We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clark Gable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clark Gable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stopped by this hotel to get a feel for our next trip....wow! Classic and wonderful atmosphere!

Very cool to know that Clark Gable was a frequent visitor and they actually showed us the suite he stayed in!

It was beyond in design and well worth a special occasion night! Fur covered chairs, ottomans, beautiful bathrooms and perfect in every way!

Only 1 block from the main area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write this magnificent review!

Our hotel is not only classy and beautiful but also rich in history. Our hotel became the home for the newly graduated West Point Cadets during the World War II, under the command of Captain Clark Gable. He stayed in our Master Suite which was named after him.

Every detail is unique and personally decorated by the Owner; she strives for perfection in every sense.

It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us during your next visit to Miami and welcome you as part of the Cadet Hotel family.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    221
    53
    14
    19
See reviews for
42
322
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I come to Miami Beach annually for a business conference and I continue to stay here (3rd or 4th time now). I think the hotel is great value and great location - near Lincoln Road. I don't eat at the hotel as I'm eating at a conference at a fancier/larger hotel up the street - so I can't comment on the breakfast quality. I wish they had more electrical outlets (to recharge all the gadgets that everyone travels with these days) and I wish they cleaned the carpets better -- not dirty just stained.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our faithful guest and taking your time to review us.

We will take your suggestion regarding the electrical outlets into consideration, as we always like to provide anything that our guest may need.

We apologize for the stains on the carpet. All the carpets are cleaned and vacuumed after every check-out that we have. We will make sure to take care of this matter immediately.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my fourth time staying at the Cadet Hotel and I can honestly say it is an oasis of hospitality and comfort serenely positioned in all the energy and excitement that is South Beach! The staff are helpful and courteous and consistently welcoming. There is such a focus on the little details and extras that make it stand out from the many other hotels in that area. From the calming, comfortable rooms to the fruit bowl when you arrive to the evening chocolates and bottled water --- it is easy to feel pampered and appreciated while you are there. Recent upgrades in remodeling and ambience even further enhance the classiness that is reminiscent of a European hotel. While I was there this time, they installed new carpeting in the hallways that demonstrated to me once again how they always strive to improve the facility. I hightly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I have always had a room on the 2nd floor, away from the street and it has been peaceful and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to review us and write such wonderful comments!

It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the little touches we offer for our guest; it is what sets up apart from all the hotels on South Beach.

Our returning guests are always our priority. Consistency is what we always what to accomplish; no matter when you stay with us, you will always find a staff who here to ensure you are more than happy with your stay.

We remain at your service,

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre,brasil
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Second time in this hotel,service was better 3 years ago,breakfast reduced but very expensive,they added gratuity 20% automaticaly. Amenities in the room missing
Location perfect if you have to go to convention center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very disheartened to hear your comments regarding the hotel service. Most of our guest comment very positively about our service and our staff.

The breakfast menu has changed and now we offer breakfast a la carte. The gratuity included is 18%, not 20%, as quoted on your comment. We did explain this situation to you once you inquired in the front desk upon checking out. This is also written in the breakfast menu to advice our guest before they consume the breakfast.

Regarding the amenities in your room, we offer the same amenities consistently and we are regularly improving what we offer for our guest.

Sincerely,

Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and were happy with our room. It was clean, quiet and overlooked the courtyard and hot tub outdoor area which is very pretty with plants and furnishings. The negative was the breakfast which was extremely expensive and the eggs were burnt. For the cost, it should have been much better. This is a great place to stay when you want to be near everything in SoBe but not in the noisy party areas that go all night. The little French restaurant that operates in the hotel was very good. We're not sure why the breakfast was such a vast difference from the dinner - it was delicious. Also, the hot tub is not available to guests once the dinner seating begins, kind of a bummer, since being in a hot tub at night makes more sense than in the heat of the day when in Miami. The bar seemed to also never be open for getting a drink later in the afternoon. We wanted mojitos and they did not have rum!? Seems kind of basic for a Miami bar - its as common as a margarita in this area. The staff was attentive, the room was very clean and comfortable and we felt completely safe and well cared for at the hotel. The room is very, very tiny, so those who need space should pay more and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard was pretty and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us.

It’s always great to hear you enjoyed you stay with us. Regarding the room size, we do offer a different variety of room sizes. Next time you stay with us, we recommend our beautiful Master Suite or perhaps one of our Junior Suites. They are more spacious and have a separate seating area.

We apologize that the breakfast was not cooked to your taste. Our breakfast does offer freshly squeezed orange juice, one of the best Colombian Coffees and all the ingredients used are fresh. We do feel that the price reflects what we offer for our guest.

Our hot tub closes at the same time the restaurant opens considering guest that dine outside use the same entrance from the hot tub. Also, we have dinning areas next to the hot tub; guest using the pool would not be appropriate for the guest dinning outside.

Our bar serves different drinks from the typical South Beach. We strive everyday to offer our guest a different experience and that is what we are known for, uniqueness.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us!

Best Regards,

Manage on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We loved the small and charming hotel. The small outdoor breakfast place was a good start of the day. The host and hostess kept the room clean and nice, excellent gourmet restaurant. We got all the help we need, even translating a speech from English/Norwegian to Spanish. We find two fantastic restaurants just a few steps away from the hotel. We will for sure go back next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the big rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us and for your kind words.

Our staffs is always just a call away and are more than happy to fulfill your needs, special requests are no intrusion, in fact, they are a pleasure.

We always strive to exceed your expectations and it’s a pleasure to hear we did.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Manage on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I wanted a one night stay close to the shopping of South Beach. The room and bathroom were tiny but clean and thoughtfully decorated. The little touches made it welcoming. Our room was against an alley and there were no noises at night or in the morning. The extras like glass bottles of Evan, fresh berries, chocolates and nice bathroom amenities were all appreciated. I especially liked the fine quality of the linens and duvee. I will stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review us and for your kind words.

We are very glad that you appreciated the special touches we provide for our guest.

Next time you visit us, we can assist you to book one of Superior Rooms or Junior Suites.
These rooms are more spacious and will allow you to further enjoy your stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear you recommend us so highly.

We hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards,

Manage on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.