We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience with the entire family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Munich, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great experience with the entire family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We (family with 3 teenagers) arrived at the W Hotel in a relatively bad shape after our transatlantic flight(s) to Miami took 36 hours and a few stops rather than the planned 14 hours. However it did not take more than a few hours at the W to feel totally relaxed and to forget all the headaches. We had room 1111, which is a spacious 2-bedroom suite with kitchenette and a living room and 2 fully equipped bathrooms plus a restroom. The suite is located very close to the central elevators (and you don't hear the elevators at all).
The rooms are stylish,spacious and well equipped with HD TV screens and Bose A/V. There are three iPhone/iPad charging stations (the common "old" connector), two balconies with chairs, a very quiet A/C and all kind of amenities. If you have any extra wishes (for example my son asked for a basket ball or we asked for an extra pillow) it did not take more than 5 minutes to have it delivered to our room.
The nice pool area has plenty of huge sun chairs and there were always free chairs available, same at the beach (even on Memorial Day). Towel service and chairs are for free (besides the usual tipping).
The food and beverage prices are around the same you pay at the other luxury hotels at Miami Beach, like the Ritz-Carlton or the Loews Hotel. The difference is the W-design style and the perfect service no matter at what time of the day you come up with whatever wish or question you might have.
The "Dutch"-bistro features an excellent coffee, which tastes better than in Italy.
The bar allows you to sit either inside or close to the pool at night and the prices for drinks are very reasonable (compared to some other 5 star places at Miami beach): Every regular cocktail is USD14.
There is a Wallgreens right across the street as well as an AVIS office. Parking at the W is the only thing which I considered overpriced (around 38 USD per night) so you might consider twice whether you really need to park a rental at the hotel for your entire stay or whether you want to take an airport shuttle and then use cabs during your stay.

The walk to Lincoln Street takes about 12 minutes and the walk to Ocean Drive took us about 18 minutes on the Broadwalk at the beach. Also you can rent bicycles in front of the W.

From now on you will definitely see me more often at this hotel, no matter whether on a business trip by myself or with teenagers, who love to stay at a cool and hype location: The W is one of the few places which offers perfect services and features to both worlds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jet9,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy to welcome you and your family for a special escape. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We take pride in our service and will be sending your review to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with our hotel staff. We do offer our guest’s unique amenities to make your stay different each time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon on your next trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    338
    167
    88
    98
See reviews for
244
653
74
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at the W. We were upgraded to the Oasis suite and it had an awesome ocean view. Rooms were clean and updated. The guys at the pool and beach were very attentive. The poolside food was delish! We had drinks in the Living Room bar and Eric the bartender was great. Super location, perfect customer service! Loved all the nooks and crannies you could sit and have a drink in. The nightclub at night was fun. Really did not need to leave the hotel for a good time. We have stayed at many Starwood properties and this was one of the best.
Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Teresa W,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your room and ocean view. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on each room. We will be sending your shout-out to Eric to our Hotel Manager to share with our hotel staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need for your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Despite some of the negative reviews, we booked this hotel because of a good deal through Amex/SPG.

Pros:
1) Amazing location - on the beach, walking distance to many restaurants and shops, quick cab ride to other popular Miami beach locations
2) Nice rooms - large balconies with ocean view, nice design
3) Friendly staff - despite some issues, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful - especially the manager at WET - the pool side restaurant/bar; the staff at the Dutch were also wonderful during our daily breakfast

Cons:
1) Room issues: toilet stopped working twice, sink stopped draining one day, internet only worked in 1/2 the room- these were mostly addressed quickly when we complained
2) Pool: super LONG wait for food by the pool (1 hr+) - was apparently due to miscommunication between wait staff , manager addressed it, and sent us comp. drinks

Overall we had a good experience - enjoyed our balcony, the beach, and the pool. Issues were mainly dealt with efficiently, and the staff were friendly. Worth booking if you get a good rate w/ breakfast + resort credits included.

