We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES
Ranked #22 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Lockport, New York
1 review
“A great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just returning to chilly New York but had to comment on the wonderful time at the Pelican. My wife and I wanted to unwind after our Caribbean cruise so we spent a few days in SoBe. Front Desk staff were wonderful. Very friendly and helpful. Every room has a different decor and we enjoyed the funky, quirky look. Bed was firm and sheets were very comfortable. Free Happy Hour for hotel guests and tasty affordable appetizers. Breakfast was affordable and very nice. Used the complementary membership to the local Equinox gym. The towels and beach lounge chairs were greatly enjoyed. Already talking about our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    203
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
29
320
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The location is perfect for lounge lizards and enjoying a view of the goings on in Ocean Drive. Loved the room we stayed in with it's African theme. All the rooms are different. Quirky and upbeat. Initially I thought that the noise at street level would interrupt my sleep but once in the room, nothing from below could be heard.Staff were very friendly and we probably enjoyed the complimentary 'happy hour' a bit too much but the cocktails were delicious! Lazed on South Beach using the complimentary loungers and very large beach towels. Had a breakfast at the hotel on the day we left and it was excellent. We had a great stay and I would love to stay there again....one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located right on Ocean Drive so right when you walk outside you have the beach right in front of you. The restaurant serves great food and the bar is great as well. I did not meet a staff member that was unfriendly. I would definitely recommend this place to other people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you FtLaudyFred for your review. If you get a chance follow us on Facebook for upcoming events and specials. www.facebook.com/pelicanhotel.

Cheers,

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just 2 blocks down from, and much quieter than, the legendary Clevlander Hotel, this was a perfect getaway pick. The Art deco rooms were very stylishly designed and comfortable. Staff was friendly and the free happy hour was refreshingly intoxicating!
Free beach towels and giant beach loungers were complimentary and comfortable which made our "people watching people watching people" on south beach all that more enjoyable - Did I mention that many sunseekers on south beach are topless? ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Happy to learn you enjoyed your time with us. Looks like you travel often to South Beach, please contact us directly on your return visit. We often have loyalty rates for our repeat clients. Remember to follow us on Facebook for upcoming events and specials. www.facebook.com/pelicanhotel.

Cheers
Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Every room has a different theme! Pretty cool hotel considering I booked on Hotwire! Was a bit leary to book with them, but pleasantly surprised with the hotel selection!

Pros: front desk staff super friendly and great customer service, crazy unique room designs, heart of SoBe/Ocean Drive - so in the middle of the action, open bar for Happy Hour - not cheap free drinks they are the ultra-premium drink...but free, beach is across the street with complimentary beach chairs for guests, our waitress was awesome - wish I could remember her name!!

Cons: Beds were the HARDEST as HARD we've ever slept on, AC unit was noisy and weak but we had a nice fan in the room, retro bathrooms - but clean, no view - at least our room did not have a view and we had twin beds!

My husband and I stayed for our anniversary, as we were heading back north from the Keys. To our surprise, we were there in this midst of the BCS Championship game action. Super fun and tons of stuff in SoBe and fun to be amongst the crwds - if you like that kind of thing! Close to fabulous restaurants, although the hotel restaurant has fabulous food...and drinks!

Love this location, wonderful staff and crazy room designs but wish the beds were more comfortable!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are truly grateful for your review. During the month of February (21 - 24) we have the The Food Network South Beach Wine & Food Festival -another great time to visit the Pelican Hotel.

On behalf of the team, congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for the recommendation.

Regards,
Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Pelican is a great hotel with very nice service and good food in the restaurant. The rooms are nice, clean and fairly big, and the bathrooms are very nice. Stayed here three nights in January, and have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your kind review. We truly hope that should your travels bring you back to south beach you will consider staying with us again.

Regards,
Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hands down, in terms of decor and design, the most original and fun hotel I've been to. Every room has a different theme! Pros: front desk staff great, complimentary bottle of wine, unique design, heart of SoBe/Ocean Drive, open bar, not noisy at all, beach is across the street!!! Cons: restaurant staff not that nice, being on Ocean Drive means dealing with crowds and restaurant people trying to reel you in constantly right out the door, our bed was HARD as a rock, AC unit was noisy and weak, shower had mold (but it was a cool shower otherwise!). My guy and I appreciated staying there, but we won't choose this place again (not just because of the hotel, though, mostly because of location...Ocean Drive/SoBe is not for us we discovered).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Xtina,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We work closely with our customers to ensure that we not only meet your expectations but exceed it. Know that your feed back is very important to us. If you could send me an email with the details of the room that you stayed in I would truly appreciate it.

My email address is : Lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Thank you again,

Lupe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Amex, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.