We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Priceline.com WHotels.com
and 5 more sites!
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #45 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Cairo
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

View, staff, location, everything. My husband and i stayed for 4 nights in an amazing suite in 14th floor. This hotel is hip and sophisticated but everyone is well cared for. Beautiful pools and bars, beach access. staff were very helpful eith great local recommendations for lunch and dinner. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

So happy that you had an amazing stay! We are so delighted. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you back with us real soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    273
    147
    80
    93
See reviews for
169
517
59
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed there for summer vacation.
I booked another place first for the first few nights....then I walked to the hotel and spoke to the reception if they can help me with my bags in order to move into W.
Yes of course sir, is what you always hear at that place and they really do it then. They had a driver in an Acura who drives you anywhere you want in a radius of 5 miles. So he picked me up, in the car a bottle of water was waiting and he carried my luggage.
After checking into the room in one of the top floors, I thing 17th, I was impressed by the smell and music in the room....everything so perfect....the interior, the view, the service...very professional.
Gym...great, many machines
Beach...great, in front of the hotel
Balcony...big and great view of the sea and Miami skyline
Pool...great, free cold water dispensers to drink
Location...great, at south beach, many shops, restaurants etc.
Breakfast...was extra, but it was good
All in all I had absolutely no problems during that stay, on of the best hotels I have ever stayed in!

Room Tip: Higher floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Sounds like you had an exceptional visit, and that makes us very happy that we fulfilled your wishes and then some for a lovely vacation! We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another vacation!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Defo go for a 1 bed suite, the view from the balcony alone is worth the price but the extra space makes this great, that and its a lot cheaper than the other hotels around it!

The pool is a littel lacking on sunbeds so get their early and reserve them, but the pool attendants are helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you experienced firsthand the beauty that South Beach has to offer, starting with the breathtaking oceanview our suites have to offer. Nothing like waking up in the morning to a gorgeous sunrise and enjoying a beautiful sunset on your balcony. We hope you come back soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice room in decent condition. Good room cleaning service. A kitchenette without any utensils and plates is peculiar. They bring all you request, though. But the calls to the room checking every time you asked for something are plain annoying. If a hotel is good, then they do not have to check anymore!! Disappointing breakfast buffet and gym. Changing the mats in the elevators according to the daytime may be cute, but they would be better served to clean the elevators instead. Same barf spots were there for days... This hotel is trying just too hard to be hip, and they do not succeed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you feel your stay was "nothing to write home about." We strive to make sure that all guests have an exciting and memorable experience, and I apologize this did not happen in your case. I have spoken with my management team regarding your experience so we can improve on our overall quality control. Thank you for taking the time.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from an underwhelming ten day stay at the W South Beach Miami. We previously stayed there two years ago on our honeymoon but unfortunately I consider standards have slipped since then.

We booked a one bedroom suite which was, to say the least, looking tired and in need of some attention and investment. Stains on the soft furnishings, bashed lampshades, scruffy furniture and a poorly stocked kitchen shouldn’t be a feature of a $600/night hotel suite.

The cleanliness of some areas of the suite left a lot to be desired including the terrace, the floors, the venetian blinds, the kitchen etc. In fact the housekeeping staff were one of the worse aspects of the hotel; we would go out for the entire day and come back to find they hadn’t visited at all. When we complained about this they would then turn up to reluctantly make up the room. They also turned up at 10am on a Sunday and basically tried to come straight into the room without knocking, we were not particularly impressed with this. Turn down service was equally random, again delivered with attitude.

Everything about the hotel is expensive, from room service, service by the pool, drinks in the bar, take away coffees, breakfast etc. We already knew this and you can easily opt out of most of this given the plethora of cafes, restaurants and bars nearby.

The clientele of the hotel is a bit of a mixed bag. You get the younger set who stay for two nights and have a blowout and party in their rooms, to some very wealthy individuals who check in with the family, the nanny and the dogs.

