We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of South Beach Miami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Astoria, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the heart of South Beach Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

If you are looking for a cozy, stylish hotel with great service, come here. And it's located 2-blocks from the beach!

Upon arrival, the front desk gave us the bad news: "Mr. Carroll, you've been upgraded to the master suite." Oh. My. God. My wife and I could not have been more surprised, or grateful. This suite is luxury personified. Big. Spacious. Clean. And comfy!!!

That said, this is the second time my wife and I have stayed at Cadet Hotel. We loved it the first time, and we love it more now. Overall, the design is elegant. The service is well-organized. The garden is an oasis. The jacuzzi is small, but refreshing.

If you decide to visit Cadet Hotel, check out the nearby eats from Pubbelly Sushi and La Sandwicherie to Moreno's Cuba and Alma Mexicana.

I cannot recommend Cadet Hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Brendan_201,

We wanted to thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com! Since you were a repeat guest we like on occasion to surprise you with complimentary uprgade. This is based on availability and time of year. We hope that you will return sooner than later. Remember it is always suggested that you email or call hotel directly to ensure the highest level of care during the reservation process.

Best regards

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    308
    221
    53
    14
    19
See reviews for
42
322
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The hotel is charming - as well as the restaurant in the annex - and the location is perfect not only for the access to the South Beach but also for shopping. It was the first time we enjoyed the downtown Miami and the hotel and its sevices are very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Cassio,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your Cadet Hotel experience! It looks like you were with us in South Beach and you had an opportunity to go to Downtown Miami. We hope you were able to enjoy Pied a Terre Restaurant during your stay? If not hopefully when you come back you can experience our pride and joy.

When you are ready to return please email giulia@cadethotel.com so we can ensure the very best offer.

Best regards,

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a beautiful clean large room with very comfy bed. The staff were extremly friendly and helpful with advice on restaurants and things to do in South Beach. You were very close to Ocean Drive, but just off it so at night when you went to bed you did not have the noise from all the bars and clubs - which was perfect!
The complimentary continental breakfast each morning was lovely! And we loved the outdoor jacuzzi pool in the afternoon - sitting with a cocktail in the sun. Would definitely choose to stay in this fantastic hotel again (and my partner and I are really fussy with where we stay)! Thankyou for a lovely holiday in Miami! Justine & Chris

Room Tip: We went for the executive king - it was massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Justine,

We are so pleased that you took the time to write about your recent Cadet Hotel experience. One thing is for sure we are one of the quieter hotels in our area. We hold true to charming, comfy and subtle elegance. We are glad you opted for the Junior Suite with breakfast package and that you enjoyed the food and it looks like some drinks:-) Hopefully you will be coming back sooner than later.
When you have decided on your return please do not hesitate in contacting me directing at giulia@cadethotel.com or info@cadethotel.com.

Best regards,

Giulia
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

At $130 a night this place wasn't a steal, but the location more than made up for it. 2 blocks from the beach, 1 block from the Lincoln Road Mall, 1 block from major bus stops to & from Miami, several blocks from nightclubs and museums. Note that as of June 2014 there is major construction being done on the opposite street corner. Not sure how much noise that produced for the rooms facing the street, but our room was 112, farthest from the construction and was perfectly quiet.
Ours was a 'cozy queen' - perfect for our honeymoon. Some details were lacking - there was no microwave or coffee maker. There was wifi, but it was on the slow side. The air conditioner had no remote - you could stand on a chair to turn it on and off, but if you wanted it adjusted you had to ask the front desk. The sheets could have been better quality / softer.
There were perks about the room as well - it was beautiful, and the bed was very comfortable. When we arrived there was a complimentary fruit tray and a rose on our desk table. Each day after room service they'd leave a little box with a few hershey kisses in it on our bed. Room service was prompt and thorough - the room was clean.
The hotel will give you beach towels, which you can ask for and return at the front desk. There is a $15 optional breakfast on a very pretty patio next to the hotel. After eating breakfast at several nearby locations, we realized it was the best bang for our buck considering the neighborhood. It was a sit-down breakfast with above-average food and a good selection - not your typical 1-star 'continential breakfast' but a real breakfast. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi (really it's just barely too small to call a pool, so they installed jets and made it a jacuzzi) but almost no one uses it, so you can have it to yourself. Downside: the jacuzzi closes at 7 pm.
Staff was very attentive, and service was personalized - the hotel is very small, so after just a few days you recognize most of the people who work there. By the end of my week there the breakfast waiter (who also worked the front desk) knew my order as well as our room number.
Overall we would definitely stay here again, and our experience was very good :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Inquisitivity,

We thank you for your thorough review of the Cadet Hotel. We take great pride in delivery the very best in service from Housekeeping to Breakfast to Front Desk. Our goal is to ensure you experience the charming and calm offerings at Cadet Hotel. We hope that you will return sooner than later since you are a short hop away in New York.

Wishing you a Happy Holiday and best regards,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Very decent and cozy hotel - clean and has a great location 2 blocks from Ocean drive and few blocks from teh shopping and restaurants area, the staff is very helpful and will help you make reservations in bars and clubs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
The Traveller,

We thank you for taking the time our of your busy day to share your recent experience at Cadet Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the close location to the very best beach in the US:-) I will pass along to the staff your kind words about the service they will be delighted. Should you visit sooner then later please email giulia@cadethotel.com so that we can ensure the very best in accommodations.

Best regards,

Giulia Loiacono
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

grate location 5 min walking to the beach, 5 min walking to Lincoln ave where you will find all the shops and restaurants.
loved the style of the hotel though the bathroom was so small but not that bad, very good staff they were very helpful and so friendly.
i highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to stay 5 days or less.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Hussain,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent Cadet Hotel experience. You are 100% correct we are lucky to be in one of the most sought after areas in South Beach. We are two short blocks away from one of the best beaches in the USA. So when we get a chance meet and greet new guests and share the "It So Miami Experience" we ensure it is delivered with honest and heartfelt hospitality. We hope that you will return sooner then later. Please feel free to contact me at giulia@cadethotel.com or info@cadethotel.com.

Best regards,

Giulia Loiacano
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Can't beat the location of this small and handsome boutique hotel.
The folks at the desk at check in and the waiter at breakfast were very pleasant. Fresh squeezed juice and very good quality coffee for breakfast
The rooms were nicely appointed although strangely enough you have to call downstairs to get your air on adjusted.
Again- great location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Lynda,

We want to thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.com about your recent trip to Cadet Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the breakfast we take great pride in the food and service delivery we provide to our guests. We hope to welcome you back to Cadet Hotel in the near future. Please contact me directly at giulia@cadethotel.com so we can ensure the very best offer on your return.

Warm regards,

Giulia Loiacono
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.