We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cadet Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cadet Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cadet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #36 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard to beat for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Room - Small. Dorm like but clean. Tiny tv. Furniture that really does not match the room size (too large). Bathroom ultra small. Not enough toiletries or towels. HVAC set based upon season; either on or off. Heat or AC.

Staff - Super friendly and remembered me by name. They make the stay great.

Location - 2.5 blocks from beach and mayhem. Nice place to escape. 1/2 block from from Delano.

Overall - Paid $359. Reasonable because cheaper gets you a crappy hotel in same area or nicer hotel far away. You will pay $450 for the hotel you really want in the same location.

Bottom line - The only time we spent in the room was sleeping. There was no need to pay more. The $359 guaranteed a clean adequate room close to the classier section of south beach.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We apologize if the room was too small for your taste. We do offer a variety of rooms’ sizes; perhaps, during your next visit you can stay in one of our Superior Rooms or Junior Suites which are more commodious.

We take pride in providing our guest a superior service, our staff is just a call away and are more than happy to fulfill your needs. It’s always great to hear our guests were taken care of and pampered because every guest is special to us!

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    220
    52
    14
    19
See reviews for
42
321
39
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This Hotel provides all the basics in a 1st class way and it was spotless ! They provide 50% discount coupon you can use at the beach lfor oungers & umbrella worth $20, yes they are $40per day for 2 . This place is close to everything including the outside theatre (free) on the Symphony buildings wall and its incredible sound system, 1 block away. 1 block to Vibrant Lincoln rd with lots of restarunts and cafes , Beach & boardwalk 2 blocks , TD Bank ATM 1 block (on Lincoln) , Liquor store 2 blocks, Walgreens 2 blocks . $32 Taxi to Miami Airport , $100 Taxi to Ft.Lauderdale .

Gordiehowl

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are pleased to hear you appreciate the discounts for the beach chairs and umbrellas we offer; it is all those special details that make us incomparable.

Our location is fantastic; we are close to all the main attractions yet, situated in a quiet street.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The only thing that would make it better would be a complimentary breakfast. Other than that, it's perfect! The location is just far enough away from the action to get some decent sleep at some point, but close enough to get to places quick! CVS, the beach, restaurants, the bus stop, Lincoln Road Mall... it's all so close and convenient.

We had a basic queen room, and while it was a little small, it had everything we needed. The staff left chocolates on our pillow every night and the room was always spotless. The water pressure was good and we always had enough hot water. The mattress was comfy as well!

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. We take pride in providing our guest a calm and delightful atmosphere when they arrive late at night at our hotel. It is what sets up apart from all the hotels on South Beach.

For your next visit we recommend you try our Superior rooms or our Junior Suites that are more typical of our hotel and are also more spacious.

We hope to see you home back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

- nice and clean hotel
- good location (shopping, restaurants, etc. nearby)
- nice atmosphere (small little hotel instead of huge resort)
- WiFi

-/+ staff nice and tried to do best-possbile
-/+ not cheap but fair

- poor price-value for breakfast (not included)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!

It’s always great to hear our guest enjoyed our location. Since we are so close to the main attractions, we are sure you were able to experience everything Miami has to offer.

Our breakfast is served with freshly squeezed orange juice and fresh products. It is served in our outside garden for guest to relax early in the morning while they drink our delicious coffee. We feel the price reflects everything that we provide for our guest.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were very impressed with the service at this hotel-it was top-notch. We had shipped Amazon purchases to the hotel, and found them waiting in our room when we arrived. They gave us a nice little fruit bowl and bottled water too. I thought the hotel was very nice inside, and the giant hot tub in the back courtyard was very nice. My single complaint-the shower. It was a tad worse for wear, but given that the building is quite old I overlooked that initially. But, in the morning there was NO hot water, absolutely none. Again, I know the building is old, but on-demand hot water shouldn't be an issue at a hotel, at least at that price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

Our staff is here to ensure you are more than happy with your stay and to fulfill your needs, it’s always a pleasure to hear that’s exactly what they did.

We apologize for the problem you incurred with the shower. We have a central system that takes a little bit longer to heat up the water when no other guest is using it. We understand this can be bothersome and we are in the process of changing it.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our room was tastefully decorated art deco style, but also very comfy and clean. Staff were friendly, breakfast good and the hotel is only a blocks walk from the hub of Lincoln Road. Not the cheapest place to stay, but if you want to embrace the South Beach feel without spending a fortune I would really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room, which was quiet and had a lovely private view over the outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are very pleased to hear your enjoyed our decoration and location. Our location is great since we are walking distance to the main attractions in the city.

It is our ultimate goal that you depart from the hotel wanting to return and it’s a pleasure to hear you would recommend us.

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The Cadet Hotel has a fantastic location and is most certainly a boutique hotel. There is an European old world charm to this establishment, evident in both the common spaces and the rooms. The room we stayed in was small by American standards but right on par with many rooms we have stated in throughout Europe. It was appointed with furniture scaled for the room and felt cozy. The cadet Hotel does the little things very well, we had a welcome letter addressed to us waiting in the room with a bowl of fresh fruit and and thank you letter slipped under our door for check out. The porter was friendly and courteous as was the front desk clerk.
We did not try the bar in the lobby but it looked well stocked and even had an espresso machine. There was a piano in the lobby but we did not hear anyone playing it. In our room (206) there was evidence of water damage on the floor just below the air conditioning unit, it looks as if it has been there for a while. They burn inscents in the lobby, it was not particularly overpowering but some guests may be sensitive to the fragrance. Like other hotels we have stayed in on South Beach breakfast is a costly endevour. There are many places just around the corner to get a great breakfast at half the cost. All in all this was a nice place to stay, I have no reservations recommending this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CadetHotel, Front Office Manager at Cadet Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to review us.

We are glad you enjoyed our small details; we believe every guest is important and should be welcomed to our hotel in a special manner.

We apologize for the floor water damage we are in the process of changing all of our floors.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Warm Regards,

Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cadet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cadet Hotel

Address: 1701 James Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cadet Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cadet Hotel is in the heart of South Beach at the Art Deco District. Its excellent location provides a relaxed atmosphere and historical surroundings. Conveniently located just between the Convention Center and the Beach, even the famous Ocean Drive and Lincoln Road are within walking distance. Guest rooms offer a tranquil and charming alternative for our guests. Rooms come equipped with all you need to make your stay a delectable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Cadet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cadet Hotel Miami Beach
Cadet Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cadet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.