We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So bad do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #20 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So bad do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

We were treated so poorly here. The service here is second rate and we have been treated like an inconvenience to the staff. Don't stay here. Lesley

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to learn that you had a less than perfect experience staying with us. Our staff is trained to provide nothing short of exceptional service and I apologized we did not deliver. If your travels bring you back to Miami Beach please let us know and we would love to show you that we can and will provide the type of service you expect to recieve from W Hotels Worldwide.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    321
    162
    86
    97
See reviews for
235
611
64
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This is The W South Beach – Set your expectations right. If you are looking for a family vacation, don’t stay here. I wouldn’t even recommend Miami unless you want to subject your kids to crazy partying and men in speedos. (The later nobody should be subject to) Ft Lauderdale may be more your style, or the Marriott on Marco Island.

This a W hotel. The “see and be seen” crowd stays here, so expect high prices. For some reason, this crowd thinks spending $16 on a Bacardi and Coke tastes better than the same drink $6 elsewhere or $13 for a fifth at home. Expect to feel out of place in your old t-shirt and ball cap at the pool. I neither enjoy seeing nor being seen, but I expected this going into the weekend holiday. I still had a good time. It was an experience. It helps that my room was free from an SPG promotion. Still, the steep prices were hard to swallow.

On the pluses, expect excellent service. You paid for it right? From the hotel reception to the Whatever / Whenever (concierge for us less cool) to the towel service at the pool to the servers, service more than met expectations. I did read several complaints about the service, but I don’t think any of them were warranted. You see, this “see and be seen” crowd thinks they are better than everyone else. While they were pitching a fit and throwing temper tantrums about not getting a seat at the pool, we simply smiled and treated the staff with respect. And guess what? They always bumped us to the top of the list and found us seats! It’s called human dignity. This crowd needs some.

The hotel itself was well appointed stylewise. It was fancy, swanky, chic, all you would expect. Our Spectacular Studio was spacious and comfortable with a great view of the ocean. Perfect for sipping a Bud Light Lime purchased across the street from the CVS. We enjoyed the style of the room so much that we took notes for a remodel we had going on at home.

On the negative side, the hotel is too big for the facilities and services it has to offer. Want to use the Acura Experience Car Service? Get on the waiting list. Want a seat at the pool? Get on the waiting list. Of course, every guest is guaranteed a seat at the beach.

The only other issue we had was a pitcher of beverages left in the desk drawer in our room by a previous guest. We called the front desk to have it removed. They did with no problem at all and sent us a fresh fruit plate.

I give this hotel a four star rating only because it was too big for its facility. Everything else I expected. This is The W, not a Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

South Beach is definitely a place where many people like to see and be seen, you are very correct on that observation. This is what attracts many visitors to the city, and it can also steer visitors at the same time if it becomes too overwhelming.

We are happy that you enjoyed the facilities and the service provided to you by our staff, which we do not expect to be less than exceptional.

We do hope to see you back with us in the near future!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Stayed here for a few day, had done so many times in the past. This time however things are looking a bit shabby.

No Internet in the room at all it took 2 days before they believed me and installed a router

No restaurant for breakfast, the new one opened and didn't even have bacon on the buffet

We had someone else's welcome letter delivered to the room, the news apaer never turned up.

The room had some pain patches on the wall, why not paint the whole wall, it looks shabby

We had to get the bedding changed it smelt musty, and the turndown never checked the room,

Rooms are never ready when you check in and they always put you on a brief hold when you call. Even when you do get your room it's not been prepared correctly, blown light bulbs, not spoons inthe kitchenette etc small things but details for this price.

Whatever whenever. Oops never

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you have in the past. We appreciate your feedback and will use your experience as quality control for our staff as well as future guests.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
430 helpful votes 430 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We had a very nice stay. The rooms are stunning and as a Platinum SPG we were upgraded to a suite. Check-in with Dominique was enjoyable and smooth. She set the tone for our stay. The hotel design is typical W and beautiful. As the room wasn't ready we were told to use the pool and offered a day room if we needed it. After a quick walk to Starbucks we were back to enjoy the facilities. The suite we were given was perfect. Two plasma tvs/entertainment systems, iPod, wireless internet and thick oversized bath sheets. Bliss toiletries. An over the top mini bar and equally over the top prices. I would suggest going to the store a block away to stock the room. The oversized bathroom is swathed in marble and the bed linens are wonderful Egyptian sheeting.
The pool area is bustling, at least on the weekends, with a private exit to the beach. The servers were quick. We looked at the menu for Mr. Chow the only restaurant and opted to eat elsewhere. South Beach is a treasure trove of restaurants and we weren't feeling like eating on property. We did not use the spa, though we plan to on a future trip.
The workout area is very new, large and perfect for what we desired. The lobby area is great to relax. Every question or request we had was promptly dealt with. In the morning our valet was somewhat slow, but there was a lot going on and we understood. There's supposedly a basketball court and tennis but we did not see it. Nor did we use the complimentary Acura car service. The hotel is a few blocks from the bustling bar areas some people might want to go, but with the car service it's a breeze, or just walk and enjoy the area.
South Beach is vibrant and this hotel, the architecture and amenities is a great addition. They could use another restaurant, but other than that we had no complaints in the slightest.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the wonderful review! But it sounds like you missed out on so many more features the hotel has to offer, as you mentioned like Bliss Spa, The Acura Service, tennis and basketball courts...

You must come back soon to experience the full resort! We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This property was our last stay in Florida which included over a week in Orlando at various resorts. It was easily the BEST room we had on our entire trip. The front desk staff was absolutely fantastic and we had a member of their team at our disposal for our entire stay - he was exceptional.

We were upgraded to a two bedroom three (3!!) bathroom suite (we were only two guys) and it was amazing. The style of the hotel was very much to our liking and its location right on the beach was perfect.

There were only two little things that kept me from giving this property a perfect 5. Firstly, it was FULL of kids. And not just any kids. We spent a full week at Disney and the most poorly behaved kids during our entire stay in Florida were at this property. Not sure if it was because they were spoiled brats (I mean, this is HARDLY a family hotel), but it was a little annoying to have the lobby of the hotel bustling with kids running around when the image of W is chic and ultra cool. This is not the fault of the hotel of course, but it was something we found a little annoying.

The other minor issue is that we bought a package deal that afforded us some free stuff, but as I understand it, as a new package, getting some of the products/services was a little more difficult. We ended up being charged for certain items, which were removed at check out, but added AGAIN later on my credit card. Got this cleared up a few weeks later, so no harm no foul, but the entire experience was just another little annoyance.

Apart from that, we were pleased with the property and would probably stay here again. Well done.

Room Tip: I think most rooms afford pretty spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your trip and your upgraded room!

Please let us know when you decide to come back we would love to see you again!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel does not honor SPG Platinum members late check out request & have guess check out by 11am!!!

Room Tip: upper floors beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry we could not accomodate your request for a late check out. We are happy to honor a late check out based on the hotel's availability and we hope you come back and visit us soon.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We decided to go to the W South Beach for our Anniversary. the room was just sleek, classy, fantastic, the bathroom was beautiful too. The satff knew about our anniversary and sent us an ammenity. W's in general are a cool crowd environment, this is increased in the legendary south beach spot. We had dinner at Mr chow one of the legendary chinese food spots, It is definetely worth it. Ah !Dont go there if you want to be close to the tourist trap of ocean drive, this is in a much better northern spot.

Room Tip: ask for water view or corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to had a great stay with us! It is wonderful to hear. Hope to see you back with us soon!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.