We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here in January and didnt mind not being on the beach or lack of pool. It was really a great little place. The room was decorated nicely and the bathroom was renovated. The staff was also very nice and welcomed us everytime we came in and out. The location is very close to Lincoln Rd so you have many restaurants within walking distance. I would not suggest staying here if you have little children because the rooms are on the small side and there is no real grounds for kids to play.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street. We hope that you had enough time to enjoy everything our city has to offer.

We take pride in providing our guest a superior service; our staff is here to ensure that your stay with us is excellent.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    213
    48
    17
    19
See reviews for
37
289
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ignore the older reviews on here. My wife and I like to visit South Beach just for the day sometimes because we are about an hour away. We decided to stay for the night this weekend so my wife booked a room at the Cadet at 17th and James, on a last minute whim and after just a little bit of research. What a find!?!

This little boutique hotel has all of the charm of the original South Beach era but is modern and clean and a gem among bigger, more expensive hotels. At just over $200 a night, I was not setting my expectations too high but I was very very happy with everything. We have eaten at Casa Tua, just across James street, and often park right down the street for day trips to the beach so I was always wondering what the Cadet was like. It's just two blocks from the beach and right down the street from the Delano and the SLS.

We arrived early at about 9:30 am, not expecting a room to be ready yet, but it was. Within 5 minutes of arriving, our room was ready. The lobby is small and stylish with a traditional terrazzo floor, a baby grand and a really cool little bar. The desk staff were very friendly and although we had very little to carry, Frank brought us up to our room to help us out.

The room was on the small side (room 214) but very clean, very nice, with crisp but soft white sheets and bedding, great pillows. Everything was clean and new, except the bathroom, which was very clean but just a little more old fashioned. We didn't have a tub but we had a nice sized shower with a stone floor, two shower heads and really great water pressure. Great after the beach. L'Occitane products were a nice touch as were the Hershey's kisses in a tiny little white welcome box and complimentary water.

The in wall A/C units are a bit goofy, and a little bit loud but to me it sounded like the ocean and it put me off to sleep in just a few minutes. The room also had a great view of the garden and hot tub and included two great robes, fresh fruit on arrival and was very very quiet. Room 214 is on the second floor and all the way at the end of the hall so it was great.

My wife also booked us a dinner at the hotel's restaurant, Pied a Terre and it ended up being one of the nicest dining experiences we've had anywhere. The restaurant is a petite French restaurant just steps off the lobby and barely seats 30 people. Our waitress Silvia was really attentive and so helpful with the menu. She actually sat down a couple of times to chat about France and make sure we had everything we wanted. The vegetable tart was an amazing dish and we also enjoyed a crab bisque and split an amazing sea bass. We really felt like we were being served by family, rather than being at a fancy restaurant. At the same time, it was very upscale service, food and atmosphere. Patrick recommended champagne to start and then a delicious glass of a white wine I had never tried before. It was perfect. We finished with a delicious creme brûlée and a cappuccino.

Breakfast the next morning in the little garden patio was like icing on the cake. The little patio is surrounded by tropical flowers and hedges. Our young waiter was very attentive and breakfast was delicious. I wish we could have stayed longer! We will definitely be back.

I've read that there is a lot of noise outside the hotel. I did not notice any. I've ready REALLY OLD reviews on here about a hotel that was moldy, needed renovation, etc. etc. I recommend you disregard any review on here from more than a year or two ago because clearly none of that is true any longer, if ever.

Bonus Tip: If you go to the beach, be sure to come back before 7:00 pm and enjoy the little spa pool in the garden. The hotel and it's landscaping wrap around it and it's kind of dreamy. Enjoy.

P.S. When I read Trip Advisor reviews, I often wonder where else the reviewers have stayed. It's hard to know how reliable reviews are if they have never stayed in other hotels in the area. We have stayed at the Gansevoort South (more recently called the Perry), the Mondrian, the Ritz Carlton, the Tiffany (called the Hotel of South Beach), the Z, the Leslie, the Hotel Astor and the Sagamore. I have to say that although this hotel is not on the beach and is on the small side, it was one of our nicest stays in South Beach yet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this magnificent review.

