We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #22 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for just one night before flying back to the UK. We were greeted by a very happy, friendly man on the reception, Carlos I think who was lovely. All the staff were very nice. In the evening, a member of staff came to the room with a weather forecast for the following morning and chocolates.

I can't fault it really, 2 free cocktails for both of us during happy hour, yum. Free breakfast. (drinks not included though which is a bit odd). Funky rooms, great location, nice place. Loved the big 'rain' type shower. That was great. The whole hotel had a great vibe. There were always cool tunes playing downstairs and it was just a great place to come back to.It wasn't really noisy or anything which was good, just chilled and pleasant. Very close to the airport bus stop, loads of shops and places to eat nearby and right on the beach.

Sadly it rained both days we were here so we didn't get much beach time, but it was a nice hotel to be stuck in during the rain! I would definitely recommend it and would (and will hopefully!!) go back. loved it. Nice one.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    192
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
298
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Not much to add to all the other glowing reviews:

1. Easy check-in.
2. Super-friendly staff, both at reception and in the restaurant/bar.
3. Fun location on Ocean Drive.
4. Easy to rent chairs and an umbrella on the beach.
5. Really comfortable room.
6. Good (free!) drinks at happy hour.
7. Any change? I guess I wouldn't charge for coffee, which makes the free breakfast not free.
8. Would we return? We did! We stayed two nights before and one night after our trip to Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Pelican is a place with several awards, but they refuse to sit down and enjoy them...they are always experimenting and bringing new and exciting changes to their menu. Every time, Pelican is a great experience, and one of the best restaurants in Ocean Drive. A must!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I travel for business often and stay at flag hotels. I took a chance and booked this hotel based on reviews. It was a fantastic idea. Check in was simple and my room was a suite so I had a great area to work from. Could not wait to wrap up and head to the bar. The bartenders are great from all over the world . If you get a chance eat at the restaurant food was amazing!
.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Always wanted to try an Art Deco hotel in sobe. I found a great place , very attentive staff , clean and although you travel alone the staff makes you feel like family. There is an Italian man at the reception desk that is amazing. He can point you in the right direction on anything that one would need. Check out the staff shirts all with great quotes on back. I truly did not want to leave this hotel. They offer water in room, wifi, breakfast , beach chairs and drinks in afternoon. The rooms are small but who cares it's truly a must when traveling to south beach. They offer passes to equinox gym!! Can't beat that

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Went with my friends for a guys weekend. Loved the free drinks and we stayed at the zebra room. Great view and the staff was great. Definitely will return. It's a few steps from wet Willys. Will be back for winter break! Thank you Silvia great service at restaurant.

Room Tip: Great upgrade fees for suites offered at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This small hotel is perfect! Location, service and staff. The rooms are kept very clean the staff is extremely friendly. So I read some of the reviews about drinks not included at breakfast...really some hotels offer a muffin or cold bagel these guys offer great choices including eggs Benedict don't sweat if you have to buy your drinks. All in all a wonderful stay and will recommend to everyone

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach
Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.