We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of cool but just missed out on perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Epitome of cool but just missed out on perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This property was our last stay in Florida which included over a week in Orlando at various resorts. It was easily the BEST room we had on our entire trip. The front desk staff was absolutely fantastic and we had a member of their team at our disposal for our entire stay - he was exceptional.

We were upgraded to a two bedroom three (3!!) bathroom suite (we were only two guys) and it was amazing. The style of the hotel was very much to our liking and its location right on the beach was perfect.

There were only two little things that kept me from giving this property a perfect 5. Firstly, it was FULL of kids. And not just any kids. We spent a full week at Disney and the most poorly behaved kids during our entire stay in Florida were at this property. Not sure if it was because they were spoiled brats (I mean, this is HARDLY a family hotel), but it was a little annoying to have the lobby of the hotel bustling with kids running around when the image of W is chic and ultra cool. This is not the fault of the hotel of course, but it was something we found a little annoying.

The other minor issue is that we bought a package deal that afforded us some free stuff, but as I understand it, as a new package, getting some of the products/services was a little more difficult. We ended up being charged for certain items, which were removed at check out, but added AGAIN later on my credit card. Got this cleared up a few weeks later, so no harm no foul, but the entire experience was just another little annoyance.

Apart from that, we were pleased with the property and would probably stay here again. Well done.

Room Tip: I think most rooms afford pretty spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your trip and your upgraded room!

Please let us know when you decide to come back we would love to see you again!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    408
    194
    92
    111
See reviews for
366
866
105
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (560)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
169 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel does not honor SPG Platinum members late check out request & have guess check out by 11am!!!

Room Tip: upper floors beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry we could not accomodate your request for a late check out. We are happy to honor a late check out based on the hotel's availability and we hope you come back and visit us soon.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We decided to go to the W South Beach for our Anniversary. the room was just sleek, classy, fantastic, the bathroom was beautiful too. The satff knew about our anniversary and sent us an ammenity. W's in general are a cool crowd environment, this is increased in the legendary south beach spot. We had dinner at Mr chow one of the legendary chinese food spots, It is definetely worth it. Ah !Dont go there if you want to be close to the tourist trap of ocean drive, this is in a much better northern spot.

Room Tip: ask for water view or corners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so happy to had a great stay with us! It is wonderful to hear. Hope to see you back with us soon!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I'm not a fan of the compulsory Service added to the bill @ 15%, but that said, the service at the W was generally very good.
The hotel is very busy and it didn't help that there was only 1 restaurant operating, but it didnt feel overbearing which some W's can. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable.

My advice on airport transfers is to take a taxi, they aren't that bad and it will save you about $100. Next advice is do not dine on Ocean Drive - it's vastly over-rated and way too expensive, with average service. Last tip - there is a Big Bus tour that is worth taking - gives you a great perspective on Miami.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. I am glad you liked the hotel and you found the service to be great.

Please be sure to come back and visit us so you can try our new and improved Restaurant "The Dutch."

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just checked in for my three day holiday at the W hotel in Sobe. First off, all of the staff looks like they need to go back to their high school as everyone looks fresh out of school. The location is in a bad neighborhood with nothing close by. Not even a Starbucks, within walking distance! There is no lounge for suite/platinum spg members for a 500 dollar a night stay. The positive note is the room is very nice. However, one of the bedding outside my room was covered in mold. As a simple replacement, they decided to wash it while I wait for two hours. They needed to replace a light in the bathroom as it was burn out. When I took my shower this afternoon, they forgot to replace the shampoos which were half used. I am from Vegas as compared to a room on the strip, it would be maybe 150 per night minus the balcony. I would look else where for my return trip to Miami. Thank you poor service W staff! I had to make many phone calls to get the jobs done. Goodby spg platinum, hello Hyatt diamond! At lease if I stay in a Hyatt hotel, they would given me a nice breakfast (without a lounge). I won't be surprise if this hotel will be replaced by another hotel company in the next year or two. Just like the W in Honolulu. Bad location. (I'm only 27 years old so I know what's in and what's out-not by about the students working at this hotel) maybe there's an on location classroom where we don't know about ;) )

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am so sorry that you were not content with the location of the hotel and our nearby surroundings. I also want to apologize that you did not feel comfortable with the age group of our staff.

We hope that you do give us another chance when your travels bring you back to South Beach.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

To begin with, it was our first visit to the W at South Beach...The hotel is a classic W hotel in many ways, but much more beautiful than we had expected. Everything from the furnishings to the look and feel of the hotel, there was something more than most other W hotels offer. What impressed us the most beyond the cleanliness, style and warmth of the hotel, is the staff! We were immediately impressed with the quality of service we received from the Guest Services Representative Dayanna who received us in the lobby, to the pool-side service we received from Jennie and Rebecca. All three were utterly genuine, charming, warm and welcoming...They worked very well as a team, communicated each Guest's needs with each other, and ensured that each Guest was 'touched' personally...So much so, that we ended up extending our stay for another day and ultimately, another night.

Dayanna, arranged and book kite-surfing for my Husband, all while we enjoyed our cocktails pool-side, and then came to personally deliver our room keys to us on the beach so that we can go straight to our room without having to visit the front desk on our way back from the kite-surfing and beach-This was indeed very thoughtful of her, and beyond our expectation.

The same great service continued when we checked in to our room-the manner and approach of the house-keeping staff who came to do the turn-down service, to the private dining staff who we interacted with, all had the same genuine, caring manner, and made us feel like they truly were there to make our stay even more pleasant. There was a lot of 'pride of ownership' among the W team at South Beach-this is very rare quality in this industry, and we applaud the Hotel Management for creating such a strong culture where each staff member felt personally responsible for a great hotel stay.

It goes without saying that the room was beautifully appointed, tastefully assembled and had a gorgeous view. I especially enjoyed the sound that the shell-chandeliar chimed when the breeze flowed through the room...although it was a cosmoplitan-feeling room, this sound reminded us that we were right on the beach.

Thank you W, for making our honeymoon so much more than we anticipated it would be!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room ending with 27, it faced west, and had a beautiful unobstructed beach and water-vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!! Congratulations on your recent marraige, we hope to welcome you back for your first wedding anniversary to create some more fun and memorable times!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We spent 3 nights here; the service was excellent and the facilities superb. Style everywhere, you need to like modern though.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WSoBeGM, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Delighted to know you liked our exclusive chick, South Beach Style and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 685 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Prestigia so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.