We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Santa Monica, California, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is located just 2 blocks from South Beach. It is close to shopping areas as well as some very good restaurants. Rooms are a little small, but very clean and the hotel is very quiet. The staff is very helpful and courteous. Lovely hot tub area, but beware of the numerous mosquitoes! The main drawback is the lack of parking. There are a few hotels in the area that offer parking but make sure they allow for in/out privileges. There is no elevator in the hotel, and so this may be a problem with those in wheelchairs or small kids in strollers. Overall, a lovely place to stay if you are looking for something clean, quiet, and central to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

Our hotel does not have an elevator because we are a historical building. We are not allowed to make any changes to the building. We do however, provide our guest with assistance with the luggage all the time. We also have a wheelchair lift which is located in the back garden area.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    220
    52
    14
    18
See reviews for
41
318
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I'm not sure that I understand the good reviews for this hotel. Our stay was very average.

The rooms are indeed nicely furnished - but the basic ones are tiny and don't even have a desk (I looked at several before deciding on mine). I basically had to upgrade to a junior suite - at great cost - to get a decent sized room, which itself was pretty nice - only then the toilet broke so I had to be moved (again) to an inferior one. The toiletries were never replenished - not sure why, but when paying $350 per night I expected a new shampoo every day!

Myself and colleagues were all plagued by noise from the roads outside - the rooms only have single glazed windows. Many sleepless nights had by all.

One of us had a medical emergency and the (inexperienced) receptionist sent her to a very dodgy medical centre where she felt unsafe (even the medical centre people wouldn't let her leave the building until her taxi arrived).

There's no parking at the hotel - you can park up the street at an outdoor parking lot (around $20 per day). Free wifi and great location for all of the South Beach attractions.

Good location and the staff were generally pleasant, if inexperienced/amateur.

Would not hurry back, sadly. There are superior hotels available for the same price elsewhere in South Beach.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best - but they're on the road side of the building, so be prepared for no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.

We apologize that you had the inconvenience of having to move to another room. Unfortunately, problems like this happen all the time and they are unpredictable. However, our staff did take care of the issue right away, and moved you to another room. The room they moved you to was another Junior Suite located on the first floor, not an inferior room as quoted on your review.

Our rooms do vary in size, of course our Junior Suites and Master Suite are bigger that our Cozy rooms. We do recommend those rooms to guests who are looking for a sizable room. However, our cozy rooms are still beautiful rooms and all of them have a desk.

South Beach is known to be very noisy. However, as many of our guests have written in their reviews our hotel is located in one of the quietest streets.

The amenities in the guest’s rooms are replaced every day. Unless there is a “do not disturb” sign, replacing the amenities is part of the housekeeping daily room service.

We are very disappointed to hear you will not consider staying with us in the future, mostly because most the comments you’ve made have never been mentioned before. We receive excellent reviews regarding our service and the tranquility of our hotel. Positive or negative reviews are a gift for us, they can always help us improve.

Sincerely,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed at The Cadet a few days ago on a business trip to Miami. I paid $189 a night including taxes etc., and got a very comfortable queen bedded room with a good bathroom and separate utility room with a refrigerator, iron, safe, hanging and closet space. As stated by other reviewers, the rooms are cozy, but if you stay in Art Deco hotels, it is expected. The bathroom is good quality, frequently a problem in these hotels. A shower, tub, large selection of shampoo, soaps, creams etc. The public rooms inside and out are comfortable and welcoming. The service a fast and willing, if sometimes a little amateurish, and the breakfasts, the only meal I ate there, were well prepared, tasty and unhurried. One small breakfast gripe. You get oranges in Florida. But they treat orange juice like an aged single malt and serve enough for one mouthful. Come on, fill the glass. The free wifi is fast and I worked on the outside terrace in the mornings. It was very comfortable and they brought a fan to keep me cool, plus top ups of coffee. For some strange reason you are not trusted with the A/C control. If you want to change the A/C you have to get the control from the lobby??? One other small gripe about the rooms, the TVs. There is a nice flat screen TV on the wall but it only has the most basic cable package and the reception is poor. Choice of news channels was so limited that horror of horrors, I ended up watching Fox News! But these are small complaints and they could not detract from the charm of the hotel, it's location and staff. I booked for 5 nights but stayed 3 as my business finished early. They have the standard 72 hour cancellation policy which I was prepared to pay. The very kindly waived it. Other nice touches include a little fresh fruit bowl in the room every day, turn down service with chocolates, good quality towels and robes, WSJ outside your door, a large golf cart standing outside which will take you anywhere within the South Beach area if a driver is available, a friendly lobby bar which makes excellent mojitos. I shall stay again on my next trip to Miami.

Room Tip: I had room 201, it was quiet, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel; the rooms were beautifully furnished and decorated and it had a small garden and pool area with jacuzzi. The staff were polite and friendly and there was a (valet) parking lot not far away. It has a restaurant attached which seems to be highly rated though we never visited it. It's a nice location; a bit away from the noisy Collins venue yet near enough to quickly reach the Art Deco area and bars, restaurants and cafés.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.

We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

Our staff takes pride in providing superior service. We want all of our guest to feel at home.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Went here 4th of July weekend and had a lovely stay. The hotel itself is gorgeous, with a beautiful lobby and a lovely terrace area outside where you can just sit and relax. The rooms look more like mini apartments, which give the hotel a cozy feel.

Nice touches such as fresh fruit waiting in your room, refilled ice bucket and complimentary water and chocolates. The hotel also provides complimentary bathrobes and beach towels which were great. They also have a walk in closet which was great

The location was excellent just a short walk from the beach and Lincoln road.

My only issue with my stay was the original person at the check in desk was kind of rude. We booked an original room for 4 people and once we got to the actual hotel she said that room didn't accommodate 4 people so our rate increased and that particular room wasn't even listed on their site. We were in and out at the hotel going back between all the attractions and we felt like the lady was constantly thinking we were up to no good because we were young kids in our twenties.

Aside from that, the rest of the staff was great!

Really loved this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us!

We are very happy that you appreciate all the little touches that we provide for our guest. It is all those little small details that make us unique.

Regarding your room, you had originally booked a room with Two Twin Beds. The email confirmation that was sent to you and the room details explained that the room is for a maximum of two persons.

When you arrived to our hotel you came with two other friends, and later another friend came to join you. We did explain to you very politely that if you would like to stay with us you will need to change to a room with Two Double Beds. The room is bigger than the Two Twin Beds and it is the only room in the property that accommodates a larger group. We apologize if this situation made you feel uncomfortable.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel in a nicely renovated Art Deco building. The rooms are small but clean and nicely furnished. The price when looking the location of the hotel is very good. You can get free beach towels. Breakfast is also good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our hotel is not only located in the Art Deco District, but is also very rich in history. Our hotel became the home for the newly graduated West Point Cadets during the World War II, under the command of Captain Clark Gable. He stayed in our Master Suite which was named after him.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My recent visit to South Beach Miami was made very pleasant by staying at the Cadet Hotel. The check in was fast and easy and the help was pleasant. It was beautifully decorated, simple yet elegant. The room was a bit on the small side, but this was the way the properties were built during the art deco period. Water and a small bowl of fresh fruit was available in my room, with a welcome letter addressed to me wishing me a pleasant stay, a nice touch. One of the best features of this hotel were the garden areas. There were 2 of them, each beautifully maintained and a joy to utilize. The one in the back was gorgeous with 2 covered pavilions and a beautiful multi-person jacuzzi. Tropical fauna that was beautiful. This is where I ate my take away dinner of authentic cuban black beans and rice. A quiet slice of paradise, can't get much better than that!!

This is a wonderful boutique hotel located within a block or two of the ocean and a short stroll to all of the things South Beach has to offer including Lincoln Road Mall. If you really aren't hip to the loud bar scene on Collins Avenue then Lincoln Road Mall is for you. A pedestrian only promenade that is full of upscale shops, restaurants, and the occasional "hooka" bar.

The only downside to this hotel was the lack of parking at the hotel. This is not uncommon for the area, as most of the hotels do not have on-site parking. Many of them require valet parking and from what I read it can take some time to fetch your car. Parking was available only a short block from the hotel in a 24 hour manned lot for $35 a day. Unloading your luggage was available at the hotels loading zone, but the lot was so close we chose to just walk.

The Cadet Hotel was a great find in the historical Art Deco district in South Beach, Miami. It was neat, clean, and classy. I would certainly stay here again and would highly recommend to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a room with a courtyard view. Alot of the rooms overlook a street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

In our hotel every detail is unique and personally decorated by the Owner; she strives for perfection in every sense.

We are honored to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you would so highly recommend us.

We look forward to having you stay at the Cadet again, your home away from home.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#35 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.