We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Drinks
Ranked #24 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“Extraordinary Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed at in the 50's themed room, which I believe was room 201. It felt like I was taken back in time and had an amazing view! The entire staff was amazing and always helpful during my stay, especially the front desk. They helped me plan my trip from beginning to end with great local secrets and suggestions. They give entirely different meaning to customer service, they set the bar very high for their neighboring hotels to live up to. I am glad that I also ate at the restaurant because the food was exquisite! Unlike some of the other restaurants on the strip, their servers were great and the quality of the food was so much better. I would strongly recommend that people stay here as it is definitely a great hotel, better than any I have ever stayed at in Miami Beach.

Room Tip: The Executive 50's room was phenomenal, every detail was spectacular including the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jenn D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are very fortunate to work with some of the best people in the business, and we all truly appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts to provide excellent guest service.

We hope to see you on your next visit to South Beach.

Happy Thanksgiving from the Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    222
    54
    18
    18
See reviews for
34
365
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you want to find a perfect, boutique hotel in the middle of South Beach, the Pelican is the hotel.

The staff is amazing, multi-lingual and very helpful.

The rooms are fun, sophisticated and comfy. I recommend the executive Zebra suite, facing the ocean.

The restaurant is excellent as well, one of the best Italian restaurants you can find in Miami.

I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Miami or for locals for a nice weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Executive Zebra room - amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very Stylish rooms; hardwood floors, flat screen tv, free wifi, probably the best shower in any hotel I have ever stayed in. I am not sure how they get the water pressure!!!

Free drinks from 4-6 is a plus. Valet parking is sort of a pain as it takes 20-30 minutes and is expensive but that is south beach.

I wish I would have eaten here, it looked great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great stylish hotel where each room has its' own unique atmosphere. The hotel is styled by the guys from Diesel and they have succeeded in creating a hotel where a new surprise awaits after each door (incl. the lift!). Be sure to browse the website of the hotel before your visit to see the full selection of rooms.

Location is central and the rooms were spacious enough for a city hotel, bathroom was very large. The A/C was a bit loud and so was the fan above the bed. Breakfast is great (although not included in our rate), and if all of this is not good enough, the free cocktail happy hour for all guests tops things off! We got a great rate in low season, so price/quality wise we were very happy, not sure how the pricing is in the high (winter) season.

Room Tip: Most rooms are away from Ocean Drive, so you will not be bothered by the noise. We stayed in Halfway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
All of us here at the Pelican love providing a truly outstanding hotel experience, your review really made our day.

We appreciate your business and your recommendation and hope to have you back soon.

Happy Thanksgiving from

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What I liked about this hotel - amazing design, great location, themed rooms, resident's free cocktails 4-6pm every night served at the outside terrace; we recommend ginger mojito and the spritz, complimentary san pelligrino water in the fridge, designated sun beds on the beach, fabulous shower with great pressure & tons of hot water

What I didn't like about this hotel - no view from our room, AC was super loud, entrance & exit through the cafe is awkward, room was small

Staff are nice, friendly and helpful but not extraordinary I would definitely return and have already recommended the hotel to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear lenaDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed all the amenities! For your future stay may I suggest a suite. Our suites offer spacious accommadations and stunning ocean views. We hope to make your next stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi Mississippi
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great, great stay! Directly across the street from the beach, (free beach chairs included) and walking distance from shopping,shopping, shopping! The hotel was perfect, you get a real feel for the locale. Valet services right at the front door (parking is impossible otherwise.) You walk through the cafe and lounge to the lobby and elevators. The decor is eclectic and well done. The food is very good, especially breakfast on the side walk. Great drinks and live music in the evening! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No view from the room, not sure if any rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here at the Pelican for one night prior to sailing from the Miami Port. The taxi cost was a flat rate from the airport. It was in a convenient location to South Beach activities and the port as well. We loved the location and the helpful staff that came running out to our cab on a busy traffic day on Ocean Drive to assist us with our luggage. The check in process was friendly and professional. We felt like we were treasured guests even though it was our first experience with this hotel. The room was very small and we had lots of luggage due to our cruise the following day. It was difficult maneuvering around the bags. Also, NO view...we like a view. We couldn't have done this for a long time, but for a short stay it was absolutely fine. We loved the breakfast on the sidewalk with great foot traffic to watch. The staff was friendly and efficient. Order the goat cheese and olive tepanade omelette or the caprese omelette. Both were outstanding. The beach was great...towels and beach chairs were included. We also loved the happy hour from 4 to 6......hotel guests were FREE. Who does that? Appetizers (at our expense) and mango mojitos were just the thing. The bed and bathroom were clean and we were surprised to find CO Bigelow toiletries. A very nice touch. It was a quick ride to the port the next morning after catching a cab right in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again for a short trip. We felt like we belonged while we were here.

Room Tip: Ask ahead which room you are given. I think they have some nice options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.