We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Southbeach - Wonderful Getaways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #8 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“W Southbeach - Wonderful Getaways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

What can I say? When it comes to some things in life, especially in South Beach, you get what you pay for. Yes this is a pricey selection so it's not for your typical budget minded, no frills traveler. But if you can splurge, even for a short getaway, THIS IS THE PLACE. The pricing of the hotel automatically narrows the clientele--so you won't need to worry about too much riff raff around and too much drama. You'll always have to deal with whiny, condescending, rude people wherever you go in any station in life--money can't buy class (these are the hotel patrons I'm talking about--not the staff).

Expect prompt, courteous, efficient service with privacy and seclusion. Yes there are some more partying places--but you should look elsewhere if that is your desire. But if you like an easier pace, discreetness, and a relaxing weekend with a splash of great social scene (i.e., the W's rather exclusive night club Wall) then this may be our cup of Early Grey.

So why I love this hotel:
1) Location, Location, Location. You're in South Beach, but far enough from the rat pack to not feel like you're in a tourist trap but close enough of a walking distance to join the night life as you please.
2) The rooms. Not a bad room in sight, all with amazing ocean views, tastefully decorated, and HUGE. The suites are Bah-Na-Nas.
3) The onsite restaurants: Dutch and Mr. Chows (you must visit these venerated outposts) from acclaimed chefs. You would have to travel to NYC or LA to visit these establishments elsewhere.
4) The amenites, spa, and pool.
5) Staff--not that they are at the bottom but I have to rank them some where. But this is a list of "reasons to come here". Staff is more often than not spot on with customer service.

Room Tip: Seriously there really isn't a bad room. Any event the most basic rooms, are considered suites b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello Colin N,

Thank you so much for your feedback from your stay. We take great pride in the service we provide our guests and we will be sharing your response with our team. We hope to welcome you back again very soon and please let us know Whatever/Whenever you may need.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,315
    395
    185
    89
    110
See reviews for
320
811
95
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

So the W has no problem when I eat at The Dutch during the week and spend a lot of money, but I was on my own and wanted to come in for a drink at 1 am on a Friday night and I got escorted away from the front door. I'm a reasonably attractive (and not overweight) woman in my late 30's who was well-dressed - and I was by myself! What harm would it have caused to let me enter?

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello MiaPepita,

Thank you for your feedback. We do appreciate you coming to our hotel and enjoying our restaurants and bars. Our external guests are very important to us like our in-house guests. At night our Living Room Bar becomes very busy and for our guest safety we don’t let as many external guests in to make sure our in-house guests are able to enjoy their hotel. We would love to talk with you more about the service you received if you could email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located on South Beach and our Spectacular room on 4th floor had a beautiful view of the beach. Those were the positives. However we didn't love this hotel mainly because it is ridiculously overpriced and you just leave feeling that you have been ripped off. I think the W could try harder to provide a better guest experience, so that you feel that you are getting the best possible service for the price. A few little things that seem obvious are missing at this hotel e.g. - offering a tour of the hotel, details on nearby restaurants, information on the hotel in your room. We have stayed at the W in Mexico City before and found the same thing - style over substance! Depends on your taste but I would prefer friendly and helpful staff and complimentary water over two plasma screens in your room!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello R0adstar,

Thank you for giving your feedback from your stay. Your experience at our hotel is very important to us. We will be suggesting your idea of a hotel tour to our General Manager to explain all the areas of the hotel. We do have our Concierge Team available to offer you the best customized service for restaurant/reservation based upon your individual needs. We would love to speak with you more about your stay with us if you could please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you wanna be in the center of south beach this is a great location! Love the cool vibe of the W properties and this location delivers. From the oversized sculptures at the entrance art work throughout the hotel - ultra cool. Staff is not extremely friendly or helpful - u are on your own.
It's Miami!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello macignal,

We appreciate your review from your stay. We do have a perfect location in South Beach and beach front access makes it even easier to relax. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay. Your experience with us is very important and we would love to speak with you in regards to the service you received. Please email us with your contact information and we will be in touch with you right away, wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great design, bar and pool. Rooms are the usual over the top W, showing a little wear and stain.

Bathrooms and showers are tremendous, exceptionally well designed. the majority of rooms have a balcony facing the water, which is nice, with comfortable deck chairs.

Staff make a point of being unhelpful and curt. They are not interested in lifting a finger for any but the highest rolling guests.

This is a show piece hotel with show piece employees.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello ChadRogers,

Thank you for giving your feedback from your stay. We do offer some of the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on every room. We value the service we provide our guests and will be taking your review to our General Manager to address. Your experience is very important to us and we would love to speak with you more in regards to the service you received during your stay. Please send us your contact information to wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

You have to wait one hour in front of the reception. Nobody cares about you, it is like you are invisible! I would never stay there again. The service at the breakfast was also terrible! The server forgot an order and my wife was left hungry.... I changed my hotel the day after!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Selim A,

Thank you for writing a review from your stay. We would like to apologize to you and let you know that we do value you as our guest. We take great pride in our service and your review will be sent to our General Manager to address our service culture. We would love to speak with you in regards to your stay and would greatly appreciate if you could please email us at wsobesocial@whotels.com.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had a room on the 15th floor. It was very quiet. Seats did seem to be limited at the pool. I went out to the pool at 10 am and had no problem getting a chair. At around 1:30 pm, people had trouble finding chairs. The food was excellent. I had lunch at the pool and also ordered room service a few times. It is expensive, but at least you aren't paying for icky food. The service was excellent, from the doorman to the servers at the pool, everyone was polite.

On a side note, we found a Italian restaurant right down the street from the W, Sylvano. Best italian food I have had outside of Italy and inexpensive ($14 an entree). I would highly recommend it, if you are looking for a good meal, at a good price, in a casual atmosphere.

Overall, loved the hotel and would come back again.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor, south side of building. Right now there is construction going on next door, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBe, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Ibclear,

Thank you for giving your review from your stay. We do have some of the largest rooms in South Beach with a private balcony on every room. We do have a beautiful pool area but don’t forget to check out our beach only steps away. Having The Dutch as our restaurant gives us the opportunity to share Andrew Carmellini’s creations with our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.