We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #21 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Cool designer hotel with themed rooms. Perfect for those who don't like standrad hotel chains. The hotel really is the best I have stayed in after 6 trips to Miami. Location is great, staff are so friendly and welcoming and the food is awesome. If you want something a little different I totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    238
    58
    20
    20
See reviews for
41
405
33
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican for a few days last month, after he ran the Miami marathon. We had originally intended to stay there the entire time we were in Miami, but cut it down to just the last few days, figuring that it would be noisy, crowded, hectic and crazy being on Ocean Drive. It wasn't. It is not high season, which I'm sure has something to do with it, but we found the Pelican to be rather quiet and serene. We had an oceanfront room-which was small but nicely decorated and with a fabulous view. The bed was comfortable and the windows blocked all the noise of the crowds and street. The bathroom was nice, and I loved all the quirky industrial fixtures and design details. The vintage lamps, rattan chair and window seat made the room a very enjoyable experience. The people at the front desk were very warm, friendly and helpful. I truly enjoyed staying here. We are not into the club scene and thought SOuth Beach would be too much for us. It is definitely there if you want it, but also possible to avoid.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

everything is good. However, we ran into cold storm, so they didn't have any service for the beach, but we still got charge for that. They don't have parking lot, but they have valet parking which we need to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We loved this hotel. We stayed for four nights in one of the third floor suites at the front--a huge room with a great view of the beach. It was such a unique and special room. Yes, a bit worn, perhaps, but still wonderful. The location was perfect, just two doors or so down from News Cafe and convenient to shopping on foot. Two of the three of us went swimming in the ocean and loved that too--chilly, but still perfectly fine. The sea was much more beautiful than we had anticipated with tropical colors and an incredibly spacious beach. The only downside was a poor internet connection much of the time. It was an unforgettable trip, though, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

What we really liked about the Pelican:

The individualisation of the room was just great and very special. We loved it. Detail does matter.

Overall, we were not impressed by the quality of the food on Ocean Drive but the Pelican´s restaurant was one of the best we experienced in this part of Miami. Good News is much talked about for breakfast but the Pelican beats it hands-down for quality.
The location - It is right on the ocean front, a short walk to the beach with chairs and towels provided by the Pelican. We run so the location was just great for that. Just leave and then you are practically on the beach.

Friendly and helpful staff which of course is one of the things we really like about the US in general.

We definitely felt we made the right choice but the following things were not so great:
The flip side of the great room design was the size. It really was small and had practically no wardrobe space.
The noise – This is to be expected from Ocean Drive so complaining about it is a moot point but it was loud loud loud and our room was on the side i.e. not facing the road. Up to a point, this is actually quite OK as it does really feel alive out there on the street, but if you are a light sleeper this may drive you nuts unless of course you plan on being out there with everybody else until very late.
We had rented a car and as as traffic is so heavy on Ocean Drive, picking up and dropping off the car always proved a bit of a stress especially when we arrived with all our luggage.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We went to the Pelican Hotel on our friends recommendation OMG! We are so glad they did it! Cool rooms, very clean and the staff is very friendly. The food at the restaurant is amazing i couldn't stop eating there! We also heard they are pretty famous in Miami from another couple that they have being going to the Pelican every year for the past 6 years. Well we are glad. See you next year Pelican thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I'm not a fan of the beach, but do business at Art Basel Miami Beach and decided to stay one night there and the rest inland, for fun and convenience to some of the events. Paid in advance nine months in advance to ensure a corner King Suite. Arrived and they sent us to non-corner queen room. Called down to the desk immediately to let them know they made a mistake. They denied it and said I had the ocean view room I reserved. Went back to the front desk with a confirmation in writing from their staff that I paid for a King Suite with ocean view, which was a corner room, King bed, lots more space. They were sold old and didn't offer any compensation. I asked. They said they would call the manager. Went back and forth on three levels of negotiation before I got $100. off. I consider this HORRIBLE customer service, lying and manipulation. I should not have had to ask at all, they should have immediately made an effort to fix their error. Room we stayed in was small but hip, great bathroom, but overall had seen better days. As much as I liked the aesthetic of the hotel, their treatment of a situation where I was wronged means I would not suggest it or stay there again. Ate in the restaurant when it didn't look busy but took over 45 minutes to get a cold lobster sandwich which was very tasty. They told us it was because I asked for toast inside of the regular brioche they served it on that it took so long. Again, their error was my fault. Overall staff was very nice, just two bad incidents. Wonder how often this happens to others? If I was the isolated incident, then just the luck of the draw, but if this is how they treat people generally — bad news! Too bad, because I'm a big fan of the DIESEL brand. I'll stick to wearing their jeans in future and skip the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.