We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a little different!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
Turks and Caicos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location and a little different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Each room is unique, which is a nice touch. Brilliant service, reception staff helped organise transport and even printed our boarding passes for our return flight.

Location is perfect for the entertainment and people watching of Ocean Drive, but at the same time it was very quiet during the night (may have been good sound proofing).

I would definitely recommend staying here and would certainly stay again when we return to Miami.

My wife's first comment was "are all the staff models?". I think that tells you everything you need to know "welcome to Miami!".

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    219
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
34
357
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time that we are staying at this hotel and it's become better and better. Fantastic boutique hotel, friendly staff with personal service let's you feel like at paradise . Great location in the heart of Ocean Drive. This is our favorite hotel in South Beach.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location was great. We were there for 5 nights on a honeymoon. We bought the suite. The suite was very small and extremely over priced. The staff was friendly and helpful, but even if the price that we paid was cut in half, I would not go back. Granted we were there during spring break, when the rates are highest, but for the amount we paid, we could have been in the most luxurious room in Miami. The suite was very modest. It was comparable in quality to a normal room at a super 8. Like I said, the location was top notch, but not worth the price. We are returning to Miami next march, and we will not be staying here. Our view from the suite was spectacular. The food was pretty good. The staff was great. The shower was excellent. I really like the bed. The valet parking was a big hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for having chosen the Pelican Hotel for your honeymoon. March is quite electrifying in South Beach as your dates not only fell during Spring Break but Ultra Music Festival and Winter Conference! Every one of the 29 rooms is completely different from the other. All have been daringly and wittily designed by the Swedish interior decorator Magnus Ehrland. The suite you booked is our small jewel called the :Big Bamboo". Small in size but offers an amazing view of the Sky, Palm Trees and the pristine waters of Miami Beach. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host you.

You mentioned you will be returning in March, if you do and would like a larger suite, please feel free to contact us directly for special rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor and patrons,

We stayed at the Pelican in May and had a great experience! The staff was great, a good value, and the hotel a cool vibe!

I remember a particular staff member who said he was from Argentina (Carlos) who was exceptional and he spent a lot of time explaining some of the history of the hotel and it's relationship with Deisel, which we never knew. Hotel employees rarely take the time to explain anything they are so rushed. Well, this was a breath of fresh air. Thank you Carlos! We will come back to the Pelican again and his hospitality was much appreciated! Also, Mia was also very helpful and friendly and another reason to return because of the service.

Warm Regards,

Julia and John

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have heard excellent things about Miami Beach so I booked a trip for my girlfriend and I this past week. Before we left I was concerned because it had been nothing but rain the whole last week. Sure enough we arrived in Miami around 11am Thursday to a monsoon but we did not care we were finally on vacation. Check in was not until 3pm but the front desk was excellent and allowed us to store our luggage in the back until our room was ready later that day. Besides the first day we lucked out and got perfect weather the other 4 days we were in South Beach.

I have stayed in many hotels and I can say this is the nicest and most accommodating staff I have ever experienced. Everyone including the bar staff and servers at the hotel restaurant would be more than happy to provide anything to make your stay the best it can be. The rooms are each individually themed and very clean. It was fun to talk with the other guests at happy hour to find out about the different style rooms we all had.

Miami like any other vacation destination is pricey but for the location and amenities this hotel has to offer there is no better deal in South Beach. Located in the heart of South Beach you are close to all the action and literally across the street from the beach. You will not find another hotel that includes:

-Free Breakfast (Not a continental breakfast but an actual meal off of their breakfast menu)
- Free Happy Hour from 4-6pm everyday (YES OPEN BAR)
-Free beach towel
-Free lounge chair at the beach located directly across the street

Once you spend one day in Miami you will realize that the free happy hour makes it all worth it when every drink is $20-$30 dollars.

The only thing I would caution about is to make sure you realize before you get there that gratuity is included in every bill anywhere in SoBe no matter the size of the party. I did not realize this the first bill but the service was excellent and I did not mind the double tip.

Overall this is the best deal in South Beach and I could not have asked for a better trip. I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and a few friends stayed here during the period of the big miami heat parade. Its right in the middle of all the action on ocean drive and is walking distance to most of the places you want to go. Its opposite the beach and there's a workout section for pull-ups and dips right in front of the hotel. The rooms themselves are spacious enough to manoeuvre around and the room service come to clean the room daily replacing the towels and bedding providing free bottled drinking water in the fridge. All of the staff are extremely friendly and you get free beach towels and free deck-chairs to use! You also get free breakfast which tastes great and all the waiters are real friendly. You can get a great nights sleep in this hotel. This place seems good for couples and groups of friends. If I ever went back to miami it would be this hotel or fontainebleau I would stay at. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody wanting an exciting south beach experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My brother and i stayed at the Pelican. it was right off the beach needless to say great location. however, the staff really made it a great place to stay. the rooms were nice a bit small but cool. Each room was themed. that was cool to but the staff really made the place shine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.