We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than anticipated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #8 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much better than anticipated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights using the starpoints plus cash option. Admittedly, I was somewhat hesitant about staying here given we are both over 40 with our partying days well in the rear-view mirror, so we were unsure if we would be comfortable here based on some of the reviews and feared we would be surrounded by loud drunk 20 year olds. Fortunately, that was all needless worry. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our ocean view room was spotless and well-appointed with two flat screen TV's (no cleanliness problems as reported by others) and the shower was fantastic--huge space, excellent water pressure, several different jet options and Bliss spa products! The hotel location is great--at the North End of South beach and an easy walk to Ocean drive, etc. The boardwalk along the beach is especially pleasant for a morning walk. The room was quiet and we experienced no disruptions. The "living room" and bar area are comfortable and fun. I did not give the hotel five stars for two reasons--1) As mentioned by others, the pool area is entirely too small for the size of the hotel. Probably there is not much they can do about this given the space constraints but, as nice as the pool is, having to get on a wait list for a lounge chair is a bit of a nuisance. Fortunately there is guaranteed space/lounge chairs on the beach--which is also nice--but they charge you extra for an umbrella, which I thought was a bit ridiculous given that you essentially have to sit out there given the restricted space at the pool. 2) The gym, while nice (basketball and tennis courts also available) strangely has no locker room, showers or changing area. We encountered the same thing at the Fontainebleau so perhaps this is some peculiarity of Miami hotels--don't know--but I prefer not to trapse through the hotel smelly and stinky en route back to the room--just a personal thing.

Overall a positive experience however and we would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our rooms and our staff to be lovely. We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the space around the pool as well as no shower availability in the gym's locker room.

Aside from the beach location, we also have the smaller VIP pool and lawn area available for lounging until loungers around the main pool become available.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    395
    185
    90
    110
See reviews for
322
820
96
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great views and location....positive attributes pretty much end there. There seem to be two "classes" of guests...the residents and the hotel guests. The pool area is about 1/3 the size required for the capacity of the hotel, so if you want a pool chair you need to get down there around 7:00am on the weekends according to the pool boys..or you can slip them money to reserve you a seat. However...residents can reserve prime pool and beach chairs while the hotel guests are first come, first serve.

Check where your room is located, if you are a light sleeper this is not the place for you. We were located over 6 floors above the hotel entrance, but when the nightclub finished we were up, listening to the ruckus for about an hour. Also, there is a wind-chime installation in the room which looks cool, but when the a/c blows it rattles all night.

In many ways a dismal stay. So many great true hotels in South Beach, this isn't one of them.

Room Tip: Rooms above the entrance are loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am sorry if you felt inconvenienced by the residents on property. As W South Beach is a 100% condominium hotel, we do have various residents with us year round to enjoy the use of their purchased condominium and the amenities. There is actually a separate area around the pool and beach just for residents, which does not affect the hotel guest's chair availability. I hope this sheds some light and I once again apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your visit.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Well, we spent a few nights there and although the service was first rate at reception and concierge, the team who "look after" the restaurants, pool and beach area really let the side down.

I think we were unlucky, although I have 4 or 5 shocking stories. The upside is that I raised them with the GM on departure and he was horrified and did his best to reassure me of much better service in the future. So, my recommendation if you too are unlucky is "find the GM early" and let him know your issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your Food and Beverage experience was not as exceptional as the rest of your visit, but I am happy that you were able to speak to the Restaurant's General Manager about the challenges you encountered. We hope to welcome you back soon and we are sure that you will have an exceptional food and beverage experience!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

the hotel, the service, the food, the location, the pool ALL AMAZING!!!!! the club "the wall" is amazing, the music and the crowd are great! the bar and nightlife in this hotel definetly exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

So glad your stay rocked the house and we exceeded your expectations! That is always a delight to hear. We look forward to creating fun and exciting memories again on your next visit!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The South Beach W was surprising better in terms of rooms and service than their older NY and LA properties...

