We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATROCIOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ATROCIOUS CUSTOMER SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I experienced the world's worst customer services at W South Beach.

If you want a bathroom that floods, stay here.

If you want to wait 1 hour for your breakfast to be delivered, stay here.

If you want to settle your bill in full, only to go home and find your card has been charged for spa treatments that you never purchased, stay here.

If you then want to wait for over 3 days and still not get a refund for the fraudulent charges, stay here.

If you enjoy spending your precious holiday time arguing with incompetent staff, choose the W South Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Nishakotecha,

Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for the service issues you experienced while staying with us. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address our Service Culture. We would love to speak with you more in regards to these issues. Please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    404
    189
    91
    112
See reviews for
343
851
101
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Eventhough I live in South Beach only blocks from this hotel, we decided to celebrate my birthday there. This was not a disappointment! We were upgraded to a corner suite with a large terrace overlooking the beach. (The hotel itself is directly on the sand). Despite the pretentiousness of many of the other South Beach hotel staff, we had excellent service, and they provided a fresh fruit plate and free champage--not the cheap stuff, either. The hotel is pricey, even in the off season, but if you want to splurge and be right in the middle of the action, this is the place to stay. No need for a rental car. You can walk to Lincoln Road and taxis are always right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view (I think). Ask for a high floor and a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello kgossum,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us to celebrate your birthday. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We are so happy you enjoyed your oversized suite and the amenities we offer our guests. Please let us know when you plan your next “staycation” and Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have two complaints about this property. First, I couldn't take home the bed and second, i had to check out! This truly was a top notch property. From the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out, you are treated like royalty and there is nothing they won't do to make your day brighter.

Enjoy your stay! I know my group did. They are still talking about it. The rooms are very large and comfortable -- the perfect home away from home. The pool and beach are perfect and the staff is very helpful and kind. The service impeccable. i have plenty of stories of stories to share about the little touches that made a world of a difference.

Kudos to Joe Weiss at The Dutch -- he runs a tight ship and always with a smile and unbelievable kindess while making sure your every need is met. Same to Isaac and Aldo in Banquets. I can't thank them enough for making my meeting a great success. Equally thankful to the sales and F&B staff that were attentive to my needs 24/7.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side of the building where you get a better view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello DRoman,

Thank you for your review and sharing your photos. We are so happy you and your group stayed with us. We love being your home away from home. If you loved our bed, you can have one of your own by going to whotelsthestore.com and ordering your own signature W bed and sheets. We will be sharing you shout-out to Joe with our hotel staff to celebrate with him. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went to eat at Mr. Chow on Saturday night and had such an amazing experience with Brian, The Captain that we decided to switch hotels a few days later and try out the W South Beach. Let Brian choose what you should eat he made some outstanding choices and the service was VERY impressive. Switching hotels was probably the best decision I ever made, from the moment we arrived David the bellman welcomed us we a huge smile and very friendly. Then when we checked in at the front desk we were greeted by Chris Guidice, Welcome Desk Agent who was AMAZING! I told him that it was our first time in Miami and that I really wanted to WOW the bride to be, he went above a beyond to help us get an upgrade. I understand that it helped that it was a Monday check-in but still he tried his best to make our stay memorable. Jonathan aka Dimples from in-room dining didn’t disappoint us either, prompt service and very polite. Last but certainly not least Ligy Alarcon, Sales Manager found out that we were staying with her for the first time and sent us a very generous amenity. Overall I was certainly WOW’d by each individual at this property and will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Sbadwal,

Thank you for your review. We were so happy that you choose to stay with us and celebrate this special occasion with you. We love offering our signature Whatever/Whenever service to make your escape special and unique. We will be sending your shout outs to Brian, David, Jonathan, and Ligy to our Hotel Manager to share with our Hotel Staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here at the W on south beach for 3 nights. Our room was very big with great views onto the beach. The pool is just amazing, the staff are so attentive to your every needs and the food at the hotel was just delicious!! A great hotel in easy reach of the beach, and many great restaurants!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Aine M,

Thank you for your review. We do offer the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on every room. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with our Hotel Staff. We hope to welcome you back soon on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This has to be one of my favorite W Hotels in the world, and believe me, I travel big time. I go to South Beach 4-5 times a year, whether it be for Art Basel, stopping though on the way to the Caribbean, or on a business trip. The lobby is stylish, breezy, sexy, the location couldn't be better, the service is impeccable. They gave me a jr penthouse for an amazing price, I called them and told them I was miserable at the W Ft Lauderdale, (I was there on a scuba trip) and W South Beach wanted to make my trip memorable, and they did. The concierge is very attentive, the staff do not ring your bell every 5 minutes for room service. The pool is very nice, with cabanas, they serve you at the pool, the background music is chill. Then of course, you have the famous Mr. Chow restaurant inside the hotel, as well as a fantastic bar called the Dutch, and for late night party, you have "The Wall" there as well. You could be happy in this hotel as a romantic couple, or if you want to do the night scene. It's all up to you but both styles exist. My tip would be to always book in advance as they are usually full to capacity, with all good do reason, as it doesn’t get better than this.

Room Tip: Higher floors for better views, but all the rooms are beautifully done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello Trista R,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you love our hotel as much as we do. W’s are known for the modern design and unique styling. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is how our room was described on their website: "From the private balcony, an ocean view that stretches beyond the horizon will have you at hello. " Below is what we found when we checked in. Eye level snapshot from our balcony, and if you go out on the balcony and look to your left, you see a large construction site. This for $589/night. When we complained, we were switched to a smaller room, no jacuzzi, no outdoor rain shower, with a smaller balcony. Cost was the same "because it's on a higher floor." Yes it did have a fantastic view, and overall the property is gorgeous; the service impeccable. So after we returned home I wrote the property manager, noting the view from room 337 isn't as advertised, and it undermines their credibility to pretend otherwise. They said they'd look into amending the room description, then threw in this line: " I appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention as we have not yet had any guests in the past mention this to us." That felt disingenuous. And a quick google search uncovers other complaints of obstructed views. So after chewing on this for several days I decided to post.

In all, the experience reminds me of a gorgeous girl I once dated who thought she could dismiss any transgression because she had a pretty smile.

They should be better than this.

Room Tip: Watch out for Room 337.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hello AusTexTravelers,

Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize for the miss understanding of your ocean view. We would love to speak with you in regards to your experience and the service you received. We do appreciate you staying with us and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address. Please email us your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#2 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#10 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,394 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#37 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.