We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome little hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Booked on hotwire, got a great price. I'm always curious how these South Beach hotels will play out. They have free drinks during happy hour and they're GREAT drinks. Not your average cheap well drink. Also, the decor is super cool. Very interesting mix of modern and vintage. Definitely would recommend

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Daguitaristz,

On behalf of the team we are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we truly look forward to your return visit.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    213
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
33
346
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Pelican was clean and the beds comfortable, but the hotel is obviously very old and in need of some renovation. This hotels claim to fame is the excellent location right on Ocean Dr. Parking was available on the street for about half of the cost of valet.

The desk staff was friendly and helpful as was the bar staff. They are trying very hard to give everyone a good experience. Great for Pre-cruise stay in South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We love this hotel! Ive stayed here probably 7 times. Its an experience, not just a hotel stay. This site is great for those that like action, there's tons of it. The rooms are fun, clean and creative. The executive suites are a steal, highly suggest.

Room Tip: There isnt a pool or fitness center, thats the only reason on low marks for those selections. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear DTHippyChick,

How refreshing to read your review. The Pelican is truly an experience and not the typical hotel some of our parents would stay at. A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair.


Thank you for your continued support and we look forward to number 8!

Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while in Miami recently for Art Basel - chose it on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and location - so glad we did. The rooms were clean and quirky, although ours, being on the side of the building, was rather dark and had no view. That wasn't really a problem though as we didn't spend much time in the room. The location is absolutely unbeatable, right in the heart of the craziness that is South Beach. The hotel's sidewalk cafe is a great spot for people watching - and there's certainly plenty of interesting sights in this neighbourhood. The breakfast here is great and very reasonably priced and the staff are really nice and also efficient. We really appreciated the free bottled water which was provided daily in the rooms and the free two-hour happy hour for house guests - tried lots of great cocktails! All in all, had a very enjoyable stay at the Pelican.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear TravelLover50,

On behalf of our team thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The Pelican Hotel has been a staple on Ocean Drive since the 1930's. We are delighted to read that you had a great experience at the cafe and that you had time to sample our great cocktails.

We look forward to having you back with us in 2013.

Happy Holidays from the Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just stayed at the Pelican. We had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and a terrific view. There was attention to every detail in the room. The staff and manager were so very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to our next stay there when we return to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of the Pelican team thank you kindly for your great review. We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

Happy Holidays from the Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This funky hip-hop styled hotel has an upbeat feel to it. Hurricaine Sandy had us stranded from New york and the staff and management couldnt be more helpful through our stressful time.
I had the opportunity to check out some of the rooms, not one was the same, they had all different types of themes and designs! I found it to be quite relaxing sitting outside at their cafe enjoying their daily complimentary happy hour and looking at the beach set directly across from us. This hotel is in a great location, very clean, and wonderful people as part of their staff. I highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway or as an extended stay :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your review. It was truly a pleasure to assist you during hurricane Sandy's visit to South Beach. Most of all, thank you for your kind words concerning our team. We believe we have the best in the city. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Pelican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Pelican on my trip here and I have to say the hotel is really fabulous. It is a fun trip back in vintage design and architecture. They definetly show a great passion to maintain this little piece of hystory and at the same time make it relevant, hip and modern with all the amenities that you would expect in a hotel of this caliber.
All the rooms are different themes and they are so much fun. I ended up staying in the "psychedelic girl" room and loved it :)))
I can honestly say I am really impressed with the design and layout of this hotel.
The staff was impeccable attending to my every need. The Genel Manager of the hotel Ms Castillo was fantastic in arranging for us a last minute function for some VIP guests I had and making sure I could do something unique and particular for them with very little time.
I would like to give a special mention to Mr. Mentore at the front desk who speaks a few languages including italian (mine) that is one of kindest and most efficient individuals I ever met. The restaurant is a must also and would like to mention the Chef Rocco for cuddling my taste buds with his creations and Giuseppe who manages the restaurant for making sure I was given impeccable service especially when I had my VIP guests. I must say: if you have the opportunity to make a stop at the Pelican you will not regret it. It's fun, it's different, it's personable and most of all it has the right people tending to your every need.
In the chaos that south beach can be this location is an oasis and a jewel.
I will come back here for sure and I would warmly recommend it to all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear G G,

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. As a boutique hotel/restaurant our goal is to ensure that we exceed your expectation. We are delighted to have read that we were able to do so. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon in Sobe.

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.