We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice for the flavor of South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES
Ranked #20 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Big Canoe, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for the flavor of South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Great little funky ( you walk thru the restaurant /bar to get to reception) hotel in the heart of South Beach. Our room was immaculately clean and imaginatively decorated ( the web site shows each room's decorations). Everyone on staff was very nice and helpful. Free happy hour drinks and a good free breakfast help add up to a very good value. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are off the street and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    205
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
31
328
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Booked through hotwire and as I was feeling a little unwell decided to use a 4 star hotel to be sure of a good standard. This is a 4 star only in an alternate universe! It is unfortunately relatively cold in Florida at the moment and both the hotel and hotwire feel that I am being unreasonable in expecting heating in a 4 star hotel in Miami in January. I am now in bed with a pair of joggers and fleece on trying to get warm. Joy!! Will never use hotwire or stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Paul,

We are truly sorry that we failed to ensure you had a comfortable temperature in your room.

Please know that the thermostat in your room have the capability of switching to heat and each room works individually. In preparation for the record low climate, last month we have purchased additional warm blankets and portable heaters to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable. I'm confident that had we known we would have most certainly provided you with a portable heater.

I'm so very sorry that we were not able to assist you but truly hope you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Lupe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for just one night before flying back to the UK. We were greeted by a very happy, friendly man on the reception, Carlos I think who was lovely. All the staff were very nice. In the evening, a member of staff came to the room with a weather forecast for the following morning and chocolates.

I can't fault it really, 2 free cocktails for both of us during happy hour, yum. Free breakfast. (drinks not included though which is a bit odd). Funky rooms, great location, nice place. Loved the big 'rain' type shower. That was great. The whole hotel had a great vibe. There were always cool tunes playing downstairs and it was just a great place to come back to.It wasn't really noisy or anything which was good, just chilled and pleasant. Very close to the airport bus stop, loads of shops and places to eat nearby and right on the beach.

Sadly it rained both days we were here so we didn't get much beach time, but it was a nice hotel to be stuck in during the rain! I would definitely recommend it and would (and will hopefully!!) go back. loved it. Nice one.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Not much to add to all the other glowing reviews:

1. Easy check-in.
2. Super-friendly staff, both at reception and in the restaurant/bar.
3. Fun location on Ocean Drive.
4. Easy to rent chairs and an umbrella on the beach.
5. Really comfortable room.
6. Good (free!) drinks at happy hour.
7. Any change? I guess I wouldn't charge for coffee, which makes the free breakfast not free.
8. Would we return? We did! We stayed two nights before and one night after our trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Pelican is a place with several awards, but they refuse to sit down and enjoy them...they are always experimenting and bringing new and exciting changes to their menu. Every time, Pelican is a great experience, and one of the best restaurants in Ocean Drive. A must!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I travel for business often and stay at flag hotels. I took a chance and booked this hotel based on reviews. It was a fantastic idea. Check in was simple and my room was a suite so I had a great area to work from. Could not wait to wrap up and head to the bar. The bartenders are great from all over the world . If you get a chance eat at the restaurant food was amazing!
.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Always wanted to try an Art Deco hotel in sobe. I found a great place , very attentive staff , clean and although you travel alone the staff makes you feel like family. There is an Italian man at the reception desk that is amazing. He can point you in the right direction on anything that one would need. Check out the staff shirts all with great quotes on back. I truly did not want to leave this hotel. They offer water in room, wifi, breakfast , beach chairs and drinks in afternoon. The rooms are small but who cares it's truly a must when traveling to south beach. They offer passes to equinox gym!! Can't beat that

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.