We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #34 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed @ this hotel for 4 nights. It is a very nice boutique hotel right in the middle of the art deco district. Location can't be better. The hotel is very clean, bottles of water in the room, beach towels available at reception.
We didn't take breakfast because there are lots of spots in the neighbourhood where you can buy breakfast.
The only negatieve issue we had, is that the staff made a lot of noise at the reception desk, they woke us up early every morning and late at night talking and laughing. They were basic friendly, not too helpful.
I would recommend this hotel you won't regret staying there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write this review.
We are glad you enjoyed our location. We are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

We apologize for the noise you may have experienced early in the morning. Please understand guests are coming in and out of their rooms and we cannot control the noise they make. Our front desk reception is located far from all the rooms, making it impossible for the noise to come from there.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    220
    52
    14
    18
See reviews for
41
318
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Small boutique hotel, nice touches, very clean, reasonable and one block from the beach. Close to all action, restaurants etc. couldn't have picked a better or more affordable place to stay in South beach for the long weekend. Some other reviewers pointed out that breakfast at the hotel was pricey, but we thought it was quite reasonable and fresh. Staff are thoughtful and attentive. We traveled with a four year old who also enjoyed the small spa pool in the back when beach was not possible. Had a minor issue regarding beach towels which I did speak to staff about, but it was resolved courteously. We will definitely stay at Cadet Hotel the next time we are in South Beach. No doubt about it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy our delicious breakfast and the beautiful weather Miami has to offer in our Jacuzzi.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location, location! On James St and 17th - 2 blocks from great stretch of beach, one block from restaurants in Collins and a few blocks from shopping on Lincoln Rd. Claim to fame - Clark gable apparently stayed there. Charming boutique hotel, recently renovated - lovely down to small details - understated charm. Staff nice, and helpful. Bedroom small but very cozy - found welcome flower, choc, weather forecast. paper and avian water! Cute bar in lounge and nice garden to hang in - unfortunately there was construction next door so garden was not quiet but did not hear noise inside hotel. Small warm pool to lounge in but was raining so I look forward to going back to experience that. Also, lovely, small but pricey french restaurant on site - did not get to try. Had 6 a.m. flight and they made sure a taxi was there at 4 a.m for me! Thank you Carlos! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Chose room away from stairs. Only two floors - small hotel so walk up but staff helps with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to review us and write such wonderful comments!

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the little touches we offer for our guest; it is what sets up apart from all the hotels on South Beach.

We are sure next time you visit Miami there will be a lot of sunshine so you can enjoy our Jacuzzi.

We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Cadet & can't recommend it enough! We had booked a queen room but after a leak in the room above on the second day we were given a free upgrade to a king room instantly. Whilst the queen room had been adequate for us the king was much better. The bed was HUGE & so comfortable! The shower was massive & had two shower heads & the toiletries were all L'Occitane which I took full advantage of! The price compared to other hotels in the area was also very reasonable. If we stayed again we would definitely pay the extra for this room.

The location of the hotel is just right. It is a few minutes walk to the hustle & bustle of Lincoln Rd, Washington Ave & Collins but still far enough away to have a decent nights sleep. The beach is also a 5 minute walk away. The sun beds & umbrellas on the beach can be quite expensive so ask at reception for a discount voucher. This will get you 2 beds & a brolly for $20 when some other areas on the beach charge $60 for the same.

The staff at the hotel were all really friendly & helpful when we asked about anything.

The one negative was the air con. In the first room we had it wasn't very cool & only improved marginally after we asked for it to be turned down. It was also set to go on & off continuously which meant that the room struggled to stay cool. It was also extremely noisy. The air con in the bigger room was better & stayed on all of the time but was still very noisy & still wasn't quite cold enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our faithful guest and taking your time to review us.

There are always unexpected situations that can happen nonetheless, we are glad to hear that the room upgrade made your stay beyond pleasant.

It’s always great to hear our guest enjoyed our location. Since we are so close to the main attractions, we are sure you were able to experience everything Miami has to offer.

We will take your suggestion regarding the air conditioner into consideration, as it’s always our main goal to make your stay unforgettable.

We remain at your service.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We spend our vacation in Miami and we decided to stay at the Cadet Hotel. Great location with easy access to everywhere. Nice clean room, comfy bed, small and simple bathroom but great amenities. The staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly, helpful and courteous. Altogether, based on our experience an excellent stay and we will defenetly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to review us and write such wonderful comments!

We take pride in providing our guest a superior service; our staff is here to ensure that your stay with us is excellent.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street. Our guest can enjoy the best of Miami, yet experience a calm and delightful atmosphere when they arrive late at night at our hotel.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time staying here and I absolutely love this hotel. The staff is so attentive and helped me with all my request, the room was very clean and smelled great. I love all the little touches, chocolates, water and a smile from the staff every morning. Keep the good work Cadet Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this amazing review.

Our returning guests are always our priority. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, once again.

Our staffs is always just a call away and are more than happy to fulfill your needs, it’s great to hear that’s exactly what they did.

We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed couple of times in the past years but service and quality is not like before
Price going up 200$ or more and everything is going down

The rooms and bathrooms need to be upgraded and renovated to maintain to a standard
Quality sleep (bed) medicocre quality of linens poor, windowns not sound proof air conditionning making noise
The cleaning of the room can be better (hair in bathroom)
Safe so small not a size of a laptop
Bathroom (cover toilet moving) they should put a modern rain spa shower instead of this old bath
Fridge was not working they changed it
Turn down service made chocolate and bed open some evening towels not changed
In the past there was sleepers no more only in superior room still the bathrobe
In the past more amenities in bathroom like toothpaste no more and more towels
They still giving you beach towel but some still showing stains of lotion not very nice

As a person mention it is annoying that the jacuzzy is not open at night because of the restaurant

Staff seems as well to be bored and tired of people

I think it is time to look for another place until they do some renovation or price should go back down max to 140$

Location good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.