We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest place on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SLS South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SLS South Beach to your Saves list
SLS South Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50/day Room Credit!
Ranked #23 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Coolest place on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great staff. Great location. Fun atmosphere. You are there for the experience. People made us feel special and the restaurants are places you WANT to be. If you like hanging out in your room at hotels then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    131
    59
    45
    44
See reviews for
53
290
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

So we did not stay at this hotel, but we did however visit the outside bar/restaurant. Thankfully a friend recommended it to us, because there is NO way we would have known about it! But let me just say one word...AMAZING!!! The drinks were great, the food, which is tapas style was honestly one of the best Tapas restaurants I have ever been to! The staff was also top notch!! Our first encounter was with the very friendly bar tender, who make a wonderful espresso martini! Then we decided to have a bite to eat. The hostess "Jordan" was simply wonderful! She was able to accomodate us very quickly with a great table location!! Even without a reservation! Our server was Krista! She was also excellent! Great personality! She made some wonderful food recommendations! We LOVED everything! The wait staff was also very friendly when they delivered our food. Very attentive!! We were so pleased with our experience we asked to speak to the manager. Jimmy the manager was extremely personable! We just wanted to thank him and tell him of our wonderful experience! If you are in South Beach, this is a MUST visit! You can't see it from the street, so as I said, we would have never known it was there! When you walk into the hotel, walk through the lobby and restaurant. If you ask them to direct you the the first outside bar on the right, they will know exactly where to take you! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear AMphillips76,

Thank you so much for such a positive review! Our team loves to take care of every guest personally and it sounds like you experienced exactly that. We are so proud to have Jordan, Krista and the incomparable Jimmy running the show here and look forward to wow-ing you again with your next visit. Please be sure to reach out to me before you come see us again. We can’t wait to have you back!
See you soon!

Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

If you are willing to spend upward of $800 a night and sleep in a room that is less than 175 sq ft (including the bathroom), bumping elbows all the time with someone who has the misfortune of staying there with you, then this hotel may enter your consideration set. They did their best to appoint the room decently, but the bathroom had a rather large, disgusting stain on the sink, and it was basically impossible to operate the sink because the handles were buried under a shelf. The accommodations were highly, highly inconvenient and detracted from our vacation fun in a big way.

I should point out that the staff and service was very good - even though they couldn't help us despite repeated calls, it seems like they were trying. And the pool areas are quite the scene; their beach area is enjoyable and well cared for. As someone pointed out, pool servers are rather tardy (took about 30 mins to get her to come to us to place an order).

It's just a travesty that the room really makes the experience so terrible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Shrank723,

Thank you so much for taking the time to communicate your most recent experience at SLS South Beach. Your feedback is very important to us and I assure you all commentary provided is taken seriously so the next guest is able to enjoy a different experience. I apologize that the accommodations, though well-appointed, were smaller than expected. Our beautiful building was built in 1940 and we do our best to make the historically driven room size comfortable in modern terms. I am so sorry this detracted from the stay expectations, but am so glad to hear that you found the staff and service a positive. Again, I sincerely apologize for your inconveniences and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel for a second chance to turn things around. Please feel free to contact me for future reservations so that I can see to your arrangements personally.

Warm regards,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with an amazingly friendly and warm staff. They truly go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and don't take your business for granted. The Bazaar restaurant by Jose Andres was divine, the drinks were unique and well thought out, and the pool party at Hyde was a blast. We had a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a luxury experience that is also fun!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
AceRezai, you are amazing! Thank you so much for such a heartfelt, positive review. We are overjoyed you had such a great time visiting us and so happy you enjoyed Hyde and The Bazaar! You are absolutely right – our team loves going out of their way to do whatever we can to ensure your every need is addressed. We are so lucky to have them! Can’t wait for you to come visit us again soon!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The best part of this hotel was the staff. Everyone from the valet to the managers were helpful and accommodating. The restaurant, Bazaar, was excellent and our afternoon at Hyde Beach was great. Overall I'd recommend this hotel. Be prepared the hotel is expensive but it is worth it. If you're coming to South Beach it's a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Megan S,
Wow! What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write and applaud the team for a job well done. We are incredibly fortunate to have a group of people who genuinely care about our guests and it’s great to hear that it shows!
Thank you so much again and I hope you come visit us again soon!
All my best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Recently spent 5 days there. Great location; 2 beautiful pools. Largely great service (except for a couple of servers by the pool, but most were terrific, as was rest of staff throughout hotel); 2 very good restaurants. Covered open-air porch terrific spot for breakfast, lunch, cocktails. Had an excellent mani/pedi in a cabana right at the pool and paid less than I expected at this type of resort. Cons: Spent one full day/night without A/C and had to ask twice before it was fixed (they claimed they were doing maintenance but didn't tell us in advance). Also, had a facial and massage, both priced at $150 for 60 mins. However, they failed to mention they add a $30 "hotel service charge" before tip! You're better off going down the street to Bliss spa (great massage for $125 for 50 mins., no service charge). Work out room very small and except for the last day, there were rarely any towels, water dispenser didn't always have cups, and one morning the room hadn't been cleaned, with dirty/used towels and cups and even plastic plates everywhere. At the prices we paid, this should not be the case.

Room Tip: Be sure to book through American Express Fine Resorts & Hotels if you want to get the upgrade up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear jcsoup,
Thank you so much for your review – especially the kind words regarding the property, your restaurant experience and the excellent poolside mani/pedi! I am so sorry for the air conditioning issues you faced while staying with us. I assure you that is atypical of our hotel and thanks to your alert we were able to remedy the situation right away. We are as well addressing the feedback regarding the fitness center. You are absolutely right - everything should be in order, clean and ready for use regardless of time of day. I am sorry this was not the case during your time with us. So you are aware, the matter has been addressed with the appropriate team members and standards are now up to par.
Thank you again so much for staying with us and providing constructive feedback! Without your guidance, we could not improve. We look forward to showing you a better side when you return!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I decided to change hotel in Miami the day before my arrival since was suggested from friends, after many years in other hotels.
It was a fantastic experience! Great location, close to Ocean Drive, close to Lincoln.
Very cool, music and atmosphere all the time.
The Hyde beach is fantastic, assistents too!!!!!!
Bazar, the best food in Miami!
I suggest you to reserve!!!!!!
Rooms are large, good view, clean.
The double shower is great!
Breakfast incredible.
Jamie, the manager very kind!!!
A fantastic experience. I can suggest SLS forever!!!!!!

Room Tip: king deluxe ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline D, Manager at SLS South Beach, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Giorgio V,
A giant thank you to both you and your friends for choosing SLS! We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel accommodations as well as The Bazaar and Hyde during your recent visit. We have a wonderful time making it all happen here for every guest – no matter what the venue. And you are right – Jamie is the best! Thank you again for the 5 star review. We look forward to your return!
Best,
Caroline Dyal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SLS South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SLS South Beach

Address: 1701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — SLS South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TIG Global, Escapio, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your SLS South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SLS South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.