Check In: Prompt and efficient - 3 minutes max. Had a floor on the 11th Floor with an ocean view. I requested foam pillows and they were on the bed by the time I got upstairs - nice. The requested newspaper never showed up over 3 days, however, they had complementary copies at the concierge desk in the lobby.

Check Out: Annoying line - I mentioned something to the staff and they immediately checked me out while standing in line.

Room: I'm guessing about 500 - 600 square feet including the patio space for the basic "Wonderful Studio", assortment of larger rooms available. King size bed with large sitting area - El-shaped sectional, bar table (stocked with vodka, gin, liquor etc.), desk, chair, two 42" TVs - one opposite bed, the other in front of the sectional. Outdoor patio had two chairs and a table facing the ocean. Modern design - textured white tile floor, super strong AC - set to 66 degrees. 2 large closets with Safe (on the floor) - a little awkward to bend down.

Bathroom. Two sinks, toilet, Very Large Shower - but no tub. Large white, bright space. Nice towels, kind of skimpy "Bliss" shampoo and conditioner - hard to squeeze out of the bottle. They have a Bliss Spa on the property as well - didn't try it.

Restaurants: We tried Mr. Chow and had food at the pool and on the beach. I would say Mr. Chow has good food (green/garlic shrimp the best), however, extremely pricey and they try to "build" the bill - just like in LA. Don't let them order for your table - way too much food.

The Beach: Awesome! 80 - 85 degrees and a 10 - 15 mph wind off the ocean. Umbrella and two comfortable beach chaise for $12. The beach service is excellent - food is expensive but solid. The water was a little choppy, but very warm - over 80 degrees. Great elevated walkway all down the beach.

Pool: One large main party pool and a separate more sedate pool set off to the side. Again, good beverage and food service - you can have breakfast out there. Plenty of umbrellas and cabanas if you want.

Decor: Very modern, dark wood floors, lots of light - cool - with lots of art. 2 Wharhols by the check in desk (camouflage), a smattering of Damien Hirst (spin art 101), Richard Prince, George Condo (yeach!) and a few others in the bar and restaurant areas.

Fee shuttle: The is a free car service for the South Beach area - but book early else they will all be reserved.

Taxi to Airport: $33 Fixed Price + Tip. 30 minutes.

Room Tip: Get a high floor with ocean facing room - or don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such a descriptive, in depth review of W South Beach. This is great for all future guests to see and we appreciate you taking the time in doing this. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great stay!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What an amazing hotel! Pricey but worth it! I have stayed 3 times at this magnificent oasis feel hotel and enjoyed the beautiful room and patio furnishing, attentive staff and exceptional ambiance and decor. However, last time we were very disappointed that we could not get in into Wall night club in the hotel without paying $3000 for bottle. I believe guests of the hotel should have access to the club! We spend good money in the room, at the pool bar, dined at Dutch, had drinks in The Living Room etc etc. However, , when it comes to a little Dancing, Club is off limits ! Minimum charge of $3000 for a table! Lets face it, a bit pricey for 2 people who just want to dance and stay on premises? What happened to whenever , whatever service for W guests?
Mr. GM, any future plans to let your guests enjoy your night club? Planning my next stay soon!

Room Tip: Request high floor or room towards the ocean, otherwise you will hearing cars and people noises from...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are excited to share a new program that we have recently launched..."The VIP Suites at W South Beach." When booking the VIP Suite Package, your package not only includes items like transportation to and from the airport/hotel and a Nespresso coffee machine in room, but it also includes guaranteed access to Wall at W South Beach. We hope the next time you visit you choose to experience the ultimate, VIP package that we now offer.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

View, staff, location, everything. My husband and i stayed for 4 nights in an amazing suite in 14th floor. This hotel is hip and sophisticated but everyone is well cared for. Beautiful pools and bars, beach access. staff were very helpful eith great local recommendations for lunch and dinner. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

So happy that you had an amazing stay! We are so delighted. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back with us real soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.