the police located at the front door that are normally not there, but needless to say we did not get the trip we had expected. With the festivities, most of the major roads in South Beach are blocked off, so getting around by cab is difficult. It took us an hour to get to our dinner reservation that was less than a mile or two away from the hotel. We learned from our mistake and walked to dinner the next night, but definitely saw what Urban Beach Weekend was all about. I won't go into detail, but just 'google' it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor! It is great to hear that you enjoyed the service and amenities W South Beach has to offer. I have shared your feedback on The Dutch with our Director of Food and Beverage to review pricing and offerings.

We hope to welcome you back again on an alternate weekend of your choice.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly apologies to all the other W hotels we've stayed at,as this no reflection on you. W south beach is cheap, it is poorly set up and there is no wow factor rooms were poor and not clean. Second the service is the worst I've experienced at a w. no-one approached us to help with bags when we arrived for a group of 6, then wen we had room complications no one would help us with our situation, until 2 hours later they had a solution. The w south beach is a renovated 2star and it shows, it blends in with the 2 star accommodation next door...we checked out after a day and went to another hotel. For $500 a night it is no where near worth it. This hotel does not deserve the w brand.. Look elsewhere while @ south beach.. Our experience was not that of others and we were extremely disappointed. W was not for wow, we used the words what? Where? And who?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am quite disappointed to read of your experience. I cannot begin to express my sincerest apologies for the lack of service you received from our staff. Please know this is not the way we service out guests, and with the helpful feedback you provided, we can utilize this experience as a training tool for future guest experiences.

Once again I truly apologize for the lack of "wow" factor on your visit.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Another great W property. Great staff, great pool, great beach. The concierge staff was excellent especially Madeline who handled a number of requests for us including several that were done pre-arrival while I was in Asia. The whole experience was relaxing and rejuvenating which was just what my wife and I were looking for on this trip.

Room Tip: We choose a Fabulous Suite: great ocean view, huge room, awesome bathroom and excellent balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you had a great visit, and it makes it even better that Madeline was able to provide you with our signature whatever/whenever service, all the way in Asia prior to your arrival! We look forward to seeing you in the near future, I will make sure to send her your comments!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a family vacation at the W South Beach. I admit that I was hesitant to return to this W after staying here in the past. Why? Well, the last time we stayed here the effort to be hip and trendy overshadowed the focus on quality and attention to guest comfort. The noise level was high and the service fairly poor. Nothing wrong with their wanting to serve the party crowd, but that was simply not our goal (maybe we are too old and not their target client we assumed) and so we returned to the Ritz Carlton right up the street. This year, for the 4th of July week, we chose the W simply because we thought our teenage kids would appreciate the “stay in a club” environment.

What a shock (in a good way) we had. This hotel as truly gone through a renaissance and has found the perfect balance of service/luxury and hip/trendy. We had a great vacation with the W over-performing in every way. Now, the service is top notch, with them going out of their way to anticipate every need. Every single service member, from the front desk, to concierge, to pool/beach staff to housekeeping was friendly, efficient and service oriented. Our rooms were spotlessly clean and continually refreshed all week.

The most pleasant surprise is that removal of the overly loud club, that used to run into all hours of the night and a volume you could simply not get away from. While they still had a solid party in the outdoor club every night, there’s no more thumping so loud that it keeps you up, even when on the 16th floor. We slept soundly all week, even on July 4th itself. It's nice to see that the hotel is accommodating guests now and not focusing totally on the locals who come for the night club. (But, don't get me wrong, they seem to still have that going for them. On the day we left, our car picked us up at 4:45 am and we say a large crowd just leaving the club! Ah, to be young again.)

I can now agree with the other reviewers that it really doesn't get better than the W South Beach. I will hold the rest of the Starwood properties to the standard of this hotel. You get the nice, contemporary environment without the “baggage” that it can bring when trying too hard. With a great location and first class design, we left feeling as if we had spent the week on a luxury cruise, with great ocean views, wonderful service and a solid beach experience.
I really have to think long and hard to come up with even the smallest negative comment. I guess I could note that the pool area is small so you have to get on a waiting list for lounge chairs, but that was not so bad as there is plenty of seating at the beach, and chair rental in included in your room rate.

All-in-all, I can’t say enough good things about the W South Beach. They have raised their game and are now among the very best on South Beach. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so happy that you had a magnificent stay that exceeded your expectations. We strive to improve just a little bit every day, and I am glad that this visit was much more pleasant than the last. Thanks for sharing your feedback with the trip advisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our second time staying at the W South Beach and I have to say the place just continues to get better. We booked a fabulous suite which was exactly that an amazing room. We asked for a lower level floor and were given this suite on the 3rd floor unfortunately at that level the foliage has grown so high that despite being "oceanfront" we could not see the ocean. The front desk apologized and immediately gave us a resort credit for the disappointment. The entire staff were very friendly, helpful and provided great service. The pool area is beautiful as are many of the surrounding areas to lounge. The beach is very nice with wonderful service as well. Excellent resort that I would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Get a room above the 3rd floor if you want to have a view. Many corner rooms have views of both dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, General Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would first like to say thank you for returning to W South Beach for a second time! We are delighted you enjoyed your fabulous room and every aspect of your visit. We know the 3rd time around you will continue to be charmed!

We look forward to creating more fun memories with you soon.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.