We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a design hotel with some style!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pelican Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pelican Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
COMPLIMENTARY AMENITIES
Ranked #20 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Finally a design hotel with some style!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great stylish hotel where each room has its' own unique atmosphere. The hotel is styled by the guys from Diesel and they have succeeded in creating a hotel where a new surprise awaits after each door (incl. the lift!). Be sure to browse the website of the hotel before your visit to see the full selection of rooms.

Location is central and the rooms were spacious enough for a city hotel, bathroom was very large. The A/C was a bit loud and so was the fan above the bed. Breakfast is great (although not included in our rate), and if all of this is not good enough, the free cocktail happy hour for all guests tops things off! We got a great rate in low season, so price/quality wise we were very happy, not sure how the pricing is in the high (winter) season.

Room Tip: Most rooms are away from Ocean Drive, so you will not be bothered by the noise. We stayed in Halfway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
All of us here at the Pelican love providing a truly outstanding hotel experience, your review really made our day.

We appreciate your business and your recommendation and hope to have you back soon.

Happy Thanksgiving from

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    199
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
30
323
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What I liked about this hotel - amazing design, great location, themed rooms, resident's free cocktails 4-6pm every night served at the outside terrace; we recommend ginger mojito and the spritz, complimentary san pelligrino water in the fridge, designated sun beds on the beach, fabulous shower with great pressure & tons of hot water

What I didn't like about this hotel - no view from our room, AC was super loud, entrance & exit through the cafe is awkward, room was small

Staff are nice, friendly and helpful but not extraordinary I would definitely return and have already recommended the hotel to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear lenaDubai,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed all the amenities! For your future stay may I suggest a suite. Our suites offer spacious accommadations and stunning ocean views. We hope to make your next stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great, great stay! Directly across the street from the beach, (free beach chairs included) and walking distance from shopping,shopping, shopping! The hotel was perfect, you get a real feel for the locale. Valet services right at the front door (parking is impossible otherwise.) You walk through the cafe and lounge to the lobby and elevators. The decor is eclectic and well done. The food is very good, especially breakfast on the side walk. Great drinks and live music in the evening! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: No view from the room, not sure if any rooms have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here at the Pelican for one night prior to sailing from the Miami Port. The taxi cost was a flat rate from the airport. It was in a convenient location to South Beach activities and the port as well. We loved the location and the helpful staff that came running out to our cab on a busy traffic day on Ocean Drive to assist us with our luggage. The check in process was friendly and professional. We felt like we were treasured guests even though it was our first experience with this hotel. The room was very small and we had lots of luggage due to our cruise the following day. It was difficult maneuvering around the bags. Also, NO view...we like a view. We couldn't have done this for a long time, but for a short stay it was absolutely fine. We loved the breakfast on the sidewalk with great foot traffic to watch. The staff was friendly and efficient. Order the goat cheese and olive tepanade omelette or the caprese omelette. Both were outstanding. The beach was great...towels and beach chairs were included. We also loved the happy hour from 4 to 6......hotel guests were FREE. Who does that? Appetizers (at our expense) and mango mojitos were just the thing. The bed and bathroom were clean and we were surprised to find CO Bigelow toiletries. A very nice touch. It was a quick ride to the port the next morning after catching a cab right in front of the hotel. We would definitely stay here again for a short trip. We felt like we belonged while we were here.

Room Tip: Ask ahead which room you are given. I think they have some nice options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at the Pelican for 4 nights and it was a pleasant experience. The room was on the second floor and was smaller (cozy) without a view; however, it was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. One of the bonus features of staying at the hotel is that you receive free beach chair set up and towels. We walked across the street to the beach and went to a stand where there were employees to set up the chairs for you. The parking is valet and is about $25 per day (you are able to come and go as much as you please). In terms of location, there are many things to do in about a 20 minute walk or less. Mango's and Wet Willie’s are a few minutes away, and some of the "higher" end clubs such as Liv, Mynt, Nikki Beach and Fontainebleau may require a cab as they are a little too far to walk to. I also enjoyed the food in the Pelican Café and it was fine. ***One thing to note about this area is the side walk in front of the hotel and continuing down the street is filled with restaurants where the hostesses are continually asking you to eat there or look a menu. Which after about passing three restaurants the polite “no thank you” because you not saying anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We flew to Florida to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We spent one night at the Pelican before driving to Key West for two nights. We thought that the Pelican was perfect to really sample all that South Beach has to offer. The location is ideal at 7th and Ocean Drive. The staff was very friendly and hospitable at check in and the valet parking was well worth it ($25). We had the Tarzan room on the 3rd floor, which I would recommend if you want some quiet for sleeping. The room was on the corner and had a lot of natural light. The shower was fantastic! We had brunch there in the morning and thought it was delicious and a relative bargain at $40 for breakfast and bloody marys in South Beach. We did enjoy the free chairs set up at the beach in the morning and the water was just sublime. Would stay nowhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Palub1026,

Thank you for your feedback and for making us part of your celebration! We are pleased that you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. We look forward to your return for many years to come to Pelican.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Hotel for two nights during October. Upon our arrival I was disappointed to find that the only way into the hotel with your luggage was through the bar/restaurant seating area at the front of the hotel and although the staff helped us with our luggage you feel like everyone is looking at you.

My husband used the valet parking available at the front of the hotel, however be warned it is quite expensive and although he only used it for one night upon checking out the hotel tried to charge us for two nights!

We checked into our hotel room, which I can only describe as very small and disappointing! The only view from the room was of a horrible dirty balcony opposite us and some sort of kitchen, which I would recommend you don't look at if you want to eat whilst in Miami! Needless to say I kept the blinds closed throughout our stay.

As stated the room was very small and the bathroom was strange. My husband complained there was no sink stop available for him to shave in the bathroom.

There is also a horrible musty smell throughout the hotel!

The worse part of our stay was that something bit my husband and I during the night in our bed!!!! We both had Hugh bites on our legs!

On checking out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay! The staff just couldn't have cared less.

I would not recommend this hotel and I will never return!!!

There are loads of hotels in the area I recommend you go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Don't book it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good Morning Maj20639

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize that you did not feel comfortable arriving thru our restaurant. Part of the charm of the Art Deco architecture is this layout of restaurant in the front and the hotel the back. The Pelican Hotel promotes our Sleep on Green mattresses in all of our rooms. We do this for both your comfort and your wellbeing .Our beds are bed from Natural Latex - Superior Support and confirms well to body shape and pressure, reducing tossing and turning and allows a deeper, more restful sleep. Latex is hypo-allergenic and breathable. Dust mites, bacteria, mildew, and mold cannot live in natural latex.

Regrettably by not reporting your experience immediately to the desk, we were not given the possibility of correcting any of the hip cups you have mentioned. It would have been our pleasure to have tried to assist in changing your room as we do have suites available which are larger, perhaps this would have best accommodated you during your stay.

Maj20639, we also provide all our guests with a comment cards as well as my direct telephone number. The feedback of our guests are very important to us, my personal email should you wish to share the name or number of your room is : Lupe@pelicanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelican Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.