We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS LITTLE PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS LITTLE PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel, exceptional staff, super location just 1 block from Lincoln road and a short walk to Ocean drive and the beach. Lots of good restaurants and shopping on Lincoln road and great nightlife on Ocean drive. Just a short walk to Espanola way with a lrge selection of really good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed everything our hotel has to offer.

It’s a pleasure to hear our staff pampered you; we work very hard to make all of our guest feel at home.

We hope to see you soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    225
    52
    17
    19
See reviews for
41
313
38
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The cadet is a beautiful cozy Art Deco hotel located at South Miami Beach just a few minute walk from the Art Deco district, the beach and all the fun and nightclubs Miami beach has to offer.

Although rooms are not very big, they are beautifully decorated and clean. The staff showed being very helpful at all times. Breakfast was delicious.

Since part of my honeymoon was at the Cadet in miami, the hotel manager had a special treat on us. The experience was so nice I always recommend the cadet to my friends going to Miami. I will repeat for sure.

Great hotel with a romantic feeling :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this wonderful review!

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed you stay so promptly. We are glad our staff surprised you and your wife for such a memorable occasion!

We hope you had a wonderful honeymoon, and we wish you joy and happiness on this exciting life together.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, at your home away from home.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Cadet Hotel is quite the charming European style boutique hotel. It is only 33 rooms I believe with various types of rooms. I looked at e cozy room which was well appointed but decided on the Superior with a king bed. I had heard about hotel from a very good friend that was here in February. I like quite, euro style, small boutique hotels.
When I got in it was awfully late at 4am. As you can imagine I was exhausted. The front desk agent was very warm and considerate. Got to my room and it was nice and chilly. The room was so quaint with a shear over the bed and smell of lavender. I am a big scent guy as I meditate. I immediately got into bed and my GOD it was beyond comfortable. I quickly passed out and awoke to the same smell of lavender. I went down to breakfast and had the mushroom, onion and cheese omelette. Delicious!!! What really struck me was the attention to detail in service and set up. They really care about the impact in details.
The hotel close to Lincoln Road, beach and Convention Center. They have a great restaurant called Pied a Terre - French cuisine. However they also change menu seasonally as there is this thing called the visiting chef program. I was unable to eat at restaurant on this trip but will next month as I am coming back:-) Hats off to Ricky, Melody and Camila they were a joy to meet. Lastly the rooms were spotless from a Miami standard. This is NOT a party hotel it is sophisticated and relaxing.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and book the superior king or junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this wonderful review!

We are very happy to hear that you appreciate all the little touches that we provide for our guest. It is all those little small details that make us unique.

Our staff takes pride in providing superior service, and it’s a pleasure to hear that’s exactly what they did. We are glad to hear we exceeded your expectations.

We hope that next time you stay with us you can enjoy our wonderful restaurant as well!

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is located just 2 blocks from South Beach. It is close to shopping areas as well as some very good restaurants. Rooms are a little small, but very clean and the hotel is very quiet. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Lovely hot tub area, but beware of the numerous mosquitoes! The main drawback is the lack of parking. There are a few hotels in the area that offer parking but make sure they allow for in/out privileges. There is no elevator in the hotel, and so this may be a problem with those in wheelchairs or small kids in strollers. Overall, a lovely place to stay if you are looking for something clean, quiet, and central to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

Our hotel does not have an elevator because we are a historical building. We are not allowed to make any changes to the building. We do however, provide our guest with assistance with the luggage all the time. We also have a wheelchair lift which is located in the back garden area.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not sure that I understand the good reviews for this hotel. Our stay was very average.

The rooms are indeed nicely furnished - but the basic ones are tiny and don't even have a desk (I looked at several before deciding on mine). I basically had to upgrade to a junior suite - at great cost - to get a decent sized room, which itself was pretty nice - only then the toilet broke so I had to be moved (again) to an inferior one. The toiletries were never replenished - not sure why, but when paying $350 per night I expected a new shampoo every day!

