We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES
Ranked #20 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We just stayed at the Pelican. We had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and a terrific view. There was attention to every detail in the room. The staff and manager were so very friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to our next stay there when we return to South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
On behalf of the Pelican team thank you kindly for your great review. We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

Happy Holidays from the Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    357
    204
    47
    19
    17
See reviews for
30
323
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This funky hip-hop styled hotel has an upbeat feel to it. Hurricaine Sandy had us stranded from New york and the staff and management couldnt be more helpful through our stressful time.
I had the opportunity to check out some of the rooms, not one was the same, they had all different types of themes and designs! I found it to be quite relaxing sitting outside at their cafe enjoying their daily complimentary happy hour and looking at the beach set directly across from us. This hotel is in a great location, very clean, and wonderful people as part of their staff. I highly recommend this hotel for a weekend getaway or as an extended stay :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for your review. It was truly a pleasure to assist you during hurricane Sandy's visit to South Beach. Most of all, thank you for your kind words concerning our team. We believe we have the best in the city. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Happy Holidays from all of us at the Pelican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Pelican on my trip here and I have to say the hotel is really fabulous. It is a fun trip back in vintage design and architecture. They definetly show a great passion to maintain this little piece of hystory and at the same time make it relevant, hip and modern with all the amenities that you would expect in a hotel of this caliber.
All the rooms are different themes and they are so much fun. I ended up staying in the "psychedelic girl" room and loved it :)))
I can honestly say I am really impressed with the design and layout of this hotel.
The staff was impeccable attending to my every need. The Genel Manager of the hotel Ms Castillo was fantastic in arranging for us a last minute function for some VIP guests I had and making sure I could do something unique and particular for them with very little time.
I would like to give a special mention to Mr. Mentore at the front desk who speaks a few languages including italian (mine) that is one of kindest and most efficient individuals I ever met. The restaurant is a must also and would like to mention the Chef Rocco for cuddling my taste buds with his creations and Giuseppe who manages the restaurant for making sure I was given impeccable service especially when I had my VIP guests. I must say: if you have the opportunity to make a stop at the Pelican you will not regret it. It's fun, it's different, it's personable and most of all it has the right people tending to your every need.
In the chaos that south beach can be this location is an oasis and a jewel.
I will come back here for sure and I would warmly recommend it to all

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear G G,

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. As a boutique hotel/restaurant our goal is to ensure that we exceed your expectation. We are delighted to have read that we were able to do so. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon in Sobe.

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Pelican! The rooms are cute, the people who work downstairs at the restaurant are amazing also! We fell in love with Sylvia.. she is awesome!! :-) The chairs on the beach are awesome and so comfortable you'll fall asleep! Can't beat the location for nightlife and the happy hour for guests! I will be returning for my next trip soon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Rocky, how great to hear about your amazing time. We have the pleasure of having a fantastic team in both the hotel and restaurant. Thank you for your kind words Sylvia has been recently promoted we are very pleased to read your review concerning her performance.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel with fun rooms with different themes. Nice bathroom. The valet parking was a minus. It takes quite some time and it is a bit chaotic. But the very nice thing about this hotel is the free happy hour!!! Very nice gesture!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Pelican Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The complimentary Happy Hour is our way of thanking our guests for having chosen us as the hotel of choice amongts many others in Sobe. We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

The Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With expectations high given the overwhelming favorable reviews this hotel did not deliver on its rating grade and my stay was average at best. I've stayed at a variety of hotels in Miami in the 3/4 star range and my expectations are modest with South Beach hotels. (very) Generous ratings in my opinion. Themed rooms (which one will either love or hate) are a good marketing pull and the Diesel name associated to it adds credibility yet the place lacks room quality - leaking faucets, non functioning phones, aged air conditioning units, unbearable noisy ceiling fans, average bath. Thought I had the draw of a sub standard room but when I was forced to move and had similar experience then I had to draw the conclusion that it was what it was. Be prepared for a very firm bed. On the positive service levels were above par, rooms generally quiet and location convenient. At the price point explore your options wisely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Tdottony,

Thank you for your kind review. The Pelican Hotel is like no other hotel in Miami Beach. A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. The industrial fans and the vintage furniture are just part of the kitsch design with a touch of humor.

Thank you so much for taking the time to report the faucets, immediately after your departure our maintenance team was able to shut the water in the building and correct it.

Wishing you a wonderful holiday season,

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the moment we got there, everything was so much fun! The room was unbelievable, the attention to detail impeccable. The view from the terrace spectacular. It created the perfect atmosphere for my wedding proposal, and the arrangements the hotel provided were first class and everything I had hoped for and more!! They made sure it was exactly how I wanted it to be. We have stayed at other hotels on Ocean Drive, but this is in a class of its own. The location is perfect, the restaurant enjoyable, the free Happy Hour a plus. I am looking forward to coming back and creating more memories!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It was a great pleasure being part of this special occasion and we look forward to your return visit!

The Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#22 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,424 reviews
Charming, Free...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#12 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Mid-range, Char...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#32 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach, Pool, Mi...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#27 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Quiet, Beach, M...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Lord Balfour
Lord Balfour
#5 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
The Hotel
The Hotel
#10 of 200 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Amex, Venere and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.