We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slick and sexy, great decor in large 2 bdrm 3 bathroom, 2 balcony suite on upper floor.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #9 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slick and sexy, great decor in large 2 bdrm 3 bathroom, 2 balcony suite on upper floor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Smooth check in although we were exhausted from traveling all day from 10 hrs away. Drunk patrons blabbering at reception desk and we had to wait a while for our turn.
Room was great, clean every day and turndown was done as well.
Having checked in over the weekend, we noticed they keep the pool MUCH warmer on weekends than they do during the week. It was Heavenly on weekend then shocking to enter on Monday!
Concierge & staff very accommodating, even gave us a complimentary gazebo with our suite booking and Centurion Amex. It wasn't a package deal, simply a courtesy. Pool staff was amazing!
Kind and efficient, not the fiery Latino attitude you sometimes get in Miami.
Cabbies from the airport are very aggressive. All yelling and arguing the moment you step out of baggage claim area, not a great 1st impression of Miami, but hotel is not responsible for that.
Great decor throughout hotel, some great modern funky sitting areas throughout lobby and poolside.
Bit of a jaunt to beachfront but nothing major. It seemed the hotel wasn't quite facing the beach to get proper views of the water.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Lisa V,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you stayed with us on your recent escape to South Beach. We do love our Centurion Members and so happy you loved your suite. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your review to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with the hotel staff. We are located beachfront with only steps to our oceanfront lounges. We hope you will come visit us again soon and let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    375
    180
    89
    106
See reviews for
295
742
88
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We originally booked this hotel but after reading the reviews about staff, building works, noise etc we decided to book a downtown hotel - big mistake - we changed hotels to the W after 2 nights and spent the rest of our holiday here.

The rooms are excellent, very well equipped with great products and the pillows are the best we have ever slept on, loved them so much we are going to buy them! We asked for the South side and as high up as possible following advice from TA, and considering we booked the morning on our arrival we go the South Side and 10th floor.

I dont get the comments regarding the staff - everyone that served us from front of house, maids, The Dutch, beach, bar etc gave us exceptional service, having seen how some guests behave towards them they deserve a medal for their efforts. Also the comments about the cost of things - its a luxury hotel on South Beach what do people expect?

The pool area is great, obviously gets crowded and you need to get there early or be aware a wait list is usually in operation, however the beach is excellent so there is always somewhere to sit and enjoy the views / weather / vibe.

There are some issues, but they didnt ruin our stay at all, it does get crowded round the pool and the DJ and some of the music / big groups of people is not for everyone but then you do have the beach, some people do like to roar their cars up the road (not the hotels fault) and there is some noise from the street during the night, but thats to be expected in this area and didnt impact our nights sleep.

Really glad we booked stayed here in the end, we nearly booked the SLS down the road which would have been a big mistake - everytime we walked past the music blaring from the pool area was horrendous and I am surprised the other hotels do not complain - it was so out of proportion to everything else - so stay away from there!

Room Tip: South side - whilst rebuilding next door and as high as possible to avoid some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello benalexhw,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do have the perfect location with only steps to the ocean and a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We love giving our guests VIP service and we will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to celebrate with our Hotel Staff. Please send us an email when you plan your next escape and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I like Ws and could not understand why this one had such a low trip advisor ranking (relative to other 4/5 star hotels in Miami Beach), and so decided to book anyway. Now I get it. The property, as always, was fantastic, modern and well designed rooms, brilliant views of the ocean are, and a very well equipped gym. But the overall experience was poor. There were no rooms available at check-in and then I was asked to check out early to make space for another guest. Food and water really over-priced (more so than other Ws). Internet only worked in one half of the room. And the price was double the cost of the excellent five star hotel I moved to instead after one noisy night. Trust the crowd and recognise that - even though this place is good - there is much better just round the corner.

Room Tip: If you actually get a choice of room, rather than waiting in the lobby with 50 other people hoping o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello alwaystravelling69,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We want you to enjoy your experience with us and we take pride in the service we provide our guests. We will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address our Service Culture. We would love to speak with you more in regards to your stay. Please email us with your contact information, wsobesocial@whotels.com, and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a wonderful W property! This property has everything you would want in a location. Everything is in walking distance. I was down in South Beach on another detail and I have to tell you that I didn’t want it to end. The entire staff will make you feel special and they are truly genuine when wanting to assist. The local clubs, restaurants are amazing! If you are planning on going down to SB, bring your tanning oil, comfortable shoes and have a go at it…you won’t be disappointed..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Angel A,

Thank you for your review. We are at the perfect location in South Beach to relax on our oceanfront lounges or walk to Lincoln Road for shopping and cocktails. We love offering our Whatever/Whenever service and making you feel like a VIP. We hope to welcome you back soon and please email us when you make your plans for your next escape, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great services and enviroment for relaxing and spa!!!just perfect for weekend away from routine and work.just rent bicycle and not even need a car.To sum it up if you want service and pampering and relaxation .. I recommend this hotel the beach is just couple step behind the beautiful manicure pool and garden.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Golfboyyk,

Thank you for your review and recommendation. We do have the perfect location to relax on the beach and be within walking distance to South Beach’s hottest attractions. We do offer complimentary bicycles for our guests on a first come-first serve bases and so glad you used these to make your stay even better. Bliss Spa does offer amazing treatments to make any day melt away. Please come visit us again soon and let us know Whatever/Whenever you need on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a great relaxing stay at W South Beach. The staff was so accommodating; they made you feel like you were somebody. The concierge made restaurant recommendations (and reservations) and they were spot on each time. Yes, there are not enough beds around the pool, but we were put on a waiting list and had two beds within 2 hours. Just keep going back to check in so they know you’re serious. Yes, it’s expensive, but everything in South Beach is expensive. We had the Spectacular Studio Suite and it was awesome. Two balconies, 1.5 bathrooms, kitchenette, 17th floor, simply wonderful. FYI 18% gratuity is added to all checks, even when you dine out of the hotel, so be careful not to over tip.
The only bad this was we played tennis two of our days there and they did not have tennis rackets for us to use, they only had racquetball rackets. We survived!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for noise control. Lifts are very fast and there are 4 of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hello Barbara Z,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy you relaxed and enjoyed your stay with us. We love offering our signature Whatever/Whenever service and our Concierge Team has the Insider access to all of Miami’s hottest places. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know anything you need on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in the spectacular suite. Each room had its own balcony. Plus there was a bonus media room with a fold out couch which is perfect for children. The grounds are well kept and nicely manicured.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a group, it makes sense to get one of their larger 2,000 + square feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello sebnemnyc,

Thank you for your review. We do have the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on each room. We are so happy you love our hotel as much as we do. We look forward to welcoming you back and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.