Myself and colleagues were all plagued by noise from the roads outside - the rooms only have single glazed windows. Many sleepless nights had by all.

One of us had a medical emergency and the (inexperienced) receptionist sent her to a very dodgy medical centre where she felt unsafe (even the medical centre people wouldn't let her leave the building until her taxi arrived).

There's no parking at the hotel - you can park up the street at an outdoor parking lot (around $20 per day). Free wifi and great location for all of the South Beach attractions.

Good location and the staff were generally pleasant, if inexperienced/amateur.

Would not hurry back, sadly. There are superior hotels available for the same price elsewhere in South Beach.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best - but they're on the road side of the building, so be prepared for no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.

We apologize that you had the inconvenience of having to move to another room. Unfortunately, problems like this happen all the time and they are unpredictable. However, our staff did take care of the issue right away, and moved you to another room. The room they moved you to was another Junior Suite located on the first floor, not an inferior room as quoted on your review.

Our rooms do vary in size, of course our Junior Suites and Master Suite are bigger that our Cozy rooms. We do recommend those rooms to guests who are looking for a sizable room. However, our cozy rooms are still beautiful rooms and all of them have a desk.

South Beach is known to be very noisy. However, as many of our guests have written in their reviews our hotel is located in one of the quietest streets.

The amenities in the guest’s rooms are replaced every day. Unless there is a “do not disturb” sign, replacing the amenities is part of the housekeeping daily room service.

We are very disappointed to hear you will not consider staying with us in the future, mostly because most the comments you’ve made have never been mentioned before. We receive excellent reviews regarding our service and the tranquility of our hotel. Positive or negative reviews are a gift for us, they can always help us improve.

Sincerely,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at The Cadet a few days ago on a business trip to Miami. I paid $189 a night including taxes etc., and got a very comfortable queen bedded room with a good bathroom and separate utility room with a refrigerator, iron, safe, hanging and closet space. As stated by other reviewers, the rooms are cozy, but if you stay in Art Deco hotels, it is expected. The bathroom is good quality, frequently a problem in these hotels. A shower, tub, large selection of shampoo, soaps, creams etc. The public rooms inside and out are comfortable and welcoming. The service a fast and willing, if sometimes a little amateurish, and the breakfasts, the only meal I ate there, were well prepared, tasty and unhurried. One small breakfast gripe. You get oranges in Florida. But they treat orange juice like an aged single malt and serve enough for one mouthful. Come on, fill the glass. The free wifi is fast and I worked on the outside terrace in the mornings. It was very comfortable and they brought a fan to keep me cool, plus top ups of coffee. For some strange reason you are not trusted with the A/C control. If you want to change the A/C you have to get the control from the lobby??? One other small gripe about the rooms, the TVs. There is a nice flat screen TV on the wall but it only has the most basic cable package and the reception is poor. Choice of news channels was so limited that horror of horrors, I ended up watching Fox News! But these are small complaints and they could not detract from the charm of the hotel, it's location and staff. I booked for 5 nights but stayed 3 as my business finished early. They have the standard 72 hour cancellation policy which I was prepared to pay. The very kindly waived it. Other nice touches include a little fresh fruit bowl in the room every day, turn down service with chocolates, good quality towels and robes, WSJ outside your door, a large golf cart standing outside which will take you anywhere within the South Beach area if a driver is available, a friendly lobby bar which makes excellent mojitos. I shall stay again on my next trip to Miami.

Room Tip: I had room 201, it was quiet, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel; the rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated and it had a small garden and pool area with jacuzzi. The staff were polite and friendly and there was a (valet) parking lot not far away. It has a restaurant attached which seems to be highly rated though we never visited it. It's a nice location; a bit away from the noisy Collins venue yet near enough to quickly reach the Art Deco area and bars, restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.

We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

Our staff takes pride in providing superior service. We want all of our guest to feel at home.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.