We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel! Excellent happy hour!!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Drinks
Ranked #24 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel! Excellent happy hour!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel with fun rooms with different themes. Nice bathroom. The valet parking was a minus. It takes quite some time and it is a bit chaotic. But the very nice thing about this hotel is the free happy hour!!! Very nice gesture!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Pelican Hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The complimentary Happy Hour is our way of thanking our guests for having chosen us as the hotel of choice amongts many others in Sobe. We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

The Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    222
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
34
365
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

With expectations high given the overwhelming favorable reviews this hotel did not deliver on its rating grade and my stay was average at best. I've stayed at a variety of hotels in Miami in the 3/4 star range and my expectations are modest with South Beach hotels. (very) Generous ratings in my opinion. Themed rooms (which one will either love or hate) are a good marketing pull and the Diesel name associated to it adds credibility yet the place lacks room quality - leaking faucets, non functioning phones, aged air conditioning units, unbearable noisy ceiling fans, average bath. Thought I had the draw of a sub standard room but when I was forced to move and had similar experience then I had to draw the conclusion that it was what it was. Be prepared for a very firm bed. On the positive service levels were above par, rooms generally quiet and location convenient. At the price point explore your options wisely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Tdottony,

Thank you for your kind review. The Pelican Hotel is like no other hotel in Miami Beach. A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. The industrial fans and the vintage furniture are just part of the kitsch design with a touch of humor.

Thank you so much for taking the time to report the faucets, immediately after your departure our maintenance team was able to shut the water in the building and correct it.

Wishing you a wonderful holiday season,

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

From the moment we got there, everything was so much fun! The room was unbelievable, the attention to detail impeccable. The view from the terrace spectacular. It created the perfect atmosphere for my wedding proposal, and the arrangements the hotel provided were first class and everything I had hoped for and more!! They made sure it was exactly how I wanted it to be. We have stayed at other hotels on Ocean Drive, but this is in a class of its own. The location is perfect, the restaurant enjoyable, the free Happy Hour a plus. I am looking forward to coming back and creating more memories!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It was a great pleasure being part of this special occasion and we look forward to your return visit!

The Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012, it was our first trip to Miami and i'm glad my wife chose this hotel. upon arrival there was valet parking in the busy street outside and staff eager to take our luggage, check in was nice and easy. our room was "A Fortune In Aluminium" (304) and was very clean and tidy - although it wasn't a very big room it was well laid out with the most made of the limited space. The bathroom and shower were spacious. our view was, I think, an alleyway to the side of the hotel but we didnt travel there to spend much time in the room so that wasnt a problem. I'm not sure if you'll find a better located hotel of this quality and price in Miami - the location is right in the middle of a very lively area, and directly opposite the beach. There are bars, restaurants and clubs all the way along this road however the noise wasn't a problem in our rooms - which to be honest was a surprise as like I said it's a lively area. The hotel offers free drinks to guests during happy hour, these were gratefully received and although we tried to tip our waiter he surprisingly declined. During the time I spent in my room I found the TV reception to be poor, but that's not really an issue. The only problem I experienced was when I tried to charge a meal to my room - I couldnt remember my room number (my wife had already returned to our room with the key) but I did remember the Aluminium themed room name, however the waiter said he didnt know the room names and until he eventually enquired with reception to resolve the issue he was a bit bolshy with me and I even considered at one point that he was accusing me of trying to avoid paying my bill. Maybe this isn't a regular problem (and guests aren't usually as forgetful as me!) but if the staff could become familar with the room names or have a list next to the till then this shouldn't be a problem in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Unexpected surprise in sobe. My wife and I had a marvelous time from the moment we checked into hotel.

Rooms are pristine . Housekeeping does an amazing job. Keep up the great job! And happy hour for guests!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at in the 50's themed room, which I believe was room 201. It felt like I was taken back in time and had an amazing view! The entire staff was amazing and always helpful during my stay, especially the front desk. They helped me plan my trip from beginning to end with great local secrets and suggestions. They give entirely different meaning to customer service, they set the bar very high for their neighboring hotels to live up to. I am glad that I also ate at the restaurant because the food was exquisite! Unlike some of the other restaurants on the strip, their servers were great and the quality of the food was so much better. I would strongly recommend that people stay here as it is definitely a great hotel, better than any I have ever stayed at in Miami Beach.

Room Tip: The Executive 50's room was phenomenal, every detail was spectacular including the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jenn D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are very fortunate to work with some of the best people in the business, and we all truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts to provide excellent guest service.

We hope to see you on your next visit to South Beach.

Happy Thanksgiving from the Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you want to find a perfect, boutique hotel in the middle of South Beach, the Pelican is the hotel.

The staff is amazing, multi-lingual and very helpful.

The rooms are fun, sophisticated and comfy. I recommend the executive Zebra suite, facing the ocean.

The restaurant is excellent as well, one of the best Italian restaurants you can find in Miami.

I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami or for locals for a nice weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Executive Zebra room - amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.