We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #15 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reading
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Defo go for a 1 bed suite, the view from the balcony alone is worth the price but the extra space makes this great, that and its a lot cheaper than the other hotels around it!

The pool is a littel lacking on sunbeds so get their early and reserve them, but the pool attendants are helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you experienced firsthand the beauty that South Beach has to offer, starting with the breathtaking oceanview our suites have to offer. Nothing like waking up in the morning to a gorgeous sunrise and enjoying a beautiful sunset on your balcony. We hope you come back soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    341
    167
    88
    98
See reviews for
244
657
75
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice room in decent condition. Good room cleaning service. A kitchenette without any utensils and plates is peculiar. They bring all you request, though. But the calls to the room checking every time you asked for something are plain annoying. If a hotel is good, then they do not have to check anymore!! Disappointing breakfast buffet and gym. Changing the mats in the elevators according to the daytime may be cute, but they would be better served to clean the elevators instead. Same barf spots were there for days... This hotel is trying just too hard to be hip, and they do not succeed.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry you feel your stay was "nothing to write home about." We strive to make sure that all guests have an exciting and memorable experience, and I apologize this did not happen in your case. I have spoken with my management team regarding your experience so we can improve on our overall quality control. Thank you for taking the time.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from an underwhelming ten day stay at the W South Beach Miami. We previously stayed there two years ago on our honeymoon but unfortunately I consider standards have slipped since then.

We booked a one bedroom suite which was, to say the least, looking tired and in need of some attention and investment. Stains on the soft furnishings, bashed lampshades, scruffy furniture and a poorly stocked kitchen shouldn’t be a feature of a $600/night hotel suite.

The cleanliness of some areas of the suite left a lot to be desired including the terrace, the floors, the venetian blinds, the kitchen etc. In fact the housekeeping staff were one of the worse aspects of the hotel; we would go out for the entire day and come back to find they hadn’t visited at all. When we complained about this they would then turn up to reluctantly make up the room. They also turned up at 10am on a Sunday and basically tried to come straight into the room without knocking, we were not particularly impressed with this. Turn down service was equally random, again delivered with attitude.

Everything about the hotel is expensive, from room service, service by the pool, drinks in the bar, take away coffees, breakfast etc. We already knew this and you can easily opt out of most of this given the plethora of cafes, restaurants and bars nearby.

The clientele of the hotel is a bit of a mixed bag. You get the younger set who stay for two nights and have a blowout and party in their rooms, to some very wealthy individuals who check in with the family, the nanny and the dogs.

One aspect of the hotel which we were very uncomfortable about was that people were openly using drugs on their balconies. The guy below us regularly smoked pot which was just about bearable but the people on the next balcony (who fortunately only stayed two nights) were getting high on something else altogether which involved regularly using a lighter to heat the substance from above; this clearly had the desired effect judging by their declarations of how f****** high they were getting. We didn’t complain about them as we felt intimidated by the situation as it would be pretty obvious it would have been us who reported them.

The hotel can be quite noisy at times, which more or less comes with the location and the clientele. There is a nightclub which also attracts a lot of people late at night so you get the inevitable noise from cars arriving, leaving, revving up their engines etc. The one aspect which I thought was unacceptable (and which I complained about several times) was being woken up by noisy staff who hang about at the front of the hotel and at the staff entrance early in the morning, around 5am or so. Some of these guys appeared to be the valet parking staff, others were just staff having a cigarette break. Lots of shouting which carries up the façade of the hotel and can be really infuriating at that time in the morning.

The condo block adjacent to the block is having a major refurb at the moment and this was also extremely noisy most days.

There are plenty of positives about this hotel ; it has a great location, the public areas and the pool are stunning and there is generally a great vibe in the hotel. Front of house, the staff in The Dutch restaurant, the guys working at the pool were all excellent and couldn’t be more helpful.

We complained about the various matters outlined above to one of the managers and to be fair he dealt with us in a really professional manner. We were given a few courtesy items and some Starwood points which was acceptable and made us feel a bit better about it. We did however spend a lot of money on this holiday and in summary we doubt we will return to the W Southbeach; as we do like the brand however we may well stay at one of their other hotels to see if it is a more positive experience.

