We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Suites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #46 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Suites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The ocean front 2 bedroom suites are fantastic. Good space, large deck, and stunning views. The hotel overall has been fantastic each time I've stayed. Dinner at Mr Chow's is a must. The only negative is how they pack you in on the beach and at the pool when it's busy. A great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello LG268,

Thank you for your review. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on each room. Our beach front location is perfect with only a few steps to the ocean and a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. Mr. Chow does offer our guests a unique experience and don’t forget to sample Andrew Carmellini’s creations in The Dutch on your next stay. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    601
    269
    147
    80
    92
See reviews for
168
514
59
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I am a Platinum SPG member and have stayed at this property since it opened a few years back. Since I have been patronizing this brand and location the service keeps getting better and better. I have yet to find a hotel in SB which satisfies ALL appetites and desires. When they say Whatever Whenever..Best Believe...A special shout out to Melissa S and her team for always ensuring that my stay is a memorable one and hassle free. I must caution however this does not come without a price so do have your CC or vacaction stay funds in order because you do not want to deny yourself the many treats that await. The rooms are well maintainded and the decor is great. The Wet staff pool and beach are awesome as will. Shout out to Steve and his team as well. ...and you will see the fashionable and famous so do makje sure your wardrobe is tight..... GO and enjoy cause after all..what happens in SB stays in SB...and what better place than the W southbeach to have that experience.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean View except for the City view rooms. If you can get an OASIS suite .... you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Patrick F,

Thank you for your review. We LOVE our SPG Members and so happy you have made our hotel your second home. We love giving our Whatever/Whenever Service to make your escape special and unique. We are sending your shout-outs to Melissa and Steve to our Hotel Manager to share with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in a "Fabulous Studio" and it was fabulous, on the 8th floor so stunning views of the ocean, beach, city to the north from the spacious balcony. Attention to detail in the rooms is amazing, furniture modern, swanky, and still very comfortable. And the bathroom is huge, walk-in shower, separate WC, and every amenity my wife loves. Pool area is well laid out but it does get crowded so you need to nab your spot in the morning, but we preferred the beach...perfect club style set-up, cushy lounges ideal for catching rays or a siesta, excellent drink service. Full-size outdoor basketball court was great for getting some exercise. And the hotel common areas, lobby, gardens, are well-planned spaces that are open yet intimate. And if you like to people watch, have a drink in the Living Room Bar before going out to dinner. People dress up to go out in South Beach, and I was fascinated looking at all the women's.....shoes! Really! Every color, style, material you can imagine.....the girls in Sex and City would have gone wild looking at all those shoes. How they can walk in those super high heels, don't ask me. So imagine the rest....models everywhere, and the nightlife is spectacular. Aside from beaching and eating, we were in South Beach to dance....Salsa and Bachata mainly, but Merenge, Cha Cha Cha, and others as well. The W was the ideal headquarters to enjoy it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello svletas,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed our modern and sleek design. Our Designers were inspired by the Miami culture and white sandy beaches. We do offer our guests a full size basketball and tennis court to help keep your swing in check. Our Living Room cocktails are handcrafted by our Mixologists to tempt your taste buds. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape to South Beach.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Personally, i couldnt find one negative out of my 10 night stay. From the moment we checked in and asked for a high floor (1909 i would recommend it) to the moment we checked out. From reading some of the complaints previously about the W, i was a little bit cautious but as much as i tried to come across the previous comlaints i could not.
All the staff we came across were always polite and courteus, from door staff/security, pool/beachside, concierge, cleaners/turn down staff.

Pay for an expensive hotel and you would expect to pay the higher prices
Paying the $15 for a beach umbrella is a bit odd mind.

