We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savor Life Slowly- That's what life is about” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SLS South Beach to your Saves list
SLS South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Now & Save 30%!
Ranked #30 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Savor Life Slowly- That's what life is about”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Me and my best friend went to Miami for our annual girl cation.. and SLS was just what we needed! The staff is absolutely amazing, Priya their guest services manager is an absolute sweetheart and really took care of us the whole time we were there. One day we were sick, and she even sent orange juice to the room with a cute card. Leo, the beach manager is so accommodating, and just everyone throughout the hotel really goes out of their way to help you out. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated, the pool is amazing and i love the fact that is separate from Hyde Beach so you don't have to join the crazy pool party.
Our only recommendation was the room service menu is extremely small and limited, and its almost the same menu for the restaurant downstairs. So for the 4 nights we stayed, we ordered in 3 nights, and we were tired of the same 4 items. So a little more variety would make this hotel more amazing than it is.

Thank you so much guys for everything, you made our vacation perfect!!!
Alejandra and Vicci

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    168
    66
    50
    53
See reviews for
62
330
48
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We can’t stop talking about what a fabulous, swanky time we had in Miami – and it was all because of the SLS, more importantly, the SLS staff. From the moment we booked our trip back in May, until we checked out, we were “wow-ed” by the attention to detail and the desire by the staff to go above and beyond – regardless of the size of the request. And we had many requests – all weekend long.
We were a group of 13, celebrating my husband’s 40th birthday, so it was important for us to do some advanced planning, as we didn’t want to deal with hassle of waiting in lines and ensuring we got reservation when we wanted them. Andy Dulac, the nighlife concierge, went out of his way to ensure that every place we booked was exactly what we wanted – there were weeks of us deliberating on where to go, he was our go-to-guide – always providing options, good minimums on table service, etc. While we were in Miami, we were waffling on places, he didn’t flinch – and got us in to the places we wanted to go with the best deals – that’s service! He even met us out once for dinner to make sure everything was going smoothly – never had a concierge do that before.
From the moment we checked in, they provided us with champagne and a delicious plate of charcuterie in our suite. Later, we found a bottle of wine and fresh fruit with a birthday card from the SLS staff – all of these gestures had a big impact (thank you, Jamie Bowling). On Saturday, Andy set us up with two cabanas – with impeccable service from Ana and Bianca, so friendly, so warm – both of them. It’s not easy dealing with such a big group and our requests – and they did so - always with a smile or a “sure, no problem.” The key is to get a cabana near the main guest pool and then walk over to the crazy, debauchery happening at the be-seen, boisterous Hyde Park pool party. What a spectacle. At 3 different moments, there were champagne sprays – this is when the party goes to another level, having 10 waiters get on the shoulders of other waiters, and they come spray everyone at the party with tons of bottles of champagne (not to drink but merely to get wet). Nuts.
Vicky Reyes, was exceptional, she went out of her way to get my computer hooked up in my room so I could play a special video for my husband and friends. They don’t specialize in AV-set up, so her creativity and desire to make sure everything went off with a smoothly, was impressive. She even made calls to friends who were IT specialists to make sure all of the technology was set up appropriately – who does that?? No one usually. Vicky did. We also wanted to place champagne bottles in the rooms of each of our guests – Vicky had some creative ideas, and made it happen without a hitch!
On Saturday night, we were quickly ushered into Hyde Park Lounge, very exclusive, very quintessential SoBe, sexy, etc. We originally got an outdoor table, but decided we wanted to be inside (better vibe), and it happened immediately, usually people would be turned down with such a request, but not in our case. The service was fantastic – Jenna, James, Dimitri, the shot mixer. They have a person who comes around to each table with a roll-around bar with fun, fresh mix-ins mint, fruit, etc to make “fresh shots.”
SLS has thought of everything to surprise and delight their guests – an over-the-top experience. Everyone greeted us with a smile or a “do you need anything, how can I help you?” In a helpful, not in an annoying, intrusive way. It felt effortless on their part – that’s hard to do. Even the private driver was helpful. The food at Jose Andres was delicious. The laid-back, intimate, yet posh vibe of the outdoor dining area was exactly the tone were looking for with our group – we spent hours just hanging out and feeling fabulous.
The SLS suite is worth the $1100 (pre-paid in advance) – it’s actually a great deal. It’s 2 rooms combined in one – one bedroom area, one suite with long table, couch, and a very large roofdeck patio with hip outdoor furniture – perfect for a large group to hangout.
My husband and I -- and our friends have stayed all of the world at some high-end hotels – but nothing beat the service here, bar none. We truly felt like VIPs all weekend. Thank you SLS! If you are looking to be transported to St. Tropez, parts of Europe, St,. Barths, a bit of LA, a little vegas - all in one lavish, luxurious, uber cool destination - and want to celebrate a special event with a group -- this is the place to book.

