We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, super friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added W South Beach to your Saves list
W South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #5 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Great hotel, super friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

First time at the W South Beach, and it definately will not be my last.
Check in was quick and friendly, Amber was very helpful. Our room(1423) a standard room with a direct ocean view was beautiful. Great sized rooms. As an SPG plat, i get to see a lot of hotels, and this one is definately on the top of my list. The room was spotless. Lovely balcony with very confortable chairs. Lots of very nice contempory art throughout the hotel. The staff, whether at the door or just passing by, was extremely friendly. The outdoor area is very nice. Good cocktails at the bar. Nice big pool, and a small, more private pool for those who prefer a more intimate setting. The hotel is right on the beach, and there is also a nice boardwalk, great for those who enjoy walking. Had a sandwich outside at Wet, the pool bar, and honestly the only negative thing i can post is the fries were cold, and i asked the waiter if he could heat them up a bit, which granted he did, but he did not bother to look at us or say anything to us when he picked up the plate, or when he returned with the hot fries. Considering they charge a 20% service charge, there's no incentive for the wait staff to provide service, and that's not acceptable. I was there for my birthday, and i was sent a small box of chocolates and a bottle of water, along with card card, signed by the Whatever/Whenever team. Very nice touch. Loved the hotel and it's atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor!

And a happy birthday to you! Thank you for sharing your special birthday with us, and I am so glad that our team created a memorable experience for you, especially as an SPG Platinum Member. I am sorry to learn the service outside was less than exceptional...we invite you to come back and I can assure we will not disappoint this time around!

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,477
    409
    194
    92
    111
See reviews for
370
868
105
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I am a Starwood Platinum and have been for several years. In my travels, I mostly enjoy visitint many of the Starwood locations throughout the world. The South Beach W hotel will stand out as one of the finer hotels I have been to, Finally! someone has a good employee staffing model in place and it works like a fine watch. Every employee says helo and offers assistance for everything you do. I did not note an understaff position in the hotel.

My trip to the pool and beach was excellent. There are friendly people stationed in the righ places to look out for guest comfort and security.

The beach food was excellent and served well. They bring it to you on nice wood trays and keep your drink refilled all afternoon.

The hotel is about a year old and it looks good as new. The restaurant is good for at least one meal. I suggest breakfast. The entire neighborhood is filled with world class restaurants and a lively crowd to support them. I will stay at the W every time I am in Miami from now on.

Room Tip: all rooms have view of water. Good architect designed the building. There are no rooms with a bad vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

So amazing you had such a great stay, and it sounds like you used all of our main facilities to their fullest!!! There is nothing like the beaches of the Atlantic, in the heart of South Beach, and it is great to know we are your number 1 destination spot in Miami. We can't wait to welcome you back!!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Rooms are amazing. Some are actually two bedroom apartments. I'e stayed here countless times and will always go back. Concierge will get you into the best places. The pool is fun and one of the best clubs in terms of fun Wall is on the property. Book in advance as this hotel is always sold out.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views. Ask for rooms located in the 20 stack above the 14th floor. If you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

So happy you enjoyed your visit...not only do we have 2 bedroom suites, we also have 3 bedroom suites, as part of our 15 category room type selection. We encourage you to try a little variety each time you visit to help you decide which unit you like best, which would be a tough decision because they are all great!! Can't wait to see you soon.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My fiance and I stayed at the W South Beach for our anniversary and we were so happy with our choice! This hotel is very luxurious and the staff members treat you like royalty! The rooms are beautiful with marble throughout the bathrooms and a very modern decor. The room service is a little expensive, but the food is to die for! DELICIOUS!!! We celebrated our anniversary at Mr. Chow restaurant right next to the W South Beach and it was AMAZING! Very convenient to dine there for a special occasion because it is connected to the hotel. You can't go wrong staying at this hotel! A+++++

Room Tip: Request a room in the high floors for a better view and more peace and quiet! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.

Happy Anniversary! Such a special occasion and am delighted to know we did not disappoint. We hope to welcome you back post marriage for your honeymoon and many more anniversaries to come! Congratulations!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My partner and I had an amazing time during our stay.

Friendly staff, they upgraded our room, we had ocean and city views.

We loved the huge shower ;)

Only negative was that as SPG gold members they wouldn't allow us to have a late check out.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am so happy you and your partner enjoyed your room, especially the roomy shower!

We do our best to accomodate late check out for our valued SPG guests, and we are happy to accomodate this request as the hotel's availability permits, and I apologize we could not grant it to you and your partner on this visit.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The W South Beach.....Visited with my girls memorial day weekend 2011. I have to say this hotel is top notch. Starting with the red carpet roped off entrance. I felt like a celebrity. The Fabulous suite was clean and beautiful. The staff was very helpful and nice especially the security. When it was time to leave I did not want to go. You best to believe When I come back May 2012, I will only stay at one place and that is The W South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

So happy you enjoyed the red carpet royal treatment, as every guest to us is a celebrity! We would be DELIGHTED to host you and your girls every memorial day weekend from hereon out! Can't wait to see you soon!

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Was there for the HD Expo show for 3 nights 9/11-9/14 room # 1718 and paid $409 per night plus tax they did not honor the negiotated rate of $229 + tax.Went through 2 desk clerks to try fix the problem but then was reffered to Caroline Bertrand who could only authorize this rate change.Waited because she was with another guest,after 53 minutes asked if she was available the desk clerk said she is with someone else and yet I was next in line and had to leave or miss my flight.As a SPG member talking to me and resolving the issue is critical than hiding or telling me to talk to someone at On Peak housing dept.Seems they they are just money hungry and once they get it care about your stay.They clearly lack customer service skills and how to resolve issues and should be sent back to training including Caroline for her ignorance.I am still waiting to hear from her to resolve this rate discrepancy.

Room Tip: solve the issues you may have before checking out otherwise they dont care and will not call you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at W South Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am in disbelief to read of your less than perfect check in experience with our welcome staff and with Caroline. Please contact me immediately at gm.wsobe@whotels.com to get this rectified as I want to make sure we turn your experience around.

Best Regards,

W SoBe GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#4 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#10 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#17 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W South Beach

Address: 2201 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The W South Beach, wake up to spectacular sunrises over the Atlantic or wind down to scenic sunsets in 395 rooms and bungalows featuring the best of resort living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Starwood, getaroom.com and Prestigia so you can book your W South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
w Hotels Miami Beach
w Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.