Will be back next year if i can book the same room.
This is now the 2nd best hotel i have stayed at, only behind the Park Hyatt Tokyo (Sorry W)

Room Tip: Room 1909 had the view i needed, beach/ocean and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Minty9,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are so happy you made our hotel your home away from home on your recent trip. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your review to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with our staff. We look forward to your next escape and please email us with Whatever/Whenever you need, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the W Hotel this past April and, after noticing the steady decline in service at other establishments in the area, were pleasantly surprised here. Service and attention to detail are still paramount at the W. The food, even room service, is delicious ( and arrived exactly when they said it would) The rooms were clean, sleek and very comfortable with amazing views of the ocean. Service was friendly, efficient and prompt with no sign of the need to continually follow up with requests that we experienced at similar properties.

Room Tip: The "Fabulous" Suite is truly fabulous. We stayed with 2 small children and had plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Amerikankadc,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you and your family stayed with us on your recent trip. We love giving our signature Whatever/Whenever Service to make your stay special and unique. Our In-Room Dining menu was created by Andrew Carmellini who also is the brilliant mind behind The Dutch restaurant in our hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know when you plan your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

So besides the high food & drink prices plus auto gratuity of 18% which is the normal SOBE ante, the W is fun. It is exactly what you expect from a W, cool & sleek design and good service.
The pool is crowed on the weekend but we managed to always find a some room plus the beach is really nice. We splurged on Saturday and paid for one of the beds directly on the beach which was a good investment.

We love our room, great view & nice layout. The construction next door (north side) was only bothersome on Monday a little bit but over the weekend is was quite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Thomas L,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you loved the cool and modern design W’s are known for. We do have the perfect pool to enjoy the Miami sun and only a couple steps to our beach front access. We would like to apologize for the noise from the construction next to us. We are keeping a close eye on their construction and finishing date. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We (family with 3 teenagers) arrived at the W Hotel in a relatively bad shape after our transatlantic flight(s) to Miami took 36 hours and a few stops rather than the planned 14 hours. However it did not take more than a few hours at the W to feel totally relaxed and to forget all the headaches. We had room 1111, which is a spacious 2-bedroom suite with kitchenette and a living room and 2 fully equipped bathrooms plus a restroom. The suite is located very close to the central elevators (and you don't hear the elevators at all).
The rooms are stylish,spacious and well equipped with HD TV screens and Bose A/V. There are three iPhone/iPad charging stations (the common "old" connector), two balconies with chairs, a very quiet A/C and all kind of amenities. If you have any extra wishes (for example my son asked for a basket ball or we asked for an extra pillow) it did not take more than 5 minutes to have it delivered to our room.
The nice pool area has plenty of huge sun chairs and there were always free chairs available, same at the beach (even on Memorial Day). Towel service and chairs are for free (besides the usual tipping).
The food and beverage prices are around the same you pay at the other luxury hotels at Miami Beach, like the Ritz-Carlton or the Loews Hotel. The difference is the W-design style and the perfect service no matter at what time of the day you come up with whatever wish or question you might have.
The "Dutch"-bistro features an excellent coffee, which tastes better than in Italy.
The bar allows you to sit either inside or close to the pool at night and the prices for drinks are very reasonable (compared to some other 5 star places at Miami beach): Every regular cocktail is USD14.
There is a Wallgreens right across the street as well as an AVIS office. Parking at the W is the only thing which I considered overpriced (around 38 USD per night) so you might consider twice whether you really need to park a rental at the hotel for your entire stay or whether you want to take an airport shuttle and then use cabs during your stay.

The walk to Lincoln Street takes about 12 minutes and the walk to Ocean Drive took us about 18 minutes on the Broadwalk at the beach. Also you can rent bicycles in front of the W.

From now on you will definitely see me more often at this hotel, no matter whether on a business trip by myself or with teenagers, who love to stay at a cool and hype location: The W is one of the few places which offers perfect services and features to both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jet9,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy to welcome you and your family for a special escape. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We take pride in our service and will be sending your review to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with our hotel staff. We do offer our guest’s unique amenities to make your stay different each time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w South Beach Hotel
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.