Room Tip: The rooms facing north will currently have the noise from the adjacent building site during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am highly embarrassed to read of the experience you had while visiting W South Beach. I cannot begin to express my deepest apologies for the less than satisfactory stay you had. Illegal substances are not condoned nor allowed, and I will ensure that our security teams are on high alert to make sure that noise is kept at an acceptable level in a legal and safe environment. I am glad that my management team did take very good care of you and was sensitive to the challenges you experienced.

If you travel back to Miami Beach, please let me know.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stunning rooms, beautiful hotel, showers that take some time to work out,
Loved this hotel, but for the price I was disappointed that you had to pay for wifi in the room, ( complimentary in the reception areas.
It attracts a very cool crowd, with lots of hip hop types, and society looking people,
All the rooms have a sea view and a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I have shared your suggestion for complimentary internet with W Hotels Worldwide to review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and the overall ambiance and vibe of the hotel...so South Beach!

We hope to see you soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Having stayed at The Setai and former Ganzevoort in Miami a few years ago, I was a bit worried if the W would hit the mark of our previous trip. It certainly did!

The rooms are simply stunning: large, well laid out, full of light and very peaceful. I was blown away by the rooms. The fact that breakfast is also served in the room as standard, is a real treat on a daily basis.

The pool area is small for the size of the hotel which is ok during the week but you need to get there early at weekends. They do operate a 'wait list' for pool seats at weekends but only if you have an American mobile number. So the people who have travelled the furthest to stay there don't get the chance to use this service - which is pretty weird for an international hotel chain. The poolside menu is decent but I found the menus in all areas of the hotel (apart from room service) somewhat lacking for vegetarians but there are plenty of other places to eat nearby so this wasn't a major issue.

The staff are über friendly and helpful. I requested some bathroom scales (not realising there were some in the room) and they were brought up immediately.

The only issue with the trip was the wifi. Why W don't add $20 to the room rate and 'delight' guests with free wifi - is a mystery? Instead you pay a lot to stay there and feel hacked off as soon as you arrive, being forced to pay for something which is free in most hotels. We paid for wifi in our room and it didn't work in most areas of the Suite & it is also limited to 3 devices.

Stunning hotel, cool vibe, great art, amazing rooms, friendly staff but not sure I could cope with the terrible wifi if I was booking again which is a shame as I think the rooms were actually better than the Setai. But overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We are currently undergoing a large rennovation project for our WIFI and Cell phone reception, we are installing additional repeaters. I have shared your suggestion on charging for WIFI with our Starwood Offices for review.

We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have been travelling around the world with my boyfriend and we stayed in very nice hotels (Westin - Toronto, The Grange - London, The Cosmopolitan - Las Vegas, Bel Air - LA, etc...) and W hotel in Miami had the worst service of all. Be ready that they automatically charge you 20% gratuity but the service is terrible - we both had bad experiences with the staff especially in THE DUTCH restaurant. I would never expect such an unfriendly attitude from staff in a five star hotel. No one took our complaint seriously untill we spoke to the General Manager, so let's hope he did something about this. But the rooms are really nice, so is the pool & beach area. But when you go on vacation, you want to have a nice time. You don't want to be dealing with rude bar tenders and waiters and spend your time complaining (as only the General Manager seems to take it seriously). That really ruins your experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn that you did not have an exceptiona experience at The Dutch. I spoke with the GM of the Food and Beverage outlets and he did confirm speaking with you and utilizing your feedback to improve the overall quality of service. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

What a terrific hotel. A bit north of the major hustle and bustle, but one can still walk to nightlife. I had a terrific room with a nice balcony and beach/ocean views. There was a lot of social activity; the folks in the room next door smoked mon their balcony, but the breeze blew it away from my room, and it wasn't a bother. The room itself was quite nice--I especially liked the microwave and save in the minibar for my own stuff. Two flat screens on one wall was a bit odd, but made for great sports viewing. The bathroom was amazing--the shower must have had four or five different jets. The shower drain was a bit slow, however.

Room service was very pricey, and the server failed to bring silverware. In addition, the towels were a bit threadbare. However, the comfortable bed and amazing views made up for any minor inconveniences. I'd stay again in a minute!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you had a great stay and it makes us even happier to hear that you'd come back "in a minute!" We can't wait to welcome you back and hope you can come for pleasure this next time versus business so you can enjoy all of the wonderful amenities W South Beach has to offer!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.