Room Tip: SLS suite was amazing -- with huge rooftop deck, heard it was better than other suite that overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed sunday the 3rd of August 2014.
Had a great experience, first the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Vicky was great.
We spent the day at Hyde. The beach club of the hotel. The staff is fantastic. Music was great. The brunch food was good and good crowd.
We had dinner at BAZAAR the spanish/tapas/molecular cuisine of the hotel. The experience was fantastic!!!!. Our server (forgot the name) borights us different plates to try, we left the choices for him and what great choices he made!.
Rooms are not big but are chic, trendy and modern. The best minibar I´ve seen in many different hotels I´ve visited (and I´m an hotelier).
Valet, and bell service was also great.
Location could not be better.
Thanks J M

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

There's no getting away from it - this hotel is expensive, extremely expensive, but what you get for that is worth it (and this is Miami after all).

The service is very good, the food (and drinks) are excellent and the parties (which you have free and easy access to as a guest) are awesome. It's also great that you have access to their sister hotel The Raleigh (which is almost nextdoor) in case you are after a more relaxed vibe.

I liked this hotel enough to book two more stays in August (and potentially one in September).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review, bsadb1! So glad you and your friends had a great stay with us and we can’t wait to welcome you back this and next month! Please be sure to give us a head’s up when you are on your way so we can be sure to show you a good time once again. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

In SLS you can find anything you want, but mostly sometimes we don't know what we want...or we forgotten by our work or hectic lifestyle...
So They "open your Senses" by offering you options while you are in the Hotel and makes you feel like visiting various Hip Destinations all over the word... From St. Tropez and the isles of Greece to the Caribbean tropical paradise to big cities accompanied by Spectacular restaurants, Hip bars, Energetic Pool bars, Great Parties with amazing dj's, Modern barbeque and of course Great Personalities such as Jaime and Vicky at the front desk, Dimitri, Anna at the Hyde pool, bar pool and the beach.Their music escorts you lovely to a Fantastic mood and their food expands magically you pallet...
There is no way to go to another hotel anytime I will go back to south beach!
Thank you all guys for your great work and effort !
Stamatis

Room Tip: All room are excellent, Hip and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
All I can say is wow… thank you for this glowing review of your experience with us! It sounds like you were truly transported away from all of your worries and I am so glad the team here could help show you the way. Thank you right back for taking the time to express such lovely thoughts! We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the moment you walk in, you are enveloped in a cool, swanky euro american vibe. As you pass through the empty Bazaar restaurant to the pool, admiring the decor which matches music, you look forward to breakfast and dinner I liked the cozy feeling of a small hotel with personal attention, great restaurants and service. The have an unusual configuration…there is no closet, but rather a rod where you can hang things that shares minimal space with a mini bar…it's more like a maxi bar and a mini closet, because the bar is bigger. If you are working on your organizational skills or team work, the room will help with that…you will quickly learn to be very organized (there is no space to throw things around) and coordinate your movements with your room partner..if the drawer is open, you either wait to go or jump on the bed. The whimsical decor and the most comfortable beds made the other stuff merely entertaining.

Really enjoyed the pools, separated by a space with almond trees. Tried all the restaurants and bar, enjoyed all. Food and drinks are expensive, but worth the experience.

The pool parties draw beautiful people, but may not hold as much allure if you are 40+.

Don't miss continental breakfast with french pastries, the most amazing homemade yogurt and little surprises like panacotta and freshly squeezed juices.
Loved the hotel and the experience, will definitely go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size, except suites and villas. Ocean view is definitely preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
You are an absolute gem yourself, Ilana g! Thank you so much for your wonderful assessment your stay with us. I especially appreciate your creative take on the rooms and how they cozy layout helped you with organizational skills. Too funny! We are looking to a more enhanced version of storage soon, so hopefully next time you are visiting, we can wow you even more! Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We just spent 5 days at this beautiful Hotel. Since the check in the service was impecable..The room was small but super confortable and had everything we needed, modern and cosy. The restaurants are a delight (specially Katsuya) and the pool service was just fantastic. Ana and Sana made our time very pleasant in the pool. The location is just perfect. 1 block from Lincoln Rd. Thank you to all the SLS team, we couldnt memorize all your names but we remember each one of you. We will be back very soon. Jacky & Ines. Lima Peru

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Jacky & Ines, you made our day with this one!! Thank you for the 5 star review and for saying such beautiful things about the team. We are so happy to have shown you a delightful time in South Beach hope to see you again so very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TIG Global, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SLS South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.