We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel , close to amenities and within walking distance of the main attractions
Room was unbelievable and so clean , and trendy
Staff were helpful but did look at you in terms of status , money talks if you get what I mean
To quick to enrolled you in the Starwood programme
Pool area was great and service was excellent
Would recommend it due to the rooms , view and location

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and our facilities! Thank you for sharing your full experience on trip advisor, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back sooner vice later!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    338
    167
    88
    98
See reviews for
243
651
74
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were transiting through Miami to have a break to our cross Atlantic long haul flight. We arrived late at the hotel and found no bell boy to assist with our luggage. Finally we got the friendly lady at reception to find someone to help us. The restaurants were closed. To begin with there was no room service menu. We called and asked for it and it took forever to get it. After we finally ordered, the food did not arrive or an hour. At 1 am in the morning, my sweet wife decided to fall asleep Hungary. On investigating, we found they forgot about our order and asked for it again. They gave us some lame excuse on how the pizza oven was broken. Ultimately they delivered us a salad on the house after 2 hours but I felt bad that my wife slept without dinner that night. I m a sPG member and love W chain but this was a true dampener to the loyalty I had begun to build for the brand.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn that your short visit with us was less than exceptional and that you did not have a room service menu in your room, as well as the in room dining order taking 2 hours for delivery. Please know that this is not a usual occurence and we hope that you give us another opportunity to showcase our hotel to you so you can experience what Starwood hotels are known for.

We apologize once again.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

After researching many hotels to find a place that offered a spacious room with an ocean view & balcon, we carefully chose the W South Beach. I read every word of the room description from their website & watched the virtual tour video to be sure we were booking the room type we were looking for. In fact the first word listed under standard amenities is "Ocean view". We made our reservation months in advance & upgraded to a Fabulous Suite weeks prior to arrival. Upon check-in the front desk handed us our key and said, "here is the key to your full ocean front view room". Exciting right? Well not so much. Our room was located on the 3rd floor with a "full" tree top filled view. Not ONE little peek of the ocean, yep just trees! We promptly called the front desk and explained we wanted a different room. We were told since our room was on the 3rd floor, the trees tend to block the view. Really? Why and How in the world can you advertise an ocean view room that doesn't have an ocean view?!! We were told there may be ONE room available, but we were going to have to wait for it to be "restyled". That took hours! After going back and forth with the front desk, who at this point was not very friendly or eager to assist us, offered us a room one floor up. They did offer us one other room that was much smaller at a higher price. Finally we settled into our room, 4th floor. Ok view, but hey at least we could see the water. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is luke warm and be prepared to pay for everything. Two drinks by the pool, $43. Wi-Fi did not work in the room. I had a better experience at the Gansevoort (now The Perry).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that you were not pleased with your initial room assignment and that our staff was "luke warm." I appreciate you providing us with the details of your visit so this way I can use this information for quality control and to ensure that we are giving our guests accurate information and providing exceptional service.

Thank you again.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Modern hotel, nice location, extremely few rooms with 2 beds(only handicap), nice lobby, bar on first floor is comfortable but the wine list is very pricey. The toilet leaked and the WiFi didn't always work.

Room Tip: If you want cell reception, ask to be on the South facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Trip Advisor. We are currently under a major project adding more cell repearters throughout the building to increase cell and wifi connection. We hope the next time you visit you will notice a significant difference. We hope to see you soon!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravina in Puglia, Italy
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm frequently in Florida for leisure and work, visited so many. This is now outstanding. Great place, great views on the ocean, excellent service, only a little bit expensive eating by the pool. Definitively a must in south beach at the moment. really reccomended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and that you frequent Florida for business and pleasure! We can't wait to welcome you back!

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed at The W for a week in September with my two daughters in a two bedroom suite with a large balcony. Unfortunately people smoking on the balconies of the rooms above us continuously dropped their cigarette butts and ash on to our balcony, which could cause injury or a fire. One day my daughter was sitting on the sofa on the balcony when a used condom was dropped by her foot! I called housekeeping to remove it, but received no apology or follow up from management. When I mentioned this on checkout, I just received a very inane "I'm sorry, have a nice day". Another problem with this hotel is at the swimming pool, the loungers are so close together it is very intimate. One minute you are relaxing on your lounger and the next you have someone smoking a huge cigar and blowing smoke all over you. Not very pleasant!

Having said all that, our room was amazing, the service in the restaurants and the pool was excellent and the pool was always inviting. Don't think I would return. I would look for a hotel with a non smoking in public areas policy.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincerest apologies that you experienced continuous inconveniences with cigarettes and cigarette smoke and items being dropped from upstairs balconies. I have discussed your experience with my Director of Housekeeping to ensure that our team does their best to ensure all balconies are cleaned to perfection.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I won't go into the full details of my recent debacle at the W South Beach. In short, I was staying there for one night on business. Beware, the WiFi doesn't work in certain rooms, the room being the first one I was put in. They changed my room and then there was a loud banging coming from the A/C every thirty minutes. I notified reception on my way out to dinner and they assured me they would have it fixed. At 11:30 as my head hit the pillow, there went the banging. I tried to sleep with it and successfully slept to 4:30. At 5am I called Whenever, Wherever, got the snarkiest manager, Jason who sent up a technician. The tech guy was WELL AWARE of the issue, as it happens all the time and said that the A/C needed to be permanently set to 60, or freezing. Jason barely apologized, gave me a reduced rate. For the one night of sleep I needed before my business meeting, the W didn't come close to cutting it. If you're here on business and want to be treated with respect, do not stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to deeply apologize for the lack of sleep and service you recieved while staying at our hotel. Please know this is not the way we service our guests, and I have addressed your review with the appropriate departments to ensure that all of our rooms are in perfect condition upon check in and that the service our associates provides is above exceptional.

Once again we apologize for your experience.

Best,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.