One aspect of the hotel which we were very uncomfortable about was that people were openly using drugs on their balconies. The guy below us regularly smoked pot which was just about bearable but the people on the next balcony (who fortunately only stayed two nights) were getting high on something else altogether which involved regularly using a lighter to heat the substance from above; this clearly had the desired effect judging by their declarations of how f****** high they were getting. We didn’t complain about them as we felt intimidated by the situation as it would be pretty obvious it would have been us who reported them.

The hotel can be quite noisy at times, which more or less comes with the location and the clientele. There is a nightclub which also attracts a lot of people late at night so you get the inevitable noise from cars arriving, leaving, revving up their engines etc. The one aspect which I thought was unacceptable (and which I complained about several times) was being woken up by noisy staff who hang about at the front of the hotel and at the staff entrance early in the morning, around 5am or so. Some of these guys appeared to be the valet parking staff, others were just staff having a cigarette break. Lots of shouting which carries up the façade of the hotel and can be really infuriating at that time in the morning.

The condo block adjacent to the block is having a major refurb at the moment and this was also extremely noisy most days.

There are plenty of positives about this hotel ; it has a great location, the public areas and the pool are stunning and there is generally a great vibe in the hotel. Front of house, the staff in The Dutch restaurant, the guys working at the pool were all excellent and couldn’t be more helpful.

We complained about the various matters outlined above to one of the managers and to be fair he dealt with us in a really professional manner. We were given a few courtesy items and some Starwood points which was acceptable and made us feel a bit better about it. We did however spend a lot of money on this holiday and in summary we doubt we will return to the W Southbeach; as we do like the brand however we may well stay at one of their other hotels to see if it is a more positive experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing north will currently have the noise from the adjacent building site during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am highly embarrassed to read of the experience you had while visiting W South Beach. I cannot begin to express my deepest apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had. Illegal substances are not condoned nor allowed, and I will ensure that our security teams are on high alert to make sure that noise is kept at an acceptable level in a legal and safe environment. I am glad that my management team did take very good care of you and was sensitive to the challenges you experienced.

If you travel back to Miami Beach, please let me know.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stunning rooms, beautiful hotel, showers that take some time to work out,
Loved this hotel, but for the price I was disappointed that you had to pay for wifi in the room, ( complimentary in the reception areas.
It attracts a very cool crowd, with lots of hip hop types, and society looking people,
All the rooms have a sea view and a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have shared your suggestion for complimentary internet with W Hotels Worldwide to review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the overall ambiance and vibe of the hotel...so South Beach!

We hope to see you soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having stayed at The Setai and former Ganzevoort in Miami a few years ago, I was a bit worried if the W would hit the mark of our previous trip. It certainly did!

The rooms are simply stunning: large, well laid out, full of light and very peaceful. I was blown away by the rooms. The fact that breakfast is also served in the room as standard, is a real treat on a daily basis.

The pool area is small for the size of the hotel which is ok during the week but you need to get there early at weekends. They do operate a 'wait list' for pool seats at weekends but only if you have an American mobile number. So the people who have travelled the furthest to stay there don't get the chance to use this service - which is pretty weird for an international hotel chain. The poolside menu is decent but I found the menus in all areas of the hotel (apart from room service) somewhat lacking for vegetarians but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby so this wasn't a major issue.

The staff are über friendly and helpful. I requested some bathroom scales (not realising there were some in the room) and they were brought up immediately.

The only issue with the trip was the wifi. Why W don't add $20 to the room rate and 'delight' guests with free wifi - is a mystery? Instead you pay a lot to stay there and feel hacked off as soon as you arrive, being forced to pay for something which is free in most hotels. We paid for wifi in our room and it didn't work in most areas of the Suite & it is also limited to 3 devices.

Stunning hotel, cool vibe, great art, amazing rooms, friendly staff but not sure I could cope with the terrible wifi if I was booking again which is a shame as I think the rooms were actually better than the Setai. But overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We are currently undergoing a large rennovation project for our WIFI and Cell phone reception, we are installing additional repeaters. I have shared your suggestion on charging for WIFI with our Starwood Offices for review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w South Beach Hotel
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Starwood, Prestigia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Expedia and Otel so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.