We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

We used the Cadet Hotel as one of the hotels for our wedding. The service was fantastic, the people friendly, the rooms were very clean, and the location could not have been better. The rooms aren't huge, but they are very clean and the location couldn't be better. I recommend the Cadet to anyone who wants to stay in Miami Beach without paying a fortune- but still wants to stay at a nice property!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    261
    66
    19
    22
See reviews for
58
391
51
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Small hotel, but with a love for details. Turn-down service, diligently furnished rooms, attentive and friendly staff, nice continental breakfast. A pleasant surprise in the beehive of the many not-so nice hotels in South beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

This truly is a hidden gem with so many things that are right at a very low price considering the area and the competion. It has great history and is in a great location with respect to both the convention center and to Ocean Drive. The rooms though small are nicely decorated with all the amenites you get in hotels charging twice as much.The personnel are all very pleasant and work to make your stay a good one. The only downside I experienced was a very poor night's sleep. I was there on a Saturday night and there was street noise virtually from dusk to dawn. The real problem was that the room I was in is right off the lobby and surrounded by the stairs and I repeatedly heard loud revellers coming in throughout the night (ie. 2;30, 3:30) making sleep virtually impossible. In addition the walls are thin so that I heard the person coughing in the next room and the lack of carpeting made every footfall of the person in the room above who returned to their room at 2 AM audible. The front desk personnel did place a call that immediately led to things quieting down above , but it was still a sleepless in Miami experience for me. I would definitely go back, but next time request a second floor room off the street and away from the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre,brasil
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

I've just arrived from a huge medical convention at miami beach. fortunately I stayed at this wonderful hotel. it's very close to the convention center (a few minutes walking) . aextremely well runned, when you arrived you can smell a parfum in the lobby, rooms very clean, details in everything, slippers, etc.. the owner is probably a woman (details in everycorner). concierge very nice . I've been many boutique hotels in europe etc.. but this is by far the most cosy one. internet free.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travlife
Level Contributor
146 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

The Cadet Hotel is located one block from the beach and Lincoln road. It is also very convenient to the convention center. The reason we chose the hotel. My husband had a meeting at the convention center. There is no parking on site. The loading zone spaces were taken by workmen vehicles. We unloaded at the curb. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. There were lots of nice amenities. Fresh flowers in the room and bathroom. Refrigerator stocked with soda for our use. Turn down,ice bucket filled, two water bottles each evening were placed in the refrigerator. I pod alarm clock radio. Remote accessed AC unit. Comfortable bed with duvet. Loose green tea and Chinese teapot staff would fill. Robes provided. There was no drawer space. Only ten very tiny drawers in the oriental night stand, desk and under the refrigerator cabinet. I do not like living out of my suitcase. They did have two baskets on the top shelf of the closet you could fill. Also there were two shelves in the closet,not very large. There was a safe and it is a two story hotel. There is no elevator. They do advise you of this beforehand. The room was nicely decorated as was the bathroom . However the shower handle did not stay in the holder. Yes it is a great location and a pleasant room and grounds. However it is not at all a functional hotel room.Our room was on the street side. Take your earplugs!.The price was in line with a good boutique hotel in South Beach. Enjoy with reservations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

This really is a nice hotel and, at $150/night during high season, a good value. I would certainly have rated it higher if I'd had hot water for my morning shower. It's true, it was early, 6:30 or 7:00, but hot water in the morning has to be a pretty basic lodging requirement, from the ritziest hotel to a Motel 6. As I told the front desk, I ran the water for about 5 minutes before giving up and taking a cold shower, which was necessarily short but made the total running water time about 10 minutes, and the water was still not even luke warm. The staff were attentive and sympathetic to my complaint, but said it just takes a long time for the first water of the morning to heat up. So, if you're an early riser (for South Beach visitors, probably a very small group), turn on the shower, go back to bed and nap, and I guess you'll be OK. Shame to waste the water though.

Other than that, no real complaints, The room and bathroom are small, it's true, but the decor is very appealing, the beds are comfortable, and we don't remember any noise (it was a rainy night though). When I asked about restaurants, they gave us a list of a dozen or so within walking distance; we tried one of them, TiramisU, on Lincoln Road, and it was great.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Great hotel
Very kind service from all the staff
Nice rooms, and super garden

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.