We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, funky rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #22 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, funky rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Pelican Hotel is located right next to the beach and in the midst of all the food, drinks and fun that Miami is known for...plus its rooms are unique, so funky! And the shower is absolutely outstanding, its like a waterfall! The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel's freebies are a big plus point...would certainly recommend The Pelican for anyone looking for Miami's unique Art Deco experience.

Room Tip: Go for the funkiest sounding room, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    192
    43
    19
    16
See reviews for
28
298
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. I loved the themed rooms, the fun and friendly staff, and the location. Literally steps away from the beach. AND! The best part....freeee happy hour for all hotel guests!!! I'd love to stay at Pelican again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located around 8th Street and Ocean Drive. The staff are really, really nice. They even let us store our luggage there for almost a whole day since we took a really late flight out. The rooms each have a different theme which is fun and the rooms were actually really quiet at least where I was - in the Up, Up in the Air room. The only complaints I have are - (1) the bed was SUPER uncomfortable (it was really, really hard) and (2) we had a lot of issues with the water becoming scolding hot.

Room Tip: Up, Up in the Air was a cute room, but super uncomfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

this place was the greatest, the room was clean and fresh, house keeping was excellent , the front desk was excellent. even the bar maids were great . (they reminded us to stop by for the happy hour)
when ever I visit SB I'm staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I just finished up a 4 night stay with the Pelican Hotel.

The Pros: free happy hour from 4-6 and free breakfast (only certain breakfast menu items). The free beach chair (from 9-6) and free towels for the beach. We had a waitress that was fantastic and we sat in her section everytime we ate/drank.

The Cons:
We stayed in Room #210 (Halfway to Hollywood which was later nicknamed Halfway to Hell). The room was warm upon our arrival but we assumed they had just turned the a/c on. 6 hours later when we returned it was still warm. We then made the mistake of turning on the ceiling fan. HOLY MOTHER. It was like a 747 during takeoff. I'm sure the people 3 rooms down heard the noise. The next morning I asked the front desk asking to have our a/c fixed. After being gone all day and coming back we were assured our a/c had been fixed. Nope. We were then told that the a/c repair guy would come back the following morning and the hotel was full. While two other rooms were being cleaned we stepped in there and the a/c appeared to be working perfectly in those. Finally the last night it was so bad I went to the front desk at midnight asking for a fan. They offered a window-unit a/c that would take some time to install – we had an early morning flight and needed sleep. We gave up.

The bed was hard because it’s only a mattress on wood slats. There is no ventilation in the bathroom so imagine the sauna when trying to take a shower. The water from the shower pooled 1-2 inches in front of the toilet and trashcan which made wearing flip flops mandatory. In the trashcan upon arrival we found someone’s underwear stuffed in it. Blech.

Bottom line we will never return. We spent quite a large amount for this hotel and spent the entire time sweating and uncomfortable. Not what we expected from such a high-ranking hotel. It was hoped that we could find one place in South Beach where we could become regulars. It won't be this hotel.

Room Tip: Find another boutique hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed the many amenities the Pelican Hotel and Café has to offer such as guest appreciation breakfast, Pelican happy hour, beach services, fresh beach towels and Bigelow toiletries daily. Your feedback is very important and has been shared with the entire staff. With reference to the AC in your room, please know that we have a fully time staff specializing in the maintenance of AC regrettably we could not find a problem with the unit. The room log was checked as well and no reports were found. We are truly sorry that it was not cool enough for your comfort. Should you wish to give us another opportunity, we will be delighted to provide you with a special rate in one of our beautiful Ocean View rooms.

Thank you again and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Each room is unique, which is a nice touch. Brilliant service, reception staff helped organise transport and even printed our boarding passes for our return flight.

Location is perfect for the entertainment and people watching of Ocean Drive, but at the same time it was very quiet during the night (may have been good sound proofing).

I would definitely recommend staying here and would certainly stay again when we return to Miami.

My wife's first comment was "are all the staff models?". I think that tells you everything you need to know "welcome to Miami!".

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time that we are staying at this hotel and it's become better and better. Fantastic boutique hotel, friendly staff with personal service let's you feel like at paradise . Great location in the heart of Ocean Drive. This is our favorite hotel in South Beach.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach
Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.