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello mvl84,

Thank you for the review from your stay. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on each room. Our designers were inspired by the local culture and W’s modern cool to give our hotel a very unique look. We are very happy that the issues you encountered were handled quickly. We will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address these issues. We hope you will come visit us again soon. Please email us when you make any future plans and let us know Whatever/Whenever you need, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I experienced the world's worst customer services at W South Beach.

If you want a bathroom that floods, stay here.

If you want to wait 1 hour for your breakfast to be delivered, stay here.

If you want to settle your bill in full, only to go home and find your card has been charged for spa treatments that you never purchased, stay here.

If you then want to wait for over 3 days and still not get a refund for the fraudulent charges, stay here.

If you enjoy spending your precious holiday time arguing with incompetent staff, choose the W South Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Nishakotecha,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced while staying with us. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address our Service Culture. We would love to speak with you more in regards to these issues. Please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Eventhough I live in South Beach only blocks from this hotel, we decided to celebrate my birthday there. This was not a disappointment! We were upgraded to a corner suite with a large terrace overlooking the beach. (The hotel itself is directly on the sand). Despite the pretentiousness of many of the other South Beach hotel staff, we had excellent service, and they provided a fresh fruit plate and free champage--not the cheap stuff, either. The hotel is pricey, even in the off season, but if you want to splurge and be right in the middle of the action, this is the place to stay. No need for a rental car. You can walk to Lincoln Road and taxis are always right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view (I think). Ask for a high floor and a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello kgossum,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us to celebrate your birthday. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We are so happy you enjoyed your oversized suite and the amenities we offer our guests. Please let us know when you plan your next “staycation” and Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have two complaints about this property. First, I couldn't take home the bed and second, i had to check out! This truly was a top notch property. From the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out, you are treated like royalty and there is nothing they won't do to make your day brighter.

Enjoy your stay! I know my group did. They are still talking about it. The rooms are very large and comfortable -- the perfect home away from home. The pool and beach are perfect and the staff is very helpful and kind. The service impeccable. i have plenty of stories of stories to share about the little touches that made a world of a difference.

Kudos to Joe Weiss at The Dutch -- he runs a tight ship and always with a smile and unbelievable kindess while making sure your every need is met. Same to Isaac and Aldo in Banquets. I can't thank them enough for making my meeting a great success. Equally thankful to the sales and F&B staff that were attentive to my needs 24/7.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side of the building where you get a better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello DRoman,

Thank you for your review and sharing your photos. We are so happy you and your group stayed with us. We love being your home away from home. If you loved our bed, you can have one of your own by going to whotelsthestore.com and ordering your own signature W bed and sheets. We will be sharing you shout-out to Joe with our hotel staff to celebrate with him. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went to eat at Mr. Chow on Saturday night and had such an amazing experience with Brian, The Captain that we decided to switch hotels a few days later and try out the W South Beach. Let Brian choose what you should eat he made some outstanding choices and the service was VERY impressive. Switching hotels was probably the best decision I ever made, from the moment we arrived David the bellman welcomed us we a huge smile and very friendly. Then when we checked in at the front desk we were greeted by Chris Guidice, Welcome Desk Agent who was AMAZING! I told him that it was our first time in Miami and that I really wanted to WOW the bride to be, he went above a beyond to help us get an upgrade. I understand that it helped that it was a Monday check-in but still he tried his best to make our stay memorable. Jonathan aka Dimples from in-room dining didn’t disappoint us either, prompt service and very polite. Last but certainly not least Ligy Alarcon, Sales Manager found out that we were staying with her for the first time and sent us a very generous amenity. Overall I was certainly WOW’d by each individual at this property and will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Sbadwal,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy that you choose to stay with us and celebrate this special occasion with you. We love offering our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make your escape special and unique. We will be sending your shout outs to Brian, David, Jonathan, and Ligy to our Hotel Manager to share with our Hotel Staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.