We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Drinks
Ranked #17 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My Wife and I checked into the Pelican on Sunday, Oct 13,for a one night stay, upon checking in we were treated like gold!! Check in was quick and easy, and the room was very chic! All the rooms have a theme, we were in up , up , and away, a airplane flight theme!! Beds were a lil on the hard side , but room was very nice with free Italian spring water in the refrigerator! Included in your stay is an all-inclusive TWO Hour drink happy hour that was amazing!!! Also breakfast for two the next morning, that was excellent!! Location was Perfect, right on South Beach, and with happy hour and breakfast included!! You can't go wrong!!! What value for a sleek, chic, South Beach hotel!!! Definitely Will Return!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    231
    55
    20
    18
See reviews for
38
390
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Can second a lot of what others have said: helpful front desk, cute decor, free water, breakfast beach chair and towels. Just an all around great hotel. I got the room through Priceline. Had to call to make sure I got a queen instead if two twins.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect location, stunningly diverse and different in a very good way. Complimentary breakfast, lovey bar food. There is really nothing bad to say about anything, The location is just lovely. Prices are very reasonable for the level of service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papeete, French Polynesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a really good surprise to stay at the Pelican hotel all rooms are different, very clean, amenities are great ( wifi, breakfast, complimentary happy hour, beach access...) and the best is the team, all staff are AWESOME always professional and keep smiling ... From housekeeping attendant to restaurant team but specially the reception staff are wonderful.... Thank you I be back soon....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican for 3 nights in September 2013. We had the room "Born in the stars and stripes", with its special interior. The room was not large (as is normal for Miami), but had a table and two chairs and a comfortable bed. It is true that the aircon can be noisy at night, but it works fine, so we didnt have a problem with that. The bathroom was relatively spacious and the rain shower was amazing. Housekeeping was very good, everything super clean, they even cleaned up the bathroom twice one day after I had an afternoon shower. Hotel staff was very helpful, they even let me use their phone and computer when I wanted to make a call which I couldnt make from my international phone.

The restaurant has very good food (ate there twice) and the breakfast offer for guests was a nice touch. Of course, the happy hour was much appreciated, and the cocktails were good!
All in all, I would definitely recommend the place to my friends, for both atmosphere and service. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing another building (so, not much of a view), but must be defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Last minute booking, making sure we were comfortable, not taking advantage of our lack of energy to search other hotels after a looong day!

Great Happy Hour(that comes with room)...Great Breakfasts (that come with room)...and a Beautiful and VERY Professional GM, Lupe Castillo!!!

See you again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First couple of nights of a US road trip started in Miami and after a bit of research we booked the pelican on ocean drive. Each room has its own theme, ours was 'viva las Vegas' loved it!! The location is ideal, right opposite the beach and with a lovely outside terrace for the people watching!! The staff were really friendly, the breakfast delicious and the room spotless. Oh and the happy hour (2 hour!) was a much appreciated bonus! If we ever return to Miami or if we have any friends heading there then The Pelican is top of the list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.