We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This is my third time staying here and I absolutely love this hotel. The staff is so attentive and helped me with all my request, the room was very clean and smelled great. I love all the little touches, chocolates, water and a smile from the staff every morning. Keep the good work Cadet Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this amazing review.

Our returning guests are always our priority. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, once again.

Our staffs is always just a call away and are more than happy to fulfill your needs, it’s great to hear that’s exactly what they did.

We look forward to welcoming you home again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    232
    57
    16
    19
See reviews for
48
343
42
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have stayed couple of times in the past years but service and quality is not like before
Price going up 200$ or more and everything is going down

The rooms and bathrooms need to be upgraded and renovated to maintain to a standard
Quality sleep (bed) medicocre quality of linens poor, windowns not sound proof air conditionning making noise
The cleaning of the room can be better (hair in bathroom)
Safe so small not a size of a laptop
Bathroom (cover toilet moving) they should put a modern rain spa shower instead of this old bath
Fridge was not working they changed it
Turn down service made chocolate and bed open some evening towels not changed
In the past there was sleepers no more only in superior room still the bathrobe
In the past more amenities in bathroom like toothpaste no more and more towels
They still giving you beach towel but some still showing stains of lotion not very nice

As a person mention it is annoying that the jacuzzy is not open at night because of the restaurant

Staff seems as well to be bored and tired of people

I think it is time to look for another place until they do some renovation or price should go back down max to 140$

Location good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

we stayed here from march 28-april 3. We enjoyed our stay here, this little hotel is central to all the locations we wanted to visit and a walking distance to the beach. it was clean, not pricey and well kept. i would very much come back here again :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review.

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped by this hotel to get a feel for our next trip....wow! Classic and wonderful atmosphere!

Very cool to know that Clark Gable was a frequent visitor and they actually showed us the suite he stayed in!

It was beyond in design and well worth a special occasion night! Fur covered chairs, ottomans, beautiful bathrooms and perfect in every way!

Only 1 block from the main area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write this magnificent review!

Our hotel is not only classy and beautiful but also rich in history. Our hotel became the home for the newly graduated West Point Cadets during the World War II, under the command of Captain Clark Gable. He stayed in our Master Suite which was named after him.

Every detail is unique and personally decorated by the Owner; she strives for perfection in every sense.

It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us during your next visit to Miami and welcome you as part of the Cadet Hotel family.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I come to Miami Beach annually for a business conference and I continue to stay here (3rd or 4th time now). I think the hotel is great value and great location - near Lincoln Road. I don't eat at the hotel as I'm eating at a conference at a fancier/larger hotel up the street - so I can't comment on the breakfast quality. I wish they had more electrical outlets (to recharge all the gadgets that everyone travels with these days) and I wish they cleaned the carpets better -- not dirty just stained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our faithful guest and taking your time to review us.

We will take your suggestion regarding the electrical outlets into consideration, as we always like to provide anything that our guest may need.

We apologize for the stains on the carpet. All the carpets are cleaned and vacuumed after every check-out that we have. We will make sure to take care of this matter immediately.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Cadet Hotel and I can honestly say it is an oasis of hospitality and comfort serenely positioned in all the energy and excitement that is South Beach! The staff are helpful and courteous and consistently welcoming. There is such a focus on the little details and extras that make it stand out from the many other hotels in that area. From the calming, comfortable rooms to the fruit bowl when you arrive to the evening chocolates and bottled water --- it is easy to feel pampered and appreciated while you are there. Recent upgrades in remodeling and ambience even further enhance the classiness that is reminiscent of a European hotel. While I was there this time, they installed new carpeting in the hallways that demonstrated to me once again how they always strive to improve the facility. I hightly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have always had a room on the 2nd floor, away from the street and it has been peaceful and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to review us and write such wonderful comments!

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the little touches we offer for our guest; it is what sets up apart from all the hotels on South Beach.

Our returning guests are always our priority. Consistency is what we always what to accomplish; no matter when you stay with us, you will always find a staff who here to ensure you are more than happy with your stay.

We remain at your service,

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre,brasil
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Second time in this hotel,service was better 3 years ago,breakfast reduced but very expensive,they added gratuity 20% automaticaly. Amenities in the room missing
Location perfect if you have to go to convention center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very disheartened to hear your comments regarding the hotel service. Most of our guest comment very positively about our service and our staff.

The breakfast menu has changed and now we offer breakfast a la carte. The gratuity included is 18%, not 20%, as quoted on your comment. We did explain this situation to you once you inquired in the front desk upon checking out. This is also written in the breakfast menu to advice our guest before they consume the breakfast.

Regarding the amenities in your room, we offer the same amenities consistently and we are regularly improving what we offer for our guest.

Sincerely,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.