We appreciate your exceptional compliments about our property and service. It’s always a pleasure to hear your expectations were exceeded.

Considering you visited many hotels in the area and recommend us so highly is truly an honor. We take pride in being different from all the hotels in South Beach. We strive to provide more than just an accommodation for our guest, we want them to feel as part of our family.

We look forward to having you stay at the Cadet again, your home away from home.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for a trip we took celebrating our 20 year anniversary based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were glad we did. Very nice little boutique hotel across the street from the beach, right in the heart of South Beach, Art Deco area with shops and foot all around.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Beach towels were available at the front desk and the location to the beach was excellent.

We at breakfast in the outdoor dining area and it was good food in an incredibly cozy outdoor area that we loved. I highly recommend this and will stay again upon a return to Miami Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us for such a memorable occasion.

We are honored to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you would so highly recommend us.

Hopefully you can celebrate your next anniversary here, with us, again! We wish you and your wife many more years of happiness.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I received a very warm welcome when I arrived, all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I had dinner in the restaurant and it was fantastic and the staff there were also wonderful.
The location is great, off the main street but close to the beach and shops.
The only complaint I would have is the hotel was a bit noisy, for example there was an ice machine in a store room across the hall and this made a lot of noise as the store room door was kept open for a while. Also the air conditioner cannot be adjusted from the room, the reception will do it for you but its slightly irritating and bizzare that they don't trust guests with the remote like most other hotels do.

Room Tip: I stayed in a queen superior room which had a lovely view of the garden and found the bathroom to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments.

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our hospitality and our location. Hopefully, you had enough time to explore everything our city had to offer.

We are glad you had a chance to dine at our restaurant Pied a Terre, as it is truly a different experience from any other restaurant on South Beach.

We apologize if the noise from the ice machine disturbed you; the ice machine was only placed on the hallway temporarily.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon!

Warm Regards,

Manger on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On arrival the staff were welcoming and had even taken a message from my friends. The room was nicely presented and there was a selection of berries and a couple of chocolates waiting for us. There was lots of information about the area to browse too. My only criticism was that the bathroom was certainly compact and bijou, but it served its purpose. The shower was hot and there were plenty of towels.

The following morning we stayed in the hotel for breakfast which we took in the garden. Reasonably proceed, there was a good variety to choose from. I had the Granola, yogurt and fruit which was presented well and very tasty. Everyone else had the full english breakfast which again was delivered promptly. The waiter was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. Unfortunately he could not manage the weather which decided to pour for 2 hours flooding the streets outside the hotel.

All in all, I would strongly recommend this hotel on price, service and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this wonderful review.

It’s a pleasure to hear our staff took care and of you so well! They are always more than happy to fulfill your needs.

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and that our waiter took care of you so promptly. We are sure next time you visit us there will be a lot of sunshine for you enjoy!
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed @ this hotel for 4 nights. It is a very nice boutique hotel right in the middle of the art deco district. Location can't be better. The hotel is very clean, bottles of water in the room, beach towels available at reception.
We didn't take breakfast because there are lots of spots in the neighbourhood where you can buy breakfast.
The only negatieve issue we had, is that the staff made a lot of noise at the reception desk, they woke us up early every morning and late at night talking and laughing. They were basic friendly, not too helpful.
I would recommend this hotel you won't regret staying there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.
We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

We apologize for the noise you may have experienced early in the morning. Please understand guests are coming in and out of their rooms and we cannot control the noise they make. Our front desk reception is located far from all the rooms, making it impossible for the noise to come from there.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Small boutique hotel, nice touches, very clean, reasonable and one block from the beach. Close to all action, restaurants etc. couldn't have picked a better or more affordable place to stay in South beach for the long weekend. Some other reviewers pointed out that breakfast at the hotel was pricey, but we thought it was quite reasonable and fresh. Staff are thoughtful and attentive. We traveled with a four year old who also enjoyed the small spa pool in the back when beach was not possible. Had a minor issue regarding beach towels which I did speak to staff about, but it was resolved courteously. We will definitely stay at Cadet Hotel the next time we are in South Beach. No doubt about it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our delicious breakfast and the beautiful weather Miami has to offer in our Jacuzzi.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach
Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.