We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The place is nice, the rooms are nice but they are doing construction next to hotel and we kept hearing the bang, bang all day. Could not enjoy the balcony - too much construction. The pool was nice and so was the beach - each room has gets two beach chairs but if you want an umbrella it is $15 and if you want a double chair it is $150. Parking was $40 per day. Internet $15 per day. Add all this on to the cost of the room and you get a very expensive place to stay. The food in the hotel was okay and again - expensive. We used yelp and went about 2 blocks - found great food and a really friendly atmosphere. Some of the guests in the hotel were full of themselves and it was annoying that to get to / from the pool, you had to walk through the lobby. I think to get a good view of the ocean - you should be on floor 7 or above. Also - they had 2 televisions in the room and it just didn't work - a bit too much for a small area.

Room Tip: Above floor 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Thaimae,

Thank you for your review from your stay. We would like to apologize for the construction noise from the hotel next to us. We are keeping a close eye on their progress. We do offer many amenities in our rooms and throughout the hotel for our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    295
    156
    83
    93
See reviews for
206
567
61
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at a Fabulous Studio room at the W South Beach for a week in April.
Hands-down, the service was absolutely the best I have experienced. My husband was complaining by the middle of the week that he had not been able to open a door for himself since we arrived :)
Our room was huge, with a million dollar view of the beach. We were in part of the hotel that seemed to be separate from most of the building, maybe because of the type of room. The upside is that our view was spectacular - directly facing the beach.
The location of the hotel was also great. It's farther north up South Beach, still within walking distance of the "scene" but in a quieter part of town. However, the W Hotel itself played music at the outdoor bar, which got loud at night. Although our windows kept out most of the noise, the bass came through. We were on the fourth floor, so maybe a higher-level room would have been quieter.
One other complaint would be the price of wi-fi, which I found to be much too expensive given the price we were already paying for the room.
Overall, a superb experience and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello jackski5,

Thank you for your review. We take pride in the service we provide out guests and love that you felt at home during your stay. With our beach front access and short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions, we have the perfect location to enjoy your escape. We would like to apologize for the noise at night and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address. Please come back and visit us again soon and let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I feel like most people who stay at the W South Beach are Europeans or first time Americans- I doubt they have that many repeat customers because for $500, there's just not a lot of value added for what you get. The gym is pretty good, Bliss spa is nice, and the some of the rooms have good views, but again- this does not distinguish the W apart from other nice hotels on the beach. Definitely worth trying out once or twice, but nothing to rant and rave about.

Room Tip: If you are an early sleeper, make sure to ask for a room away from the night club as the noise and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Tiffany M,

Thank you for you feedback. We do offer the amazing Bliss Spa with many of their signature treatments and a large fitness room to energize your day. We do have ocean views from every room to enjoy as you relax on your private balcony. We hope to welcome you back soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresskill, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my daughter and my dog. We got there at 4:00pm which is check in time and our room wasn't ready. The girl behind the desk told us to go wait in the lobby until the room was ready. I told her she needed to get the manager so she went in the back and came back and upgraded us to a suite. After that everything was great. Everyone from the front desk to the pool to the beach were so nice and helpful. Everyone was extra nice to my dog. They even offer dog walking services! The only thing that annoyed me was that they charged $15 extra for an umbrella on the beach. Considering the price you pay to stay there they should include at least one umbrella at the beach!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello susannemiller,

Thank you for your review. We love our four-legged family members so much we have a program called P.A.W. just for them. We were so happy to welcome you and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you received during check-in. We take pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address. We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My family and I stayed one night at the W South Beach, prior to our cruise. We chose this hotel primarily because our loyalty to Starwood (husband is a Platinum member), our previous great experience with other W properties, and its location (first time in South Beach). The location did not disappoint - although it's located on the north end of South Beach, it's not a long walk to the center of all actions.
We got to the hotel around 10:30am due our our red-eye flight from the west coast, and as expected, our room was not available. Since we traveled with kids this time, we'd really like the additional space so we asked if a suite would be available for complimentary upgrade (perks for Platinum members). The front desk lady immediately responded that the hotel was fully occupied and no upgrade was available. We then asked for a room with double beds, which she also said was not available. She did not even TRY to see what was available, but immediately gave the canned answer of "fully occupied, not available". Oh well, it was only for one night and we'd deal. She promised that she would get the housekeeping to our room and have it ready soon.
2 hours later we returned to the hotel after lunch and our room was still not ready, so we took the hospitality suite in the meantime. Little did we know that we'd spend the entire afternoon cooked up in the hospitality suite. During the afternoon we called the front office 2x and each time they promised the room would be available within 45 mins and would call us when it was ready, and nobody ever called us back. Throughout the afternoon other parties came and left (it was a shared room) and my family stayed there the whole time hoping our own room would be ready soon. By 5pm my husband called the front desk asking to speak to a manager, and finally someone was able to make something happen. The manager found us an Oasis suite (sure that wasn't available earlier...) and had the room ready 30mins later.
Things went fine after we got into our room - extra towels were quickly brought to the room with a follow-up call from the concierge to make sure that it was done. The suite was a handicapped room but we didn't mind it. It had 2 balconies with a side view of the ocean which was very nice. Although we stayed on a Friday night, I did not hear a lot of noise from the club. There were sirens from the main street, but it didn't bother us (I think we were just too tired). The hotel mistakenly charged us a few for the snack bar in the final portfolio, which we are still trying to dispute.
I do not think the entire experience was that horrible, but given the amount they charge for the room, it not worth the price or the brand. A hotel room is a hotel room and it is the level of service that sets a hotel apart from another. The room itself was worth 4-star but I knocked off another star simply because it didn't deliver the service/value I expected from W (or any other hotel for the price/category).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello Xfer2,

Thank you for your review. We are at the perfect location in South Beach for a relaxing day at the beach or a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We would like to apologize for the service you received during our check-in. Your comfort is very important to us and we will be sending your feedback to our Hotel Manager to address our Service Culture. We would love to speak with you in regards to your stay and also help with the charge from our Munchie Box. Please send us your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com and we would be happy to help.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It's well-known that W South Beach is not only one of the city's, but also the world's, most beautiful properties, whether as a travel destination or as an event location. But what I was truly blown away by was the level of professionalism and consideration the catering team (particularly Cristina, Isaac and Virginia) has shown me event after event. I started out working with them on various smaller events, each one going off without a hitch. So when deciding on a location for my wedding, W South Beach was our obvious first choice. I expected the same level of sophistication and attention as I received with the other events, only to be even more amazed by how above and beyond Cristina (who is in charge of weddings) went for us. She took time to really understand what our dream wedding would look like and how she could achieve it within our budget. As wedding planning goes, we made her jump through a million hoops, and she did so each time with grace and a smile. My fiancé and I really felt like she was on our side!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello 305andrew,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We were so happy to be able to celebrate your special day with you and your family. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and will be sharing your shout-outs of Cristina and Virginia with our Hotel Manager to share with our Hotel Staff. We hope to welcome you back again soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you need on your next escape.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here in April. The hotel is a great building in a good location w/very good facilities - pool, restaurants, gym, rooms, etc. However, the service is challenging and there is a massive construction project on the building to the south (construction starts promptly at 8am and is very very loud.)

Given the price of the rooms (very expensive) and the cost of everything else (internet $15/day, breakfast is very expensive, dinner for one at the chinese restaurant is $150, laundry, etc, etc) I would have expected professional service and some form of notification about the construction project.

If you stay - make sure you get a room on the North side (even room numbers.)

Room Tip: Get a room high up on the north side. Avoid the rooms on the South side and avoid the rooms over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello DDO89,

Thank you for your review. We do have the perfect beach front location with a short walk to many of South Beach’s attractions. We would like to apologize for the construction noise you experienced during your stay. We are keeping a close eye on the hotel next to us and their construction schedule. We would like to speak with you more in regards to the service you received with us. Please send us your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com and we will get back to you right away.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.