We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save
Ranked #26 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would definitely return.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location if you want to be in the middle of everything. Right opposite the beach with oodles of restaurants around. Our room had no view which in hindsight was great. There was absolutely zero noise from the street.

The room was quite small but this is common with most of the art deco styled hotels in the area.

All the staff we encountered were great. Helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was a nice touch as we were not expecting it. Other touches like free bottled water in the room, free reliable wifi and access to a fantastic local gym really made for a great stay.

And what's more, the room rate was fantastic value for the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    253
    65
    21
    20
See reviews for
45
438
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My Wife and I checked into the Pelican on Sunday, Oct 13,for a one night stay, upon checking in we were treated like gold!! Check in was quick and easy, and the room was very chic! All the rooms have a theme, we were in up , up , and away, a airplane flight theme!! Beds were a lil on the hard side , but room was very nice with free Italian spring water in the refrigerator! Included in your stay is an all-inclusive TWO Hour drink happy hour that was amazing!!! Also breakfast for two the next morning, that was excellent!! Location was Perfect, right on South Beach, and with happy hour and breakfast included!! You can't go wrong!!! What value for a sleek, chic, South Beach hotel!!! Definitely Will Return!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Can second a lot of what others have said: helpful front desk, cute decor, free water, breakfast beach chair and towels. Just an all around great hotel. I got the room through Priceline. Had to call to make sure I got a queen instead if two twins.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect location, stunningly diverse and different in a very good way. Complimentary breakfast, lovey bar food. There is really nothing bad to say about anything, The location is just lovely. Prices are very reasonable for the level of service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a really good surprise to stay at the Pelican hotel all rooms are different, very clean, amenities are great ( wifi, breakfast, complimentary happy hour, beach access...) and the best is the team, all staff are AWESOME always professional and keep smiling ... From housekeeping attendant to restaurant team but specially the reception staff are wonderful.... Thank you I be back soon....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican for 3 nights in September 2013. We had the room "Born in the stars and stripes", with its special interior. The room was not large (as is normal for Miami), but had a table and two chairs and a comfortable bed. It is true that the aircon can be noisy at night, but it works fine, so we didnt have a problem with that. The bathroom was relatively spacious and the rain shower was amazing. Housekeeping was very good, everything super clean, they even cleaned up the bathroom twice one day after I had an afternoon shower. Hotel staff was very helpful, they even let me use their phone and computer when I wanted to make a call which I couldnt make from my international phone.

The restaurant has very good food (ate there twice) and the breakfast offer for guests was a nice touch. Of course, the happy hour was much appreciated, and the cocktails were good!
All in all, I would definitely recommend the place to my friends, for both atmosphere and service. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing another building (so, not much of a view), but must be defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Last minute booking, making sure we were comfortable, not taking advantage of our lack of energy to search other hotels after a looong day!

Great Happy Hour(that comes with room)...Great Breakfasts (that come with room)...and a Beautiful and VERY Professional GM, Lupe Castillo!!!

See you again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#32 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#22 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#13 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
0.5 mi away
Edgewater South Beach
Edgewater South Beach
#